BMW 1 Series Reviews from North America

2009 BMW 1 Series 135i 3.0 gasoline

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.0 gasoline Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Too much power for a crappy frame

Faults:

Cold start problems, faulty injector, body flex rattles over bumps.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

However the cabin is very gloomy and the seats are uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2014

2011 BMW 1 Series 128i SULEV 3.0

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8400 miles
Most recent distance8900 miles

Summary:

Fast golf cart with leather

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Big mistake getting the automatic. Happiest day will be when it's gone from my driveway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2011

20th Oct 2011, 16:41

There is some coded logic in your review, but it is hard to find. No faults? Fast go cart with leather that you want gone ? I have the same 3.0 litre automatic, and think it is wonderful. I prefer autos to manuals, even though there is a slight lag in the auto. Power is terrific and handling like a BMW sports car can. Time will show it as a classic.

2006 BMW 1 Series 135i

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Love the car, hate the burnt piece of machinery sitting in front of my home!!!

Faults:

At 90,000 miles, my car had an electrical fire. It just happened last night, so I don't have all the specifics yet, but the fire investigator said it was clearly a manufacturer defect. The car was parked and hadn't been driving in more than 3 hours.

A quick search on Google demonstrates that this is a common occurrence with some BMW models. I am hoping that after this is all said and done, I am still a fan of BMW's customer service.

Until now I my only issue with my car was the run flat tires, they are the worst. I have replaced the full set twice in 90,000 miles. And not because of balding, but because the tires have had holes in them. Run flat tires are not cheap!

General Comments:

I loved my car and thought it was worth the price. Now I am scared to own a BMW. My car was parked; what if it had of caught fire when I was driving it.

In the end, I hope that this goes over seamlessly. I don't know where to begin with BMW. Do I go to the dealership where I bought the car, or do I go to the corporate headquarters? I welcome advice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2010

25th Mar 2010, 20:44

I also have an E82 and I am interested to know more about your car's spontaneous fire. Did you have insurance? How did the fire investigator know it was a manufacturing defect? Have you shown the issue to BMW? Was the car made in USA or Germany? I would be surprised if BMW factory showed no interest. Your detailed comments would be appreciated.

31st Mar 2010, 18:53

I also found comments about engine fires in BMW cars. In this case it was an old (1992) 530.

..."the most likely cause of an engine fire is a leaking fuel line. It is possible that whoever did the repairs left a fuel line loose or damaged a fuel line in the process of making repairs. Proving this will be difficult, what you can do is hire an accident investigator who specializes in the automotive sector to look at the car and determine where the fire started. It may look like a total mess under the hood, but a good investigator will be able to determine the cause and document it for you. If you have comprehensive insurance, your insurance company's investigator will be able to do this for you. A fuel leak is the most likely possibility of an engine fire. Another possibility is engine oil leaking onto the exhaust manifold from a leaking valve cover gasket. Another possibility, but far less likely, is an electrical fire."

My question to you is... who did your last service? Freds Garage or BMW???

2009 BMW 1 Series 128

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2800 miles
Previous carBMW 1 Series

Summary:

Nice but not as nice as I thought it would be

Faults:

The warning lights seem to be a problem. The engine light goes on. When I called my sales person he said to open the gas cap and replace it tightly. Turn the car off and on again... the light went off. This has now happened 3 times.

Also my drivers side window leaks when I wash the car.

Front lighter never worked.

General Comments:

The cup holders are odd and don't hold average cups and then the armrest comes down on them.

The back seat windows don't have controls?

No cup holders in the back?

The car is still a BMW and therefore drives wonderfully and corners better than any other car.

I traded my Z4 for the new 1 series and now wish I had just bought another Z4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2008

27th Sep 2008, 15:38

Damn those cup holders!

6th Jul 2009, 16:52

Granted the Z4 is a beautiful car, but it has a smaller cabin than the 128 (BMW call it a 125 in Australia... the 135 is the twin turbo with 50% more power than the 125) and size seems to matter to you.

17th Oct 2009, 00:54

I wonder if this car was assembled in South Carolina or Germany. If it was made in the Carolinas then that is your first problem. If I buy a German car, I want it to be genuine German.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 4 reviews