1997 Audi A8 Reviews from North America

1997 Audi A8 4.2 Liter

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.2 Liter Automatic
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

Stay away

Faults:

Do not buy this car if you are on a budget. The transmission on this car for the year indicated (and from what I read, years around it) is totally horrid. So much for vaunted German engineering.

The addition problem, in my opinion, is that Audi in general, and the dealers, turn a blind eye to a massive problem with their transmissions. These cars are expensive, and you don't expect a massive problem with quality, that seems to be totally ignored by the company. Shame on you.

General Comments:

Great car with poorly designed and or built transmissions, that will ruin you financially.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2010

27th Nov 2010, 22:05

If you're on a budget, you shouldn't buy an expensive luxury car to begin with.

27th Nov 2011, 23:47

If you work on your own car, I find most European cars about the same price to repair in the long run.

As far as the transmission goes, a good independent Audi shop knows all about the trans problems. They have come to the point now, a rebuilt transmission will last for a very long time. You will pay 2-4k, depending how bad things got.

Considering what you pay now days for a used A8, they can be a real bargain. So you drop 3k and another 2k-3k for a transmission. You will not find a nicer car for only $5,000, give or take.

I also feel they look better than the newer Audi's. I'm not digging the newer look of Audi.

14th Apr 2012, 18:38

So rich people should buy unreliable junk because they can afford to fix it? If the car is poorly engineered, then no one -- rich or poor -- should buy it. Nobody who got rich by their own hard work is going to accept a car that blows its transmission every 40k.

30th Nov 2012, 23:13

All I was saying, was some good Audi shops have improved the life of the trans. I think they use rebuild kits from the 2000+ A8's. A lot of shops from what I've heard will throw in a used trans.

I'm not rich or pretend to be. I'm just a Audi nut. You don't have to be rich to enjoy Audi's. Unless you don't like to get your hands dirty. BMW 740i's use almost the same ZF transmission, and they blow out just the same, but they don't seem to make such a big deal about it. A8's are cheap to buy, but I think the wrong people are buying them. Yes, you will have to put money into them and parts are a little over priced. It's a 16 year old, 75k when new Audi. Things are going to crap out. That's just life.

30th Mar 2013, 17:19

Sorry, I was responding to the 1st comment. Not yours.

1997 Audi A8

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Previous carLexus GS300

Summary:

Loved it, but too costly to fix

Faults:

We purchased the A8 and loved it. After a few months the transmission went out. We were sad to let it go. We could not afford to pay $5000 to get it fixed. Two years later we decided to buy the same year audi again because we loved the drive. AGAIN, the transmission went out. The dealership was a joke.

Also, the back window shade went out in both cars.

General Comments:

Loved the drive. The best when it comes to driving in the snow.

Very economical for such a big powerful fast engine. We averaged 28 mpg.

Hope they start making a more reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2008

1997 Audi A8 Quattro 4.2 Liter Gasoline

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.2 Liter Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carVolvo 960

Summary:

Absolutely the finest automobile in the world

Faults:

Odometer LCD display screen died - purchased this way.

91,000 miles - AC drain began dumping cold water onto the floor of the car.

93,000 miles - Small oil leak from the engine, which created a minor burning smell in the engine area.

General Comments:

This car is an absolutely beautiful masterpiece of engineering. Listening to the gentle purring of the 4.2 liter V8 engine is absolutely breathtaking. The looks of the car have impressed everyone who has seen it.

An A8 had always been my dream car.. until the day I took it for service and an idiot at the Audi dealership cracked the engine block with a pneumatic wrench. The car overheated and the engine failed from this. I dearly miss this car, but has been since replaced by a 2002 A6, which is almost as good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2007

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews