1969 Cadillac Fleetwood Review from North America

1969 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham 472-Cu.-In. V8

Model year1969
Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 472-Cu.-In. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired88700 miles
Most recent distance89800 miles
Previous carCadillac Fleetwood

Summary:

Big, powerful and elegant

Faults:

Radio doesn't work.

The climate control won't go into the heater mode.

General Comments:

This 1969 is just the Cadillac I've been looking for. It has always been my favorite year for Cadillacs.

Luckily, the example I found is painted triple black which makes it look very elegant.

The previous owner added dual exhaust. That, combined with the powerful (375 hp and 525 ft/lbs torque) engine, really makes this car perform. According to old road tests, this car should have no problem running a 16-second 1/4 mile. Quite good considering its approximately 5,000-lb curb weight.

The leather seats are very thick and plush and the rear footrests and reading lamps are a nice touch.

The ride, of course, is very soft and this car is easy to handle.

An important point... all four fender tips are visible from the driver's seat. That helps a lot when backing up or parking.

The excellent reliability of the 472 engine and the turbo-hydramatic transmission are well-known.

Definitely a car worth keeping.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

15th Dec 2004, 20:23

Your car must be a real pleasure to drive. Where do you get those old car reviews? Sounds like interesting reading.

25th Dec 2004, 20:15

Uhhh...old car magazines?

11th Mar 2005, 14:39

Yes, the info is from old car magazines. I have many of them. Motor Trend (April, 1969) tested a '69 Coupe de Ville and got a 0-60 mph time of 9.4 seconds and a 1/4 mile of 16.5 seconds. @ 83.8 mph. They also reported 98 mph @ 3500 rpm and 9.2-11.8 mpg.

29th Apr 2005, 20:27

If you are looking for old car magazines they can often be found in College librariers. My small liberal arts college, for example, has hardcover compilations of each years Consumer Reports all the way back to the 1940s. You can read original views on the 1969 or 1955 cars, for example, with pictures and road test results included. It's really neat.

19th May 2005, 22:13

Yes, I use to look up the old magazines at college libraries on microfilm. Since then I have bought many at used book stores and have Consumer Reports annual auto issue for '55, '59, '61, '62, '64, '66-'75, '77, '78 and '79. Also Motor Trends, Car Lifes, Road Tests, etc from the '60s and '70s with road tests and articles of Cadillacs (and '60s/early '70s muscle cars- I like those, too).

18th Feb 2009, 16:13

I have owned a 69 Coupe De Ville since 1989 (I am 39). I love this automobile. I keep it all original, It's an iconic symbol of American prestige. Yuppies in BMW's and Lexus's stop to talk to me and admire the Caddy.

The power is understated and refined. Black ostrich leather seats, black vinyl top, white paint, new chrome, polished and anodized front grill etc. Hot dog! Now that's a REAL car. When I hand the keys to the valet he always parks it in front of the restaurant or casino. It's a car to cruise down Hollywood Blvd. while listening to some Coltrane. Swing on Baby, Swing on..

10th Aug 2009, 21:08

I own a 1969 Cadillac Deville, in mint condition with 34000 miles on it. It's a very lovely car. Can anybody help me find the chrome rolls Royce style grille for this car? 973-493-3687 Dave

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 1 review