Volvo 740 Reviews from Netherlands

1987 Volvo 740 Turbo intercooler 2.0

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

My best buy ever!

Faults:

At this moment nothing! What a great engine... did not expect it.

General Comments:

Unfortunately I had the Landcruiser just 4 days when it was stolen... so I needed a replacement for time being.. saw the car at a Subaru dealer, bought it very cheap...

It has been chiptuned to 205 hbp and drives super.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

1991 Volvo 740 2.3

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired370000 kilometres
Most recent distance411000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Extremely reliable and durable

Faults:

Alternator had to be replaced. That's all.

Squeaking noise if steering wheel is turned at its maximum.

General Comments:

This car has proved to be very reliable. If you consider its mileage, I would say it's better than the Toyota's I've owned. I never expected it to be as good as it is. Despite it's minor problems which are taken care of by my Volvo- specialist (much cheaper than dealer) I really love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2004

1987 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired270000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres

Summary:

Very reliable

Faults:

No problems or whatsoever. This 16-year old Volvo is still going strong.

General Comments:

This is a very good car. Reliable, comfortable, safe. A modern classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

1990 Volvo 740 Estate 2.3 turbo intercooler

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo intercooler Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired202000 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Which other car can do 0-100 km/h in 7.8 sec with 6 persons and has a turning circle of 9.9 m?

Faults:

It had a broken turbo when I bought it, my dealer didn't tell us, but after a short period we noticed that it didn't give the engine the power it should.

The last part of my exhaust broke after 6 months.

General Comments:

It really really fast now with the new turbo.

We have 4 children so we installed a 2nd bench in the boot. It is folded down if we do not need it so our boot is more flexible compared with a MPV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

4th Apr 2008, 05:26

Yes unbelievable as the Volvo seats 5 only and with such a load mine sure would not do such times and its putting out 113.6 at the rear wheels in other words tweaked up.

1988 Volvo 740 GL Blackline 2.3i Kat

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3i Kat Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance1000000 kilometres

Faults:

It is not my car. I work in a taxi company where TB-97-TX drives (car '37').

It's original engine is still present... Only the second gearbox and fourth clutch. Second exhaust pipe.

OK, it's not a new car anymore (some oil leaks here and there), but it's still 100% alive. Also, the powered window (left) doesn't work, but this car (built in Belgium, Antwerp) just won't die.

General Comments:

I want to tell you about this car because it is unique. It really drove 1,000,000 kilometers (on gas) with ONE engine!!! And being a taxi, it means that it's abused very often.

The car is still running very good, but it started to eat clutches now and suffers more and more technical problems (including the LPG system).

But every time the newer Volvo 940s don't start, this 740GL will come to the rescue. It really is a miracle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

11th Jan 2002, 08:39

1.000.000 km!!!

I thought I had the volvo740 with the most km (723.000 km) in the Netherlands.

Maybe I still have the oldest 740 in the Netherlands (1984).

When a Volvo get over 500.000 km, it won't die anymore.

19th May 2004, 10:59

I do believe that it will do that it was made to do the miles and it will probably go on till the engine jumps out.

10th May 2005, 13:54

That's really amazing!!! My 1988 Volvo 745GL has done 777630kms now, but I'm very sorry to say that it has also had its best times now. The only thing I can do for it now is to revise it for the first time, but I don't have the money for that right now.

A true shame since it was my first car and I have fallen completely in love with it! I'm keeping the car in a warehouse so that one day I can revise that engine and drive it around again. Truly the most amazing car ever made, in all its time it has never let me down once!

24th Nov 2009, 03:33

I worked as auto electrician some year ago, and I installed meters and communication equipment in taxis.

I worked on Volvo 740 / 940 series. They did over 1000000km with ease. I remember one that had done over 1250000 km with the ORIGINAL factory installed 2.3 liter gasoline engine AND was still in service!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews