AMC Grand Wagoneer Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 3

1985 AMC Grand Wagoneer 360

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 360 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Generally a money pit. Similar to a Harley

Faults:

First of all, I wouldn't own this Jeep except for my wife fell in love with it.

There is virtually nothing on this vehicle that I haven't replaced or am about to replace, except the transmission.

Rebuilt engine at 126000. Since then, have replaced carb twice, radiator at least twice, oil pump, water pump, brakes, master cylinder, rear end.

Added rear air and a new paint job in 2002. Jeep is currently in shop getting a new steering gearbox. I also have replaced carpet and seats.

Finally, the transfer case locked up a year ago, so that is on the agenda for this summer, along with improved radiator shroud to keep from overheating when I pull trailers.

General Comments:

A serious love/hate relationship, with not that much love. I love the way it handles on ice; living in TX, I only experience that 1 or 2 days a year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

18th Jan 2005, 20:59

Your Jeep has a lot of miles on it, why don't you give it a break from heavy work? The Jeep will pull its own, but you can't beat on a truck that has that many miles on it. take care of it and it will last for ever in a state with no snow.

13th Jul 2005, 19:35

1985 Jeep Grand Wagoneer Texas Limited Edition, 180,000 miles, fully loaded, nothing left out except everything goes wrong with it except the engine and transmission. Right now I am trying to find out if there is a manual way to roll up the rear window. Any suggestions guy's? I would complain more, but the Jeep keeps going touch off road and I have never had to do anything mechanical to it (as far as tranny, engine & suspension). And I have had it for 1 year for a total price of $500. I do drive it daily to and from work with very little driving other than that, getting about 7 miles to the gallon. That averages to $285-325 a month in gas.

20th Nov 2005, 00:36

1986 grand wagoneer best vehicle I've owned. It sounds like you need to be a little bit more mechanically inclined. Other than the mere 15 mpg I love this truck. It seems like mine has a few electrical problems (gas gauge, some lights) when I don't use it everyday other than that it's a great second vehicle. Ultimate 4x4 on ice and snow.

1989 AMC Grand Wagoneer grand 5.9L 360 V8

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.9L 360 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110302 miles
Most recent distance110595 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

I dig it

Faults:

Had the engine rebuilt at 110,350.

Three days after I bought it.

Needs pass. rear door lock fixed.

Headliner droops.

Need to get a spare.

General Comments:

I was looking for a 88-95 Cherokee, when I came across this burgundy beast. The 1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer was hiding in the back of the lot, looking lonely, and I knew I had to have it (flat tire and all). I had to rebuild the engine as soon as I got it, but it was well worth the trouble. The newly reworked power-plant gets up and goes with enthusiasm, and just opens the door too many plans I have for it in the future.

3" leaf lift

31x10.5 BrStone Duleur A/T

MSD ignition and coil

Heddman Headers

Summit Racing exhaust system

Just to name a few.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

1988 AMC Grand Wagoneer V8

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A tank!!

Faults:

Bolt on the manifold has broken several times causing a really bad exhaust leak.

Window belts keep on snapping.

Fog lights rusted up.

Interior liner came loose.

Rear window track got messed up, and now it takes two people to roll up and down the window.

General Comments:

Best 4x4 vehicle that you could ever buy.

Makes long trips expensive but comfortable.

It's a solid tank.

Never let me down. EVER!!

Thieves seem to like stealing my hubcaps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2001

22nd May 2005, 17:44

I have relized that my Wagoneer seems to lose hub caps as well. I want to find the DAMNED hub cap theif!!!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews