Alfa Romeo Milano Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 2

1988 Alfa Romeo Milano Gold 2.5 V6

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo Milano

Summary:

This is a race car hidden in a sedan

Faults:

Car sat for a while so brake system needed some seal replacements. Battery replaced. Nothing major. This car is nearly 15 years old and is as stylish as any new car. You can really abuse these cars and they keep on running. Most common complaint from owners are electrical switches go out (big deal $10 and 5 minutes to fix). When was the last time you heard the complaint "i had to replace the clutch at 200k miles", from a Honda owner? You have to replace the whole car at 100k!

General Comments:

This is my third milano and I love it! Powerful V6 motor, perfectly balanced, rear wheel drive, and great cornering from a stock vehicle.

Recaro seats, leather steering wheel, very comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

26th Jun 2006, 17:43

I am an owner of a 1987 Alfa Milano gold series with 35K miles (it was my late husband's and has been sitting garage for at least 8 years). The exterior and interior are in good shape. I'd like to know what it's worth, I'm thinking of selling. It's not in riding condition because it's been sitting so long. Could you let me know what a fair price would be.

Albertina_paz@yahoo.com.

1987 Alfa Romeo Milano Silver 2.5

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 2.5
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Dealer did a A-Z list of things to it before I purchased it 6 months ago.

Dash computer (Alfa brain) always flashing --- I've learned to ignore it but passengers think it's cool!

No other gremlins yet.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's my first Italian and although fit and finish does not come close to Japanese and other Europeans, it has a soul and is therapy on wheels. The sounds from the exhaust are wonderful and cornering is a blast in this car. I also love the way it looks.

Everyone should experience an Alfa!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

25th Sep 2002, 19:38

For sure to drive this car is a therapy, I bought my first 75 TS six years ago and I just do not want to sell it, wonderful car. It is a good friend, especially when you're a little stressed.

7th Apr 2005, 10:52

The "Alfa Romeo Control" blinking light display on the dash has affectionately become know to me as "The Anxiety Panel". The one on my Platinum was fairly active for quite some time, and with good reason, since the ABS system remained in a constant state of failure due to a leaking pressure accumulator and the resulting overtaxed pump. A Milano Gold brake pedal/ vacuum booster/ master cylinder installation solved that problem nicely. Since that meant the brake warning light would always be on, combined with the fact that the "headlight out" warning comes on for no apparent reason, helped guide me to the decision to disconnect the panel from behind, and keep an eye myself, on fluids and pad wear. That is my recommendation to those who have grown weary of the light show.

1988 Alfa Romeo Milano Platinum 2.5 Liter

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Nothing much has gone wrong here, just the regular bits one would expect to replace on a car 10 years old and with 119K miles. No rust on my car (Milanos were factory galvanized). There are periodically a couple of electrical glitches that are usually attributable to dirty or worn connections. Easily fixable. Regular consumables though are the timing belt, and a switch to a mechanical tensioner.

General Comments:

Fantastic performance and looks. The Platinum model I have is also loaded up with many luxury items making it a great sport-cruiser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1988 Alfa Romeo Milano Verde 3.0 V6

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10

Faults:

I am the 3rd or 4th owner and have owned this car for about 2 months now. Just before I got it, it skipped time and bent all the exhaust valves so I got it with a practically new top end. Shortly after, it threw a cam follower which we think was due to a valve sticking in one of the new guides. Other than that, nothing major, just door lock motors on the rear going a bit haywire sometimes.

General Comments:

This is the fastest car I have ever owned. It handles rather poorly at speeds less than 60mph but nearing 100 mph, it feels right at home. AR Ricambi sportcat and full Ansa system help too. A friend told me once that this is a car to be in love with, that is, you might be angry with it at times but you can't stay mad at it for long (especially when you're sliding into the corners and leaving all the dumb lowered 'fast looking' Hondas and Acuras miles behind you...here's a hint 'racer boys'....your car WON'T go faster with all those stickers).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

8th Sep 2001, 11:38

About a month ago I too bought a Milano Verde with about the same history as yours. I completely agree with all your comments. Mine has had no mechanical problems except a sticking emergency brake. Since its first ownership was in the midwest (Ohio) it is not a completely rust-free car. The right rear wheel arch has a small rust point which can be repaired with fibreglass and the trunk lid has some rust bubbles, but easily repairable. Terrific car, highly underated.

18th Dec 2001, 04:40

I own a GTV6, it is an excellent car, look after it, it will look after you. Abuse it and it will bite you in the pocket, still a great car, a cheap Ferrari.

10th Mar 2003, 00:45

I own an '87 Alfa Romeo Milano 2.5 Gold. I have to say it is a great car, but it does have a mind of it's own. Things seem to work on their own or don't work at all. You never know until you sit down and take the ride.

I've been the almost proud owner of the car for three years. The problems I have had are: alternator, leaking antifreeze, idling, doors locking or unlocking, slave clylinders, rubber pieces, new clutch, but still will not work right, rear brake light rusted out, rusted around fenders, and faded paint spots.

Other than that I still like to jump in that baby, roll down the windows from above and zoom off. I actually have a few questions I'd like to ask. The main question is if has a hydraulic clutch?

1987 Alfa Romeo Milano Gold 2.5 V6

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10

Faults:

Radiator, water pump, timing belt tensioner, transaxle unit.

General Comments:

Great fun to drive, but not reliable in any sense of the word. I would love a 164 or a newer Spider.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 1998

6th Jun 2001, 10:39

The 1987 Milano Gold is a wonderful car. I replaced most of the motor, and transmission mounts when I bought it, but it was 14 years old. The car is a wonderful ride, and has the personality and strong opinion that most other cars in the US lack.

28th Oct 2001, 13:34

I only had 2 things go wrong with my 87' Milano Gold; water pump, and the clutch. Not bad for a car with over 200,000 miles on it. In my opinion one of the most fun and reliable cars on the road. Absolutely stunning sounds from the exhaust end engine.

14th Jun 2006, 22:45

I had a milano for about 5 years... milano Gold leaf. I had a chip in it with bbs lowered rims. I have to tell you this car was fast. One of the best handling cars around. I would love to get another one if I could find one in good shape.

27th Aug 2006, 08:20

I used to have an 87 Milano Platinum and I kick myself for selling it. It was the most fun car I have ever owned. I am looking for a 3.0 Verde version now. If you know someone that is selling one please let me know. I am willing to pay top dollars for it, but it has to be in an excellent condition.

You can e-mail me at: amintaghavi@hotmail.com.

2nd Feb 2011, 16:45

I sold my 87 Milano in 91, and have been sorry ever since. So in June of last year, I got another one. Will never sell this car. The Milano is the most fun on wheels available, period.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews