1984 BMW 5 Series Reviews from North America

1984 BMW 5 Series 533i 3.4L 6 cylinder

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 3.4L 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

I purchased this car from a friend that said his son had blown the engine. I was willing to replace the motor. But all it needed was a battery and radiator.

Since then I have replaced the starter, alternator, ignition switch, carrier bearing, and muffler.

This is by far the best car I have ever owned. I have put 60 plus thousand miles on this car for less than 3k, including tires. I have taught 2 new drivers in this car. She still turns heads.

Most of the parts are guaranteed for life.

I want to have this car until death.

General Comments:

Easy to work on. Fun to drive. Reliable. Good MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2013

1984 BMW 5 Series 533i 3.2

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

Great, reliable, solid car

Faults:

Exhaust system.

Water pump.

Transmission seal.

Shocks & struts.

Oil pan leak.

Flywheel sensors.

Torn leather on drivers seat.

Cracked dash.

Various electrical gremlins.

General Comments:

This has been an outstanding car. I bought it 10 years ago with 80,000 miles for $5000.

I drove it for 3 years before giving it to my daughter to learn to drive with. We then gave it to my oldest second daughter to learn to drive. We then gave it to my youngest daughter to learn to drive. My wife now drives it.

It has been through heck and back with 3 new drivers, but still runs great. Trying to decide if I should keep it and fix it up, or sell it. Engine is still strong, as is the tranny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2009

9th Nov 2009, 12:37

Keep it simply for what it is. Why would you want to sell it?

1984 BMW 5 Series 533i 3.2

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired203000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carPorsche 911

Summary:

Has good power and road manners

Faults:

Water pump.

Radiator.

Starter.

Alternator (2).

Hoses.

Pressure plate.

Fuel pump.

Rear main seal.

Muffler (2).

Fan clutch.

Heater thermostat.

Instrument panel battery.

Temperature sensors.

Air meter.

Idle air control valve.

Fuel injectors (2).

General Comments:

Car had been neglected before I bought it.

Has Bilstein struts, which ride and handle well.

Slotted rotors and ceramic pads make the brakes very powerful.

LED trip computer, A/C, and sunroof work, and have never needed a repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2009

1984 BMW 5 Series 525e 2.7

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles

Summary:

The ultimate driving machine

Faults:

Water pump, radiator, thermostat casing, seats are wearing down (leather).

General Comments:

This is the best car I ever bought so far. It is built like a real car. High fuel efficiency vehicle and dependable. The engine is intact and so far so good. If you ever have the chance to buy one, buy it, you won't regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2009

1984 BMW 5 Series 528e 2.7 liter

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 liter Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired232032 miles
Most recent distance232032 miles

Summary:

A fun reliable car with power to spare

Faults:

Changed the carrier bearing recently because of a burnout gone wrong.

Driver seat worn and rips holes in my pants.

General Comments:

This BMW is the first car I bought with my own money, and I will never regret it.

I drive it like I stole it, and sometimes I think I try to break something on it, but can't seem to do it.

The sunroof still works, and so do all the power windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2008

1984 BMW 5 Series 533i Straight 6

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Straight 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tahoe

Summary:

Very well engineered, solid, fantastic car

Faults:

Fuel Pumps - did you know that there are two of them.

Air Conditioner - I am having it looked at next weekend.

Wiring - The previous owner had a stereo and alarm in the car. I am now trying to un-fix what he has done.

Back Windows - they seem to both be off track.

Auto lock & Unlock - This is a great feature, just the drivers door is not being cooperative.

Drivers seat - Previous owner must have been rather heavy, the drivers seat is broken down spring wise.

General Comments:

My Grandfather won this car in a raffle drawing. He gave it to my dad. My Father loved it, but the fuel pumps went out and he did not have the money to fix them. When he passed away in Sept. 07, I really did not want to spend the $1000. to fix.

However, after fixing it, WOW, I love it. Has lots of pep, handles great and feels rock solid. Seems so far I have made a very good investment. I have started driving in more than my new Tahoe. Going to have the front seats all redone and cushy, but other than that no complaints.

I would recommend anyone to a vintage car like this. I would choose this car over a payment for a newer one at any time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2008

13th Sep 2009, 19:07

Thanks for the Pep-talk!

I acquired my '84 533i last month! (for $100)

I already have a '64 Corvair, but the 533 is a "Classic" Dream Machine!

I can't decide where to spend cash first!

Upgrade the wheels from TRX to 15"?

Or get into the Engine? (there are some probable valve issues).

Thanks for the "heads-up" on fuel pumps, Alternators seem needy also.

Mike.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews