2007 Buick Rainier CXL 4.2

Summary:

Nice small SUV, however too many electrical issues

Faults:

Rear wiper stopped working.

ABS and traction have minds of their own.

Gas gauge has mind of its own.

Front end components.

Gas tank (everything to do with it; sending unit, seals, lines, etc etc etc).

Rear defrost.

General Comments:

I was in the market for a full frame SUV and this fit the bill, however I have now figured out this is a little too small.

I like the styling of the Rainier and I like the AWD on it. The fold down seats are great, however there's not quite enough room with our 200+lb dog in the back with everything else (next will probably be a Suburban).

Fuel economy for a full frame SUV is good; it has ranged in the winter from 11.9 to 13.9 L/100km, to summer where it will get 9.6 to 10.9 depending on speed (all figures are highway only, I have not ever driven this in the city).

I find this SUV quiet and comfortable, however I would not recommend it as ours has been full of electrical issues.

The other thing is the stereo; I don't overly care about stereos in cars, but this one is awful! If you are in the market for a Rainier, make sure you find one with the upgraded stereo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2014

27th Apr 2014, 17:09

You got poorer fuel economy in the Summer than in the Winter? That doesn't make any sense.

29th Apr 2014, 19:51

Not MPG, L/100km, less is better

30th Apr 2014, 17:36

Oh, sorry.

2004 Buick Rainier CXL 5.3 V8

Summary:

I wish I would have never let my sister talk me into getting this vehicle!

Faults:

There was something wrong with the air suspension. Towards the end of ownership, if hitting a small bump, it would bounce the back of the vehicle hard.

There was wind noise coming into the driver's and passenger's side doors. My sister and cousin both had a Chevrolet Trailblazer, and they had the same problem.

General Comments:

The Rainier had horrible resale value. I had to pay over $12,000 to get rid of it.

The interior plastics were very cheap, and the leather seats were more like vinyl. They were slippery and offered no support whatsoever. They weren't even heated. The interior parts scratched and scuffed easily. The light color got dirty fast.

The steering was very touchy and loose; it made the handling scary at times, especially in rain or snow. On the highway, the vehicle would wander easily because of this.

The powerful engine and exterior styling were the only things I enjoyed about this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2011

2005 Buick Rainier CXL 5.3 V8

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

A weld broke leaking AC oil on the floor - Covered under warranty.

Oil pan and front pinion seal were leaking a very small amount (so small, it was not hitting the floor) - Covered under warranty.

General Comments:

Truly one of GM's best automobiles.

I bought the my Rainier V8 in January of 2007. It was exactly what I was looking for. It had the V8 and no running boards.

I started looking at SUVs to replace my aging 1996 Explorer. It was starting to rust and was 10 years old. I looked at new Explorers but they were way overpriced for what you get. So after looking at many SUVs from many different manufactures, I stumbled upon the Buick Rainier. After doing extensive research, it looked to be a great SUV...and once I started to realize how much they depreciated, it was meant to be.

I found one locally. It was a silver V8 with 25K on the clock...for $20,500. What a steal! It only took one drive to convince me that this was a great vehicle.

I ended up buying it and could not be happier.

There were a few things that went wrong with it. The first was a weld in the A/C system broke leaking a small amount of A/C oil on the garage floor. No big deal as the Rainier was still under warranty. The dealer was great, very helpful and got the repair done very quickly.

The second thing that went wrong with it was when it was getting an oil change, the Tech. noticed that the oil pan and front pinion seal were leaking a small amount of oil. At this point the factory warranty expired, but I had purchased an extended warranty. The sheer number of electronics in this car is a great reason to have an extended warranty. GM builds the best American cars and trucks, but I was still hesitant. Anyway, with this one repair, the warranty paid for half of itself...money well spent.

Other than those two small things, my V8 Rainier has been an absolute dream. Great gas mileage (22-24 Highway), wonderful ride, awesome V8 rumble, and it is quick. This thing will move.

It tows very well too. I have a 19 foot fiberglass (heavy) boat. My old Explorer huff and puffed towing the boat, but the Rainier with it's 5.3 V8 has no trouble at all. And as an added bonus, when I hook my boat up, the auto leveling rear suspension makes the car perfectly level...so no more squatting like with the Explorer.

My Rainier has the AWD system. Living here in Minnesota, it is a nice thing to have. It also has the G80 locking rear differential. Between those two devices, there has not been a storm that this Rainier cannot get through. And just as important as being able to move is, being able to stop is just as important...and the Rainier does not disappoint. Rarely does the ABS kick in due to the abundance of traction...and that is with the factory tires. But still, as safe as the car is, you must drive with due regard when the weather is bad.

The Rainier comes with two different engine choices. A 4.2L I-6 and a 5.3L V8. Let me explain the reason why I chose the V8 over the I6. 1) It is a V8. 2) The gas mileage difference was tiny. 3) Performance. As mentioned above, the V8 Rainier moves. It is nice knowing that when I need to get going, I can. My old Explorer was a slug.

Overall, I cannot say one bad thing about the Rainier. It is fast, comfortable, capable, and more feature laden than anything I have ever driven.

There are some areas of the interior that could be improved...but for the price paid, I would not change a thing. The Rainier proves that way back in 2004 (when the Rainier came out), the US Automakers knew how to build a vehicle that would smash the competition. And the Rainier smashes the imported competition from Japan and Europe as well as the domestic competition.

And to think... the Buick Enclave is a BETTER vehicle.

I am crossing my fingers that the Buick Enclave gets the 5.3 V8... because as soon as it does, I will be buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2008

22nd Dec 2008, 18:10

Everything I have read states that there are no plans for a V8 Enclave. However, they are considering a "Super" model with a turbo charged V6.

19th Jun 2013, 21:39

I know that this comment is a tad late compared to when you composed your review, but, I LOVE your first reason for choosing the V8. Why? Well, because "it's a V8"!