1999 Chevrolet Suburban Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 3

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LT 5.7 Vortec

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87774 miles
Most recent distance89795 miles
Previous carCadillac Suburban

Summary:

Overall this is a great vehicle

Faults:

The brake light switch had to be replaced but was covered under warranty. Also the fuel pump was replaced, but also covered in warranty.

General Comments:

I think this vehicle is a winner. It was bought used with 87774 miles, but runs like brand new.

It is very responsive to controls and has great power and comfort compared to other SUV's in it's class.

The braking system could be improved, but really no other complaints.

I love going out on the open road and cutting loose. Also off-road driving is pleasurable with exception of slight suspension woes, bouncing.

I would recommend a Suburban to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LT 5.7 V8

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

This is the ultimate SUV

Faults:

The only problems that we have experienced are that it is really hard on brakes and we suffered a perpetual transfer case third member leak for a year or two. We finally found a mechanic that was able to repair the transfer case seals as well as install a good set of aftermarket heavy duty brakes to the vehicle (performance friction brand). Other than that, this baby is the perfect SUV.

General Comments:

This thing is the last of a dying breed! IT IS king of the highway and can tow just about anything. ALL other SUV's feel like toys after you have driven this thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LT 5.7

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

This is by far one of the best vehicles I have ever bought

Faults:

After owning the vehicle for 1,000 miles or at 80,000 miles, the fuel pump went bad. I did some quick calculation at 16 M.P.G and found it had pumped 5,000 gallons of fuel. That's a lot of fuel for a small little pump. I replaced it myself and it wasn't that hard to do. Total cost under $300.00.

The engine light went on intermittently and I stopped using ethanol fuel and it stopped coming on.

General Comments:

The brakes are not very good.

I found that if you manually adjust the brakes in the rear every oil change, they work great.

The rear doors squeak.

I now know that if you keep the seals clean and keep a polymer on them, that they won't squeak anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LS 7.4

Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 7.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carDodge D250

Summary:

Estimates of $5,000.00 to repair a car selling at $15,500 used, I will look to Honda next time

Faults:

Starting with the original starter I am now on the third one.

The front and rear breaks never worked properly, i.e. pulling, extreme vibration, extreme front pad wear, only 15% wear on original rear shoes after 84,000. (dealer says this is OK!)

Air-conditioning leaking under dash.

Automatic door locks fail when wet (rain, or car-wash).

Catalytic converters need replacing after 84K miles. (Manufacturer Warranty void after 80K miles)

General Comments:

This is a roomy solid ride.

The towing package that comes with is performing well.

Passes everything except the gas station, but knew that before I bought.

The 454 cubic inch engine has enough power towing 27', 7,000lbs travel trailer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

15th Nov 2003, 19:59

You problem is the 454. Next Chevy, go with the bread and butter of Chevy- 350 5.7. Brother, mine has over 150,000 miles and is as powerful and quiet as any new car (it powers a k1500 Suburban).

16th Jan 2013, 23:33

Who the hell would need a 454 cid 7.4 L V8 engine in a Suburban? To tow a house? A Chevy 350 cid V8 engine in good working order can tow a 7,000 lb trailer decently too, and get you infinitely better gas mileage. I'm sorry, but I really don't see GM's logic to keep the 454 and the later 496 cid V8 engines around in the 1990s and 2000s, with more powerful and efficient diesels around.

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LS 1500

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A high priced yard ornament

Faults:

We have had problems from the very beginning. There is some sort of electrical problem. The dealer can't seem to find it and has yet to offer a replacement. The car has broken down so many times that we have lost count. If it wasn't for the mechanical breakdown we purchased from our insurance company, we would be flat broke from repairs. It has had the manifold replaced, the gasket to the manifold replaced, two security chips, keeps blowing different fuses randomly and at times all fuses at once, leaving a driver in complete darkness, with no headlamps or anything. The seats keep popping springs and I am far from being overweight. The towing package is completely inadequate: basically it's a nice looking hunk of junk. What a shame for a 36k dollar car. Brand new.The last few vacations we have taken we rent a car because it is so unreliable. I paid good money for a car that rarely leaves the driveway. It has officially made it to lemon status on Carfax.

General Comments:

It handles better than a horse and wagon, but not as reliable. When the horse fails you just shoot it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2002

1999 Chevrolet Suburban LT 5.7 Liter V8 SFI

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 5.7 Liter V8 SFI
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

What an awesome truck. This is the real "King of the Hill" Sport utility. Lots of room, a smooth and powerful 350 V8, and a commanding view of the road. I looked at the Expedition, Durando, and the Cherokee. I just laugh. When compared to the Suburban they are just wannabe SUV's. Even the Navigator and Lexus Jeep, what a waste of money. The Suburban is practical and well worth the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

27th Jan 2001, 00:30

You are right, the Suburban is the true king of the road. And I too laugh at the wannabe SUVs. I have a 1997 Chevrolet Suburban LT k1500 4x4 and I'm very proud of it. Never had a problem with it.

E-mail me if you want (mojoeguy@hotmail.com or slipknot8941@yahoo.com) or on the instant messenger, my screen name is slipknot4786.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews