1989 BMW 7 Series 750 IL 5.0




My alternator went on the car.

At the same time, I replaced the battery, which was still original.

One of the straps holding the gas tank rusted and broke.

Also, one of the bushings securing the exhaust system broke.

General Comments:

This is the best monster of a car I have ever driven and owned.

Interior is great; all power options, and not to mention the comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2010

1989 BMW 7 Series 750 il 5.0 V12


Twin turbo V12 Bimmer


Small radiator leak, easy fix. Teflon tape and some wrenches.

Steering box failure, very costly! And what a pain to replace, but replaced it myself.

Water pump failure, not too hard to replace. just takes a couple hours.

Tie rod ends, inner and outer. Caused a shake from 50 mph and up. easy fix.

General Comments:

The BMW 750 il is in my opinion the smoothest sleeper on the road.

This is one car that can get you moving as fast as you want, and do it all while you are wrapped in leather.

My wife hates the car because of how much time the car requires in keeping up with. But I think that I would spend the time into what ever I drove.

I have owned three 7 series BMW's, and I can't see why anyone would want to own anything else. These cars are fast, easy to upgrade to get it to go faster, ride like a dream. But click it into sport mode, and it will take any corner you throw at it. All this while you have four adult friends going for the ride with you.

I have upgrade to a set of 19 by 8 wheels in front, and 19 by 9.5 in the back. With some sticky z rated rubber. Big chrome wheels look so nice. Car handles better with wider tires, you only notice this when you push it to the edge.

I have rebuild the motor, not out of it really needing it, more for my piece of mind. It was quite fun. All aluminum motor is now sleeved, to assure longer life, and it will handle any upgrade I throw at it.

Installed by a local speed shop is a pair of turbos, large inter-cooler, and some cold air intakes. Custom built injectors. 3 inch duel exhaust ending with some single chamber chrome race mufflers, 4 inch tips.

You might wonder how I did the duel exhaust seeming the stock gas tank takes up 3/4 of the space under the back of the car. A good friend built me a custom fuel cell. Which takes a bit to install, but looks very clean once done. It does throw off your read outs miles to empty, but its not much of a loss.

5,000 watt stereo system, 4 15's in the trunk. There is no better car in the world to throw money at. The cars just keep getting better and better.

Have you driven a Bimmer lately?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2004

27th Dec 2004, 10:16

This review is hardly of any use to someone who would be interested in the strengths and weaknesses in a STOCK 750iL, given that the reviewer had made some very extensive and expensive modifications to his.

Anybody can make a car better than stock by throwing money at it.

26th Mar 2005, 15:11

I am researching the 750 iL as a project car, looking to do my own twin turbo set up. I would like to know what numbers (hp, qt mile time) that were achieved and with what size turbo's and what fuel modifications were made to make the whole thing work. Also, what other mods had to be made to fit the twin turbo's under the hood. Thanks.

29th Jul 2005, 07:11

Twin turbo setups for these cars aren't impossible.

26th Sep 2005, 02:10

Hi can someone post more pages with BMW 750 twin turbo projects. I want a turbo in my 750 to, but I don't know were to start...

So post as many pages as possible!

7th Dec 2009, 20:20

Hello, I don't know if you still have your 750il twin turbo, I am looking to do the same with mine. I have a 750il euro and I am restoring it. With suspension upgrades and ECU Dinan chip and engine and exhaust mods. Where did you get the turbos and installation done? So I will be able to talk to someone about installation and where to purchase turbos and plumbing "intercooler etc".

1989 BMW 7 Series 735i 3.5 straight 6


The car looks, performs and has technology ahead of it's time!


Motor mounts and transmission mounts went bad, causing the drive shaft to hit the heat shield and making a horrible (to me) clicking noise when I took a corner (keep in mind I drive the car fast).

Radiator overflow hose came off, so when I went to fix that, I busted the connector piece for the hose and ended up having to buy a new radiator.

Brake caliper bolt fell off while I was driving (my fault, didn't tighten it enough when I changed pads) on a very bad road, lots of pot holes, so now I check the bolts regularly.

One day I used the anti theft immobilizing function when I was in a questionable part of town, and when I got back to the car, I put the code in and it would not accept it. I knew it was right, because I had used it before, and the code was 4 of the same numbers, so I had to disconnect the battery, wait 5 minutes, connect it, then wait 15 minutes, then put any code # I desired in. Then it started right up, so don't know why it did that, but oh well. It was an experience, plus I talked to this beautiful girl while I was waiting.

General Comments:

Overall the car is awesome, wouldn't trade it for any car (except for an M5 or a Corvette Z06 and maybe some others, key word... "some")

The car handles like a dream, even before the new wheels and tires, which made me love the car even more.

Yeah, it may be a little bit expensive to maintain, but the way I look at it, is life's too short to be nitpicking about that kind of stuff, just get what you want, that's just my opinion though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2002