1992 Cadillac Deville sedan 4.9liter V8

Summary:

I think I just got unlucky

Faults:

The steering wheel was hard to turn when I got the car, and two days later when driving the steering wheel kept on turning and a loud thud was heard, it was the transmission, and engine and they were laying on the ground and we needed a flat bed to tow it away... so basically 2 days after I got it it is now totaled.

General Comments:

The car looks nice and accelerated quickly for the two days I had it and it was very comfortable, and it was good on gas for the size engine it had... altho it didn't really handle that well I must say...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st December, 2004

31st Dec 2004, 08:59

For the engine and transmission to have fallen out (as you claim) two days after you got it, at least one of the mounts would have to have been completely broken before you bought it.

This would have been obvious if you had inspected it before you handed over your money.

Or did you just make sure the radio worked?

31st Dec 2004, 09:32

This guy had an Eagle Premier before so his knowledge in all things automotive could be questionable at best...

1st Jan 2005, 07:10

COOL!!! I bet that looked really neat to see you engine and transmission laying on the ground- fallen out of the engine bay like that! (Smile) I wish I could have seen it myself. Was their a look of suprise on your face? Or did you just bask in the moment, enjoying the aspects of modern front wheel drive technology in action??? Signed Your sympathetic fellow earth unit.

15th Jan 2008, 01:15

I own a 92 Sedan De Ville and it is a very reliable top notch car. I get offers all the time even though it has 200,000+ miles on it. Cadillac did something right with the Sedan de Ville because I have never done anything to it since new and it still runs the same like when it was new.

1st Feb 2008, 12:58

SO I'm guessing you didn't even pop the hood before you bought the car to at least get a good visual look to see if there was anything wrong with the engine. Man, I didn't know that some carbuyers were that gullible. I should buy a car from the junkyard and sell it for $3,000 to an unsuspecting buyer.

You weren't unlucky you were ripped off.

1992 Cadillac Deville Touring Sedan 4.9L V8

Summary:

Cadillac is the way to go

Faults:

82,000 miles: Needed new spark plugs, Distributor Cap, and Rotor in the distributor cap (pretty much a tune-up).

Brakes at 84,000 miles.

General Comments:

This Cadillac used to be my brother's girlfriend's grandmother's car. And she took really good care of it. For going on 13 years old, she still runs like brand new. Everything in the car works, and the leather was always taken care of so it is not cracking. This is a car that I would never want to get rid of ever. A lot of people said that I'll get a lot of life out of this car. And the best thing about it, it is absolutely beautiful and always clean. Yeah, it can be expensive with repairs, but it is certainly worth the extra couple bucks.

If you take care of it, it will take care of you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

15th Oct 2004, 19:21

I also have a 1991 Touring Sedan, currently has 197,774 miles, With only routine maintenance this car has been great!!!

1992 Cadillac Deville 4.9 V8 TBI

Summary:

A classy, comfortable cruiser if you take care of it

Faults:

Fuel tank baffle and pump (dealer repaired), RF wheel bearing (replaced), alternator (twice, replaced), A/C (rebuilt and upgraded to r134), O2 sensor & catalytic converter (replaced), struts (replaced), EGR valve (replaced), stereo (replaced).

General Comments:

All of the repairs mentioned above (with the exception of the fuel system repairs) are related to mileage. I have meticulously maintained my car and it retains the same appearance, function, and service as the day I bought it. I still get 19-24 mpg consistently. The oil change indicator is very handy! If you are buying one of these, check the fuel system (plastic baffle in tank breaks off and plugs up the pump). A/C system was fine until 150,000 miles. Radio was replaced with a new unit off eBay for under $10. Center caps can be costly to replace; I replaced one and have a spare one in reserve. Probably a bit more costly and troublesome than an equivalent Japanese make, but a Cadillac is not a 'cookie-cutter car'. Take care of it and it will take care of you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004