1985 Buick Skyhawk Reviews from North America

1985 Buick Skyhawk Custom 1.8

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles

Summary:

Could not be trusted

Faults:

After this car was 3 months old, it could not be trusted to go any distance.

Had many ignition problems whenever it was used on the highway. Always had to carry spare parts (cap, rotor, spark plugs and wires) just to get home.

Went through 3 exhaust systems in 5 years.

Towed 3 times to the dealer in the first two years.

Looked very nice, and was excellent on gas.

General Comments:

First new car, and dealer took advantage of that fact. Over paid on it to start, and was charged a very high interest rate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2010

1985 Buick Skyhawk Base 1.8L Gasoline

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.3 / 10
Distance when acquired999999 kilometres
Most recent distance999999 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Two Words: Completely useless

Faults:

The clutch went out.

The nose cone broke open.

After we put synthetic oil in it it sort of killed it. It burned oil, it blew oil around, it wend BAM BAM BAM! when you put your foot down on the pedal.

I didn't have it long enough to remember the mileage, or anything else that went wrong.

General Comments:

The car was boxy, but the interior was nice. Parts were easy to come by. (All the J-Cars had interchangeable parts, as they only had slightly different styling and engines.)

The Last J-Series car was a 1989 Cavalier. all three cars (there was also a Pontiac Sunbird that really didn't know what year it was, and what it was called.) have shared parts throughout the ownerships.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2007

1985 Buick Skyhawk Custom 1.4 turbo

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12360 miles
Most recent distance35336 miles

Summary:

A great car for the student driver

Faults:

The doors has rust on the bottom.

The air conditioning has stopped working.

The alternator had to be replaced several times.

The shocks had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is very quick and reliable.

Would recommend to anybody looking for a small quick car.

However the problems I mentioned before is just minor, The parts are hard to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

14th Jun 2004, 19:48

1.4 turbo? The only 4 cylinder turbo engines used in the J car line that I'm aware of were the 1.8 and the 2.0 litre units.

1985 Buick Skyhawk Custom 1.8 Litre OverHeadCam

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Litre OverHeadCam Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This is one of the best blue-collar, great performance passenger cars of the Eighties

Faults:

I replaced the transmission at around 85,000 miles due to "street racing". I'm young and like to go very fast, very quickly.

The roof material was falling down when purchased, but that was fixed very easily.

I accidentally "removed" the spare change compartment cover off of the dash. Fixed with model cement.

The dual exhaust pipes were a bit rusty, but made to look much better with chrome cover pipes that fit right over them and screwed into place. (Available at any decent auto parts store.)

There was one spot on the bottom of the driver's side door where the paint had bubbled and started to rust.

I replaced the starter shortly before the transmission.

In short, this is the first car that I've ever wanted to keep on the road, and as an amateur, it was very easy to fix.

General Comments:

This car is the 1.8 litre custom 5-speed manual transmission 2-door, non-turbo model 1985 Buick Skyhawk.

This car has had just a few problems, mostly minor, and has been such a great car. It's overall appearance is very fluid with clean lines and sharp attention to detail. I've had people actually stop to comment on just how nice it looks.

The interior is laid out very nice, with plenty of room in the back seat. The material has kept in pretty good shape.

This car just needs an owner that is willing to help it achieve the goal of being the best little automobile that it can be. Attention to detail will make this the sharpest car you've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

23rd Sep 2004, 09:33

This little car has been the best car that I've ever had. It doesn't really look the best, but I can pull up to the line on any drag stip and show who's boss. I love it.

23rd Sep 2004, 19:06

You like to go fast? You're certainly not doing it in a Skyhawk. 90 horsepower, slushbox 3 speed auto tranny and 2300+ lbs of weight guarantee you will not be beating anything other than a diesel Chevette with your car.

1985 Buick Skyhawk Limited

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10

Summary:

You can make lemonade with it!!!

Faults:

Everything!!! you name it it failed.

Radiator hose, radiator, heater core, horn, water pump, exhaust manifold, windshield washer pump, hole in driver seat, water leak on passenger side, main gasket leak, power steering line.

I got more to say, but my hands are getting tired from the typing.

General Comments:

Lemon!!! If you see one run, it put me in the poor house.

The car is possess by some evil spirit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

1985 Buick Skyhawk custom 2 door 1.8

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

This is the best car I've had yet

Faults:

When I got it it had a bad cylinder head.

It also had a bad cylinder head gasket.

The fuel filter was original and had to be replaced.

The bottoms of both doors were completely rotted away.

Other than that it just needed a basic tune up.

General Comments:

The car performed better than I ever could have expected.

One time I turned the engine by mistake over 6000 r.p.m and amazing it stayed together and still runs awesome.

The car has awesome acceleration and takes off like a rocket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

1985 Buick Skyhawk Limited Coupe 2.0 Liter 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Citation

Summary:

Cute little car, but loves to rust

Faults:

CV boots.

Head gasket.

Rust, rust, rust.

Full exhaust.

Oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

A cute little car, sporty looks, but once rust sets in, it's a never-ending contagious disease.

Fairly quick acceleration with the stick shift, excellent highway mpg (34+).

The seats are really comfy, but fitting 3 normal sized adults in the back is next to impossible.

A big improvement over the problem child Chevy Citation, at any rate.

Sold it in '99 for $500, and am now much happier with my '92 Grand Am.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

18th Jan 2003, 12:01

Anybody having problems with the fuel pump going out? Any body had to replace it themselves? Any tips or hints to offer besides selling or giving away the car?

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews