Volkswagen Golf Reviews from Netherlands

2008 Volkswagen Golf V Variant 1.4 TSI 140bhp

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 TSI 140bhp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 9-3

Summary:

Great little car with room to spare

Faults:

Turbo sometimes refuses to start, car's top speed sometimes does not exceed 100 km/h. Lift the throttle, wait until the kompressor dies and it goes like the fireware.

General Comments:

This car is quite good, much better than the Golf IV. It feels sturdy, steering is a little heavy as is shifting gears.

Steering is pretty precise, you can pinpoint exactly where to go.

There is a slight turbo-lag where the turbo takes over from the compressor. Nothing serious but if the engine is cold you can feel it.

Seats are somewhat small in the shoulders.

Surprisingly much space in the backseats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2009

26th Feb 2009, 12:13

I bought a GT TSI 140hp in Oct 08. Had few problems such as squeak when accelerating, not the turbo supposedly. And driver's seat broke within few weeks..

So far it is quite nice to drive, is the 170hp version all that much faster?

31st Aug 2010, 07:42

One year later. Oh, how this has changed!

The car has been in for service 6 times now in order to fix the motor management. There's a huge turbo lag now and the car feels as if it doesn't like sprinting anymore.

In the end, the car seats are a deal breaker. Sold the damn thing!

1994 Volkswagen Golf CL 1.8 (90pk)

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 (90pk) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired273000 kilometres
Most recent distance297000 kilometres

Summary:

Decent first car

Faults:

Had a lot of work on this car, new gearbox, new front brakes, new clutch, new fuel pump.

Still, nothing too unexpected for a car near the 300000 km mark.

General Comments:

The car drives nicely. It's pretty good in the corners, and feels good to drive compared to the small cars I drove before (Ford Ka, Hyundai Atos).

Fuel consumption is a bit high (about 9-10 liters/km, 26mpg). I have a LPG-converted version, so it's not very expensive, and part of the high consumption may be caused by the conversion (quoted consumption is when running on petrol, it used 11 l/km on LPG).

Other than the high maintenance this is a pleasant and surprisingly fun car to drive, if a bit boring on the outside as well as the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2006

1995 Volkswagen Golf GL 1.6 SPI (AEA)

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 SPI (AEA) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance93500 kilometres

Summary:

Overall, a good car, but a bit more power would be useful. 2.0 liter engine suits the chassis better

Faults:

The Clutch was slipping early in 2002 and has since been replaced in October.

Passenger door has sagged at the hinges and doesn't close correctly.

General Comments:

I've had the car from new and haven't had to much trouble with it. It's quite economical if driven in the lower rev range, but for a 1.6 it can still go quite fast.

Acceleration isn't all that good, but what can you expect from 75bhp.

Handling is OK, but the narrow, high profile tires spoil a lot of the driving immersion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

1984 Volkswagen Golf C 1.6 diesel

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 diesel Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired281000 kilometres
Most recent distance316000 kilometres

Summary:

A cheap reliable car

Faults:

The only thing what happened was the heater of the interior, it blew at 295000 kilometres.

General Comments:

This is a very cheap car to run, in maintain ace and on fuel economy.

As it was my first car, it was a pleasure to drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2002

1998 Volkswagen Golf V5 2.3 V5

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 V5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Remember the dropping Golf TV commercial, don't try that now!

Faults:

Rear indicators were blown at different times.

Secondary air pump in the engine broke.

Radio volume control is unreliable.

Three times I have lost my oil sump.

General Comments:

The car itself is a fairly quick and the motor, the V5, is a gem.

The cabin is wonderfully made, very comfortable, quiet and keeps the driver fresh on long trips.

The overall build quality I find high, but the same goes for my last 1997 Polo which actually felt more solid.

The negative points are enough to stop me recommending the car.

First the suspesion is soft as hell for the engine and the potential performance level, giving poor cornering abilities and engine crunching damage over speed bumps and hump back bridges - this when slowing down by the way.

Secondly, if only the dealer here in Holland, Kamsteg, would tell me the truth, show some interest, show some knowledge, show any customer care, then maybe I would replace the suspension units with stiffer (2001) springs myself and live with the car. But they don't, and I won't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

28th Mar 2003, 15:55

Me again actually, just an update.

I have followed other posts and have since experienced further common faults.

The front window could not shut straight and it took 3 visits for a old dealer to fix - new plastic clips in the door mechanism the eventual diagnosis.

Following my previous dead air pump (common problem says VW) now I have a faulty air pump valve - cost 400 euros - which the dealer told me was another common fault. But not covered by warranty as the car is over 4 years old. The service engineer said "not to blame him as he didn't build the car". VW have one less future customer to build for.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews