1995 Alfa Romeo 164 LS 3.0ltre V6 gasoline


British Luxury with Italian reliability nightmares


For a while, the car was running on 2 cylinders, the dealer failed to tell me this at 30,000kms. It progressed to 40,000kms. The cylinders where replaced for a total cost of $3000cdn.

All buttons in the car were replaced and re wired, for a total cost of 2800cdn.

Car was damaged slightly in the grille area, this was repaired perfectly for 3$3000cdn.

Scheduled tune ups are expensive, and oil changes cost $1200cdn. from Ferrari dealerships. (Alfa Romeo stopped bringing cars to Canada in 1995).

Electrical problems really are the worse part of this car.

Fuel economy is very poor. The tank is 78litres in size. Large, but you can only get 250 km out of that size.

I am sure I have spent more than $30,000 on the maintenance of this vehicle.

General Comments:

It is an excellent car, handling wise.

Seats are supportive, and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

14th Jun 2005, 07:08

Why use a Ferrari garage for oil changes? Granted you need to use quality oil and filter, but the job itself isn't rocket science. Any competent mechanic can do it.

26th Jul 2005, 18:45

Find yourself a good foreign car mechanic. I have a great one who saves me a lot of money and does better-than-dealer quality work with far more attention to detail.

21st Aug 2005, 17:07

I can't believe that it was running on two cylinders for such an extended period of time without you realising it.

Also $1200 for an oil change is totally ridiculous - you could probably do it yourself for $50.

1991 Alfa Romeo 164 L 3.0V6


Italian bruiser


Cooling fan fuse blew - engine overheated, but no damage.

General Comments:

This is one awesome machine. I leased a Subaru WRX before searching for this car, and I have to say I much prefer driving it to the WRX. It's more comfortable, quieter, has more torque, and sounds awesome when stretched.

Good stuff - fantastic engine (sounds even better with the S exhaust system), great cruiser, relaxing to drive, still looks good.

Bad Stuff - ride a bit fidgety, creaks and rattles, A/C repair is the stuff of nightmares, servicing options in the US are limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2003

1994 Alfa Romeo 164 LS 3.0L 24v V6


The best-built modern Alfa in the US


Cam angle sensor went bad at 100K.

Leaky valve cover gaskets when purchased.

Leaking fuel injector rail hose.

Horn relay faulty.

General Comments:

I've only had my 164LS for 2 months now; there have been a few teething problems, but none that have been serious.

Parts and servicing are extremely expensive, yet the car on a whole is extremely solid and drives as new. I fully expect it to last for another 100K miles with no major problems.

Performance is excellent, although ride comfort is not nearly as good as my previous car, a 1989 Peugeot 405DL.

Ultimately, this is one of the most distinctive cars available in the US, and the premium for the LS model is well worth it over the earlier '91 to '93 base, L and S models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2001

1994 Alfa Romeo 164 Super 3.0 V6 24v


A lot of car from a proven pedigree


Center exhaust rusted out at 40,000mi. Aftermarket replacement still good after over 20,000 miles.

Eats tires with enthusiastic driving.

General Comments:

Well built, solid car. Very comfortable and a great executive car. Dashing looks and distinctive styling make me proud to walk up to one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2000

8th Feb 2001, 09:20

Here, here!

St.J Harvey

29th Jul 2006, 18:40

I am from Brazil and we have a lot of Alfa Romeos in the streets, but now I am living in Seattle for a year and I only saw 4 of those.

However, it is not a good car at all. My friend used to have one and had to sell for half price of it, because the car kept going back and forth to get it fixed.