1993 Audi 90 Reviews from North America

1993 Audi 90 Quattro CS 2.8

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired163620 miles
Most recent distance164800 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

This is really a great car

Faults:

Replaced worn out brakes.

Replaced worn right rear wheel bearing.

Had car repainted due to fading of paint.

General Comments:

I could not ask for a better handling car, the car for being a sport model is surprisingly comfortable. This car was driven into a salvage yard where I work.

I purchased this car with almost no rust on the exterior, and the engine idles and drives really quiet.

Car is a bit underpowered at take-off, but the highway is another story. Truly; an engineering marvel at 17 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2011

1993 Audi 90 CS Quattro

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles

Faults:

Starter at 126,000 miles.

More recently, I had the thermostat and heater core replaced. Also I had the brakes done and had the tie rods replaced. I had this done at a local garage and saved a ton of money.

The car was in pristine condition when I bought it. I've spent approximately $700.00 a year to keep this maintained, which I consider a bargain.

I live in Lake Tahoe where driveability in the snow is imperative.

I plan on keeping her for as long as possible. One of my better car buys ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2009

1993 Audi 90 CS Quattro 2.8 16v

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

If you want a sports car that is practical and reliable, this is your car

Faults:

New tires $400 (maintenance).

New brake rotors and pads $275 (maintenance).

New positive battery cable, corroded all the way down with broken wires...

Had to replace the boot for the front left stabilizer link $10.

Power steering will make noise when fluid is at a good level, common with this car.

Leaks oil, about 1 quart every 1000 miles.

Leaks coolant, very little.

Cruise control doesn't work, also common with this car.

Radio doesn't work, 15 years old...

Need to get new trim on the bottom of the doors, previous owner must have taken it off or something...

I need to replace one of the catalytic converters, will cost me around $100 for a universal.

General Comments:

Despite all the problems I listed above, most of them are maintenance or minor problems, and if you do your own work, it doesn't cost too much if you spend a little time looking around the Internet for good prices.

With the 5spd and the AWD, this car has ridiculous handling, no matter the weather. I live in Wisconsin and it handles the snow without a problem, even before I replaced my tires.

This car was built for the highway, it is a quick car, but it performs best going highway speeds. This car never quits, the fastest I've taken it was 110 and it got there in a hurry and wasn't done.

As for ride comfort, a lot of people have complained about this but I find the seats to be very comfortable, the only problem is that being a sports car it has stiff suspension and you feel every bump... A price you pay for good handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2009

1993 Audi 90 CS 2.8L V6

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Cheap rip off (Need a sticker Made for 70.000-90.000 Mile overuse of stated to your own danger)

Faults:

1) Transmission 2,700$, (I took it off my self and brought it to a shop to rebuild)

2) Heater core 300$, (Parts Only)

3) Door-leather 180$, (Parts Only)

4) Driver front door (that can be opened without a key when it is completely locked many 1989-1996 90 have a same problem), (Parts Only)

5) Timing Belt Kit 180$, (Parts Only)

6) Water-pump 160$, (Parts Only)

7) Thermostat 75$, (Parts Only)

8) Water (Cooler) Tank 80$, (Parts Only)

9) Fog lights 240$, (Parts Only)

10) Headlight lens (2) 210$, (Parts Only)

11) Rear Right light re-wiring for additional light 50$, (Parts Only)

12) All 4 wheels brake pads plus resurfacing 300$, (Shop resurfacing and me the rest)

13) Water Hoses 160$, (Parts Only)

14) Belt 90$, (Parts Only)

15) Generator 250$, (Parts Only)

16) Axel's 570$, (Parts Only)

17) Front Arm and Bushings 300$, (Parts Only)

18) Brakes fluid flush 60$, (Parts Only)

19) Coolant flush 40$, (Parts Only)

20) Steering hoses 900$ with fluid flash, (Parts Only)

21) Re-Painting a car 390$ + 900$ (Parts + Labor)

With all those and many more parts that are not listed I did it my self.

What if I would paid to a mechanic or a dealer to do all this?

General Comments:

I used to drive a BMW 530I/750il and wanted to try out an Audi ….

I will never buy an Audi again in my life.!!!

I have 1993 90 CS 137xxx Kml

Constant Problems are:

Consumes oil.

Front seats poorly designed (flows in design) getting tier after 1 ½ Hours of drive.

Steering Noise even when fluid at normal level.

Shock/Struts only for a freeway (if going on city roads you will feel like a riding a horse)

Light in speedometer poorly designed you can not clearly see between 0-55 at night.

Gas pedal and brake pedal to close to each other.

Tire size (nobody would put on better then 205/60/15 EXAMPLE 205-245/55/15 I had to find somebody that I know and he knows me to put new tires 235/55/15 and re-do alignment)

Transmission and many other parts are from France Italy and who knows else where in one word.

Made in China assembled in German.

My Final words about it are I better put 15-20$ more for gas and drive BMW 750IL then an Audi-WV of any model.

P.S. P O S

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2007

2nd Sep 2007, 21:25

137 million miles!!! I would expect this many problems after that long.

Of course I'm sure that's really a typo since this post is completely full of them.

Made in china assembled in German... Is that even possible?

P.S. Just a BMW fan-boy complaining about the competitors.

9th Jan 2009, 08:45

Most of the stuff that went wrong was just maintenance... At 137k there's going to be stuff wrong with a car, and a lot depends on who the driver's were in the past, especially for the transmission. I have an Audi 90 CS Quattro with 131k, and other than maintenance, it hasn't caused me any problems and has been extremely reliable. By the way, I just got all new brake pads and rotors for $375, drilled and slotted, could have gotten the basics for $245.

19th Feb 2009, 23:35

I do all my shopping for my Audi and Volkswagen parts at www.autohausaz.com.

They have the best deals for all new brake disks; front and back it would be about 130 without shipping, and they are Brembo rotors.

For pads it's about 61 without shipping, so I'm guessing about 210 dollars shipped - freakin cheap right?

I also can't even think of a place where it could cost $75 for a thermostat? $17.99 at AZ?? WEIRD??

2nd Mar 2009, 22:37

I think you got ripped off with the prices you paid for parts. I had to replace the heater core in my Audi 90, and one place, a European service and parts dealer, quoted me 375 for the core and 1500 for labor to install. I called around a bit, found the core for 78, and another European dealer charged me 200 to install.

I have found most people that complain about prices of parts went for the first quote and did not shop around.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews