1999 Chrysler Intrepid Reviews from North America

1999 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7L

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired196548 kilometres
Most recent distance245874 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cheyenne

Summary:

This car is crap... total, absolute crap

Faults:

There is a problem with the electricals, a problem with the motor, and I suspect a problem with the transmission.

The driver's window has broken twice, and the door electrical has failed a couple times, during winter of course.

The locks operate occasionally.

If you can afford the constant repairs of this car, it rides nice and handles well... when it's running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2011

1999 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

It's a Chrysler, what else is there to say... unacceptable!

Faults:

My motor blew at 85,000 miles. I still owe $5,000 for it, and now I owe $13,000 because of the motor. This is terrible. I called the Chrysler and they told me there is nothing that they can do for me. I find this unacceptable, very unprofessional and unethical. I do believe Chrysler should have done some cost assistance on this, knowing that this IS an issue. I will not purchase another Chrysler again, I will purchase GM.

General Comments:

It's a good car besides the engine blowing, the main part of the car.

I had no car for 4 months, and being a single mother, I couldn't afford to do it all at once. I know nothing may come out of this, but it needs to be known.

I never get good reception on my radio, and I have a clunking noise in my struts. I understand it's used, but really a motor blowing is crazy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2008

19th Jan 2008, 08:27

Sorry to hear about the problems with the car.

However it's seven years old and well out of warranty... what do you expect them to say? It could have had all hell ragged out of it prior to you buying it for all you know.

19th Jan 2008, 15:34

Since when does it cost $13k to put another 2.7L into an Intrepid?

1999 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7 V6

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Faults:

I had a Dodge Intrepid 1999, 2.7l V6, the car is great, but almost a month a go, I had several problems with the engine, the car when down when I was driving since then the car only starts, when the motor is cold an then when it gets to the middle of the temperature the engine stops again, what can I do? help!, any comment send it to rulas_03@hotmail.com.

General Comments:

I had troubles with miles Intrepid 1999.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2007

1999 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Faults:

No major problems; replaced computer at 100000 miles, and just general maintenance has been done on the car; brakes, belts etc...

General Comments:

Drives like a tank... cause it is a tank:) LOL

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th August, 2007

1999 Chrysler Intrepid 2.7

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

This car is Serious Junk! Don't buy!

Faults:

The oil pump is bad.

The timing chain is bad.

The engine lights never worked.

The engine blew at 92,000 miles.

General Comments:

My mechanic told me it would be around $4000 to fix - rebuild the engine.

He also told me that this is a problem he sees regularly with the 2.7L engine.

Chrysler blames the problem on poor maintenance, however, their shop took care of all maintenance.

Many Many Many other Intrepid owners have the same problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2006

4th Oct 2006, 03:34

Yes I agree with you very much. I bought an 99 Intrepid and sold it. It has 100,000 miles and the engine has started to knock. It is an apparent valve problem that will cost $3000.00 Canadian to fix. I just hate Chrysler. It should have closed up in the 80s when it was hit finacial trouble.

24th Mar 2007, 21:37

Like the site, its important to tell potential customers what they may experience.

1999 Chrysler Intrepid 2.3

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Money-pit

Faults:

Since I got the car, the key to the trunk has never worked.

Before I used the car I had to rebuild the engine. Then not even a year and 25000km later, I had to replace the engine with a new one.

I have replaced 4 transmission sensors. I can tell another one is going to go soon. The shifting of the vehicle sucks.

I've redone the brakes, which need to be done again.

General Comments:

I would never recommend this car for anybody. It has caused me nothing, but trouble and a lot of money! The dealership is very unhelpful and unorganized from my experience. Although I have only gone to the dealership minimal times due to the lack of knowledge.

It is a very nice riding car, but that does not even begin to make up for the problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2006

Average review marks: 2.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews