2002 BMW 3 Series Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 3

2002 BMW 3 Series 325XI 2.5L

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

A very well balanced car in terms of handling, power and comfort

Faults:

Brake sensors replaced at 21,000.

Turn signal socket corroded, replaced at 27,000.

Door speaker grille trim rings crack easily.

General Comments:

Great handling, decent power, and a very comfortable car. Aside from the minor problems above the vehicle has been great. The AWD/traction control/ABS works superb in the worst of weather. (Snow and rain)

A very well balanced car in terms of handling, power and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2004

30th Sep 2006, 18:08

I have a 2002 325xi too. It has the same problem with the speaker ring breaking, but it's not a big problem. The rest of the car is totally perfect; cutting the corner really well on a 50m diameter curve, I turned at 105km/h and awaited the spin like crazy, but no problem! Still says I'm a BIMMER and not a 'made in china' toy. Get one and see what you get...

2002 BMW 3 Series 330CiC 3 L I6

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3 L I6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

The most fun for the money, even at $45K

Faults:

CD player skipping, replaced.

Windows rattling, replaced seals.

Transmission popping out of 2nd gear, replaced it.

Convertible top alignment redone.

Belt tensioner replaced with hydraulic.

Fuel gauge sensor replaced.

General Comments:

Very precise driver, fast, tight, fun and easy to keep. Despite above problems, very reliable. Perfect fit and finish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

2002 BMW 3 Series 330 ci convertible 3 liter 6 cylinder

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3 liter 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A beautiful automobile that is living up to my expectations in every way

Faults:

Absolutely nothing so far.

General Comments:

This is my fourth BMW. I highly recommend these cars. I have had a 1969 2002, a 325i, a 328is, and now the 330. They have all be terrific vehicles and highly reliable. BMW provides maintenance for the first few years of ownership, so that cuts the operating costs significantly. I usually keep my cars for seven or eight years, and I perform more frequent oil changes than is now suggested by BMW. I think it pays off in the long term. I am looking forward to driving this car for a long time. Incidentally, I went through the European delivery program available at any BMW dealer and I highly recommend due to the cost savings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

2002 BMW 3 Series 330i

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance10800 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

The car that sets the gold standard and gets a 5-star rating

Faults:

The weatherstripping loosened on the drivers window and needed to be reset.

General Comments:

The cars' performance is as good as it its' looks. Gas mileage is great. Total out of pocket cost for one year: $0.

The specs of the 3 liter engine seem underpowered in comparison to the specs of it's competitors. That is, until you step on the gas. Smooth and fast power delivery up to red-line. Competitors who put engines in their cars a.5 liter bigger can't outrun and out-perform it.

Fit and finish as impeccable. The paint job is first rate. Front seat room is great. Back seat room is okay. Fits 4 adults. Trunk room is okay.

The sports suspension is a bit busy compared to the regular suspension.

The sport seats are more comfortable than the regular seats.

The AM radio could be better. The H/K upgrade makes a difference. The FM radio and CD player are first rate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2003

2002 BMW 3 Series 330ci 3.0 liter

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance14980 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

In the long run this will be an economical high performance work car that brings daily smiles

Faults:

Maybe I've been lucky, but my 2002 330ci has been 100% reliable. I haven't had any failures of any kind and all the cars' equipment works very well. At nearly 15000 miles the car exhibits little or no wear at all. I have taken some small stone chip damage to the paint, but this was caused mostly by 100+ mph driving on Texas highways.

General Comments:

This cars' performance is outrageous considering it routinely returns over 26 miles per gallon. The steering is responsive and the brakes will stop on a dime and give back 9 cents change! The air conditioning system handles Gulf coast Texas summers with ease. BMW's are generally built to run, but this car is insatiable - give it 80 mph and it wants 100. It is my daily driver and hasn't missed a lick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

10th May 2007, 09:31

My Father has a 2002 BMW 330ci. He drives it everyday. It is very very quick. he has had it since he bought it from the dealership. it has never had any major problem at all. very safe on the turns and stopping. a lot faster than you think a little 3.0L will go!

1st Mar 2009, 12:55

We have had a 2002 330ci 5 speed manual since it was new. It has required 2 new clutches and 2 re-installations of engine software. (The car was not abused.) It is still not right, as it often runs at half power unless the engine is started cold. Nobody has an answer.

2002 BMW 3 Series 325i 2.5L

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Definitely a Sports Sedan

Faults:

Nothing as it is new.

General Comments:

Even though it has the smaller motor, with the 5spd manual transmission it is very quick and peppy.

The Sport suspension makes it handle twisty canyons like it is on rails.

The car is very comfortable, and fits like a glove.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews