1988 Cadillac Allante Reviews from North America

1988 Cadillac Allante 4.1

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 4.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A true American sports car

Faults:

Normal maintenance items have been replaced on this vehicle.

One radio speaker doesn't work any more, but I had it replaced, and there was one little short in a fuse box in the trunk, but I repaired it.

General Comments:

Love this car. Always wanted one. It rides like a dream, and gets decent gas mileage.

Upgraded the wheels and tires to 18 inch chrome wheels and Pirelli tires.

The only thing I don't like about the car is not having an electric convertible top, but I will put up with that, since I leave the top down the whole summer and don't drive the car in the rain or the winter, then I store it with the hardtop on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2013

1988 Cadillac Allante allante fast

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission fast Automatic
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Fabulous!

Faults:

The car is in great shape since it's been in the garage for @ 15 years now.

The battery runs down all the time because we don't drive it enough.

It's "mountain laurel" color which is better known as "marykay pink". It's got to be the only one in existence since she always insisted they be painted when they came back after her top associates drove them. Long story how I got it without ever having to paint it.

We're in a "scale down" mode of our lives, and now I'd like to sell it. anyone know of the best way to get the highest and best price for the little beauty??

General Comments:

I'll never be able to drive another car of this quality. It handles like a dream and still purrrs like a beauty. We love it, but just don't have the room or inclination to continue to store it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2006

1988 Cadillac Allante 4.1L V8

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.1L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Most recent distance164500 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

A car in a class of its own, combining performance, luxury, and style

Faults:

I spent a little over $500 on brakes a couple months after the purchase last June.

The radiator had a leak. A new one was about $200 which I put in myself.

I just found out that the original oil plug had been stripped out and an expansion plug was used in its place. I had a new plug tapped since the expansion plug was beginning to leak. The cost was $40.

The convertible top pull-down motor broke. Dick Hussey from AllanteSource charges $200 for a rebuilt unit, which is an excellent price.

The paint is showing bad signs of weathering. The clear coat is all, but gone on the upper right edges by the trunk and hood. The hood itself is losing its luster badly.

General Comments:

Owning an Allanté was always a dream, and when I found mine for the price I couldn't resist. The engine performs like it hasn't lost a beat, and the handling is unsurpassed from any other car I've been in.

My transmission has seen better days since the shift point at 40 is a little slow, but I was still able to beat an 86 Mustang 5.0 in a 1/4 mile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

24th Nov 2005, 08:56

I recently purchased an '88 with 16k, and I must admit, I have never driven a car as comfortable, reliable, powerful, and as performance oriented. Every where I go, not only do heads turn, I'm also asked to sell. No! The car has the analog dash, which I much prefer. Cadillac had a winner with the Allante, and I am happy they stopped making them, as I can see this car becoming one of America's most desirable classics yet. I wish I could find out how many total cars were built.

26th Mar 2007, 07:08

In '88 they made 2,569 units.

Interesting you made that comparison since I own a BLACK '88 Allante and a RED 5.0 MUSTANG GT.

I love BOTH, but I call the Mustang the BEAST; it easily leaves the Allante in the dust, but the Allante easily pulls away in the comfort and styling areas, not in speed.

26th Mar 2007, 13:49

The Allante was a competitor for the Mercedes SL, not a Ferrari or Porsche. In fact, Car and Driver ranked it higher than an SL, although Mercedes changed models the next year.

8th Jul 2008, 08:58

Since my comment of 26th Mar 2007, 07:08, I have added a 2nd car as the '88 is failing badly - hey, it cheap to buy. You name it, the suspension, the electronics, the ABS brake system, the transmission. The engine is solid, the rest of the car is yikes. I am now using it for parts for the 2nd one. One other thing, the value. Unbelievable drop. The '93 cars have dropped from $20k to $5k in two years, the other years one can find as low as $1,000. Drive it until the wheels fall off and sell the headlights which is about the only thing worth selling. What an embarrassment for GM to have the Allante bear the Cadillac name on it. Why some nit-wit would pay more than a couple thousand? you got me.

My next car is going to be a real Cadillac, like the STS-V or the CTS-V. Enough of this fake Italian glory.

1988 Cadillac Allante Convertible 8 cylinder

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 8 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Nice for the price I paid, but will sell her

Faults:

Needed a water pump when first acquired, the electronic system is a nightmare and the panel is constantly saying my turn signals and brake lights are out which they are not. Also says I need washer fluid which was filled. I'd like to take a hammer to that panel! And I can't read the digital speedometer, it comes on when it feels like it. Sun visors are loose.

Seat-belts are a horror story! Motor for the top does not work, you have to manually push it down and hope it locks in place.

General Comments:

So many problems for a Cadillac that started out at $65,000.00. Thank God we got it in a trade deal and did not pay much for it. I will have fun with it for awhile then dump it and get a Corvette Convertible, much faster but not as comfortable.

What I feel is that the original owner did not take care of this car as it should have been taken care of and it probably wouldn't need much done. I would fix it, but the cost from a Cadillac Service Dept to do so would bankrupt me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

23rd May 2001, 01:09

13 year old car with problems, gee, that's odd. You don't know what kind of people had the car before. Cadillac is as good as cars get, you just need a new one.

1988 Cadillac Allante V8

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission V8
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10

Faults:

The electrical system is a nightmare.

The windows go up and down by themselves.

The horn blows randomly.

The oil light is on, constantly.

The anti-lock brakes have been repaired... but still are not working. The convertible top does not work.

General Comments:

THIS CAR IS A NIGHTMARE!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd June, 1999

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews