Asuna Sunrunner Reviews from North America

1992 Asuna Sunrunner 1.6

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14500 kilometres
Most recent distance252000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Awesome!!!

Faults:

Replaced exhaust system once, one alternator, and just regular and tire maintenance.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle! It is so reliable and dependable. It starts in -40 and runs fine at +45'C. It is still getting 35 mpg.

I have owned this vehicle for 17 years, and my only regret is that the vehicle is no longer being built, or I would buy a new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2011

1992 Asuna Sunrunner 2 Dr. Convertible 1.6L SOHC 8v

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L SOHC 8v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired205000 kilometres
Most recent distance219000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I love my Sun-runner because it's practical, economical, fun, and fully capable!

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I love my Sun-runner! It never lets me down and I cannot believe how capable it is on and off the roadways.

It uses next to no gas, even with the off-road tires I put on it.

If it gets to hot out, or I just want a, but more sun, the roof comes off just like that!

However the only things I don't care for are the seats. They are comfortable for short distances and give full support, but long drives make my back quite sore.

I also wish it had a more powerful engine. The one in it gets me by, but it's hard to pass people on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

1992 Asuna Sunrunner convertible lsi 1.6

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

A good bargain

Faults:

The power window switch stopped to work.

General Comments:

Pretty reliable, never had a problem even in the extreme Buffalo, Rochester winter.

Though it is noisy on the highway (convertible) and when it is windy you can feel it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st December, 2003

1992 Asuna Sunrunner 1.6 Inline 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Inline 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 kilometres
Most recent distance189000 kilometres
Previous carKia Rio

Summary:

A very fun and practical second vehicle

Faults:

The heater hose split at 182,000 kilometers.

Outer CV joints and front brakes replaced at 180,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle to commute approximately 270 kilometers per day for a 5 month contract. Other than the split heater hose it has performed flawlessly. I have been averaging 30 miles per gallon, quite a surprise for a boxy little 4X4.

Its short wheel base, tall body and light weight make it prone to wind gusts. It also is prone to rear wheel spin in slippery conditions.

Steering takes some muscle as it does not have power assist.

Highway noise is fairly high due to it being a convertible. It becomes louder in higher winds.

I find that the front seats are quite comfortable with lots of leg room. The rear seating is best suited for children.

Acceleration is acceptable and it does not labor on hills. Also because it has fairly low gears the engine revs quite high, but it is very smooth.

Visibility is very good due to the ride height and large windows.

This vehicle is a blast on warm days cruising around with the top removed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

1992 Asuna Sunrunner 1.6

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Engine is starting to go bad, but hey it's driven every day at least 150 miles and has been for the past 7 years. Clutch has been out once and A/C has been long gone.

General Comments:

Reliable... thats all you can say about this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2000

15th Aug 2005, 20:43

If it is to work everyday... let's say five days a week. Then that would be 273,000 miles. I have 210,000 on mine and it still seems as reliable now. New batteries, oil changes, muffler twice and a few tires.

9th Jun 2010, 09:32

I don't know if it's the truck or what, but my 3rd and reverse gears seem to be sticky, but other than that, it's a great vehicle.

12th Dec 2010, 20:08

I have 460,000 kms on mine and it still doesn't burn oil. I've replaced 2 clutches several tires, 1 set of exhaust, and of course oil changes. It doesn't owe me a dime.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews