1990 Cadillac Fleetwood Reviews from North America

1990 Cadillac Fleetwood Sixty Special 4.5 V8

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 4.5 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

It's a big, comfortable car that may have little issues, but won't leave you stranded ever

Faults:

Passenger side half shaft.

Catalytic converter clogged.

CD player failure.

Some rust within door frames.

Front passenger window slow.

Door locks don't function properly.

Driver's seat worn.

A/C inoperable.

General Comments:

Despite the aforementioned problems, this vehicle has never left me stranded like the Discovery I used to own. For a nearly 23 year old car, it does very well for itself.

Driving dynamics are pretty comfortable and pleasant, and the ride is as smooth as expected. Although the handling gets pretty sloppy when pushed. The brakes are very sure footed, and the car stops very well for something so heavy. Acceleration is good for a big car with 170 HP. Also, these front wheel drive Caddies are wonderful in the snow.

Recently I was rear ended by a Grand Cherokee going 30+ mph, and I will say my car won. The bumper is bent, but all the lights still work, and I still drive it daily after opting to keep it from the insurance company, while still receiving more than I ever paid for it. A very safe car, that is made of mostly metal, not plastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2012

4th Dec 2012, 08:50

This was my image of a perfect car when I was younger. And it still is!

30th Dec 2012, 10:10

This year a port fuel injected 4.5 liter V8 with 180hp powered this car. I was surprised how much more reliable and better built this series was compared to the shorter 85-88 models.

1990 Cadillac Fleetwood Sedan 4.5 Liter V8

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.5 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Very well worth the money spent to keep it running

Faults:

Rebuilt alternator, starter went out, replaced power Steering hoses, but other than that, all problems are in the interior.

Power window in front passenger door switch doesn't work, but window still rolls down at drivers side.

Passenger side power seat back doesn't work.

CD player is having problems.

Passenger side door locks don't go all the way down.

Leather is cracking in the driver's seat and door.

General Comments:

Even with all of the problems listed above, I would never get another Stratus again. The car was just plain too small. The straight 4 cylinder doesn't hold a candle to the V-8 under the Caddy's hood.

This car has plenty of get up and go. Went from 65 MPH to 95 MPH in about 4-5 seconds. Recently had a tune-up and now get 25-27 MPG on highway and about 13-15 MPG in city.

Powerful engine, nice center console, warm, soothing interior, and a Bose sound system provide a very smooth and relaxing drive, whether you are driving across town or across country.

If your mileage for your Fleetwood is down in the high teens, have your mechanic see if your oxygen sensor is going out and replace the fuel and air filters. That did the trick for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

1990 Cadillac Fleetwood sedan 4.3Liter

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

It's powerful, beautiful, and ladies love this car!

Faults:

Nothing, has gone wrong, this is without a doubt my second favorite car in the world. When driving this car a whole new outlook of life is opened up to you that you never knew existed.

The comfort of this car is incomparable to anything in its range of value. To compare it to anything you have to compare it to a Mercedes-Benz it is that comfortable. With how good the Caddy looks, if you gave me the choice between the Cadillac and a Mercedes-Benz, Honestly I would take the Mercedes-Benz and sell it and buy me a Caddy and have enough money to buy a decent size house.

Though the gas mileage coming in at about 17 miles per gallon, that's not that bad when comparing it to anything that looks even half as luxurious as it.

General Comments:

The price, considering the fact that I bought it used, but at the price recommended it should go for, I thought I came out with a great deal. I paid $4,ooo, and haven't looked back even for a second. It's acceleration is quick it's speed feels like it will keep going and going and the ladies love this car. It's big comfortable and unless you have the windows down you won't be able to feel the speed at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

25th Feb 2005, 18:04

Yeah, well the Kelly Blue Book price for an 89 Fleetwood in EXCELLENT condition with 100K miles is about half what you paid.

Of course, the ladies are probably impressed that you paid $4,000 for yours.

26th Feb 2005, 16:54

The value of the car could of been 4000 back in 2003, you are going by todays standards.

20th Apr 2009, 01:27

I'm in the process of buying a 1989 Fleetwood. It still retails for $3125.

The 1992 Deville still retails at $4700, quite a huge difference for only 35 hp and leather seats.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews