Chrysler Laser Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 6

1985 Chrysler Laser XT 2.2 tubo

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 tubo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115389 miles
Most recent distance116689 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

MY Power Module went bad 7 days after I bought it as well as the fuel pump.

General Comments:

Fast at top speeds turbo lag needs to addressed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2002

1985 Chrysler Laser XE 2.2L turbo

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

Great performance vehicle

Faults:

Blown head gasket.

Faulty fuel filter.

General Comments:

The car is very quick off the line, and has great top speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

1984 Chrysler Laser XL 2.5 turbo III Intercooled

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo III Intercooled Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance131000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Hyundai Exel1.6Turbo

Summary:

This car is absolutely spectacular

Faults:

Things that have gone wrong:

Brakes - locked, it was sitting for 3 years.

It had holes which I welded myself in my garage.

General Comments:

Updates 2.5 manifold.

New Mopar computer.

Turbo III conversion status.

K&N filter.

Ho-ally 15 fuel carbys, I went from a 2 barrel to a 3 barrel from a Plymouth Reliant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

1984 Chrysler Laser XE 2.2L turbo

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Nothing more than garbage!

Faults:

The transmission blew at 140,000 km.

The engine blew at 140,000 km.

In fact, the entire drive train exploded in one loud bang.

General Comments:

The worst car ever built. Chrysler does not know how to build a vehicle. It was loaded with half-functioning options, sloppy fit-finish, and a poorly-engineered turbo engine. I will never again buy a Chrysler product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

30th Aug 2001, 19:39

I have a Laser and it has 100000 miles on it. I love it. It is a great car and has had minimal problems. My question is did you rebuild the engine at all? If not it's no wonder that it blew up, you need to rebuild it at 90000 miles at the latest, especially with an older turbo engine. If you didn't do this you deserve to have it blow up on you. If you did then I apologize and retract my earlier comments.

1985 Chrysler Laser XE 2.2 turbo

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carDodge Rampage 2.2

Summary:

A high performance sleeper.. 'nuff said

Faults:

Nothing major.

I blew a head gasket which is perfectly normal for the early Turbos.

The clutch linkage needed to be fixed, couldn't up or downshift into second gear. Also the car won't shut off unless the door is closed, but even then it has a mind of its own. But I believe it has something to do with the broken wires in the door.

The fuel pump has gone bad.

General Comments:

I love this car!! Despite all its little faults I have been very pleased with its performance.

Parts are readily avaliable at the junk yards and there are plenty of performance parts available. I recently put a new MP computer and fuel injectors in and she now just screams when I put it into high gear. She stomps and roars and lets you know what kind of beast she is in the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2001

1985 Chrysler Laser 2.2 turbo

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Laser

Summary:

An excellent car to own and drive, and a great thing for a first time driver or any driver!

Faults:

Not many things have gone wrong. My dad owned it since it was bought and I received it when I could drive. Since I have driven it the only things that have gone wrong are the normal; brakes, headlight burning out, just the normal.

General Comments:

This car is excellent to drive. Handles quite well and other than a few minor adjustments with the minor things, it hasn't really had anything really wrong with it. I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

1984 Chrysler Laser SE 2.2 turbo

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

A fun-to-drive money pit

Faults:

Throttle body problem caused it to cough after about 4000 RPM.

Constantly occurring minor problems.

MAP sensor went bad.

Had to replace the starter.

Passenger seat broke and would not would not lock in an upright position.

Clear coat was completely gone and had a lot of rust.

Electrical nightmare (headlights and radio wouldn't work at the same time, always told me my rear washer fluid was empty, etc.)

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride and fun to drive. I felt like I was driving a race car when the turbo would kick in.

Geared high so that you could cruise at about 75mph, only revving the engine to about 2000rpm.

Very smooth ride, handles well. Very responsive.

Had to have a mechanic start it again when it ran out of gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

20th Nov 2003, 20:51

There was a recall in 1988 on the driver seat metal frame. I had to have mine welded to repair problem.

4th Jan 2005, 14:46

Sounds like the owner before you was a inexperiuenced car owner. I don't think the Chrysler would destroy their own model. How many miles are on it and did you check the firewall circuit panel or the fuse panel for the electric problems?The owner before probably just tried to rewire it when the problems occurred and decided to quit. What other problems are you having.

1984 Chrysler Laser 2.5L Electronic Fuel Injection

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L Electronic Fuel Injection Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance13875 miles

Summary:

Very quick sporty car

Faults:

It did not want to crank at first because it had been sitting in my dad's yard for five years. Also, the brakes were locked up.

General Comments:

It is a quick, sharp turning sports car. Very sporty looking, even the interior. Its 4-cylinder is not small, it is as big as a V-6. I beat a V-6 Ford Mustang recently.

Never had no problems with it since I got it working again. I would suggest this car to everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

28th Nov 2005, 22:42

I just got a 1984 Chrysler Laser and I was very impressed at its performance. I got it to 175kph on my road by my home. I couldn't believe it. I paid 300$ for it and it runs fine. Totally love this car.

1985 Chrysler Laser 2.2

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130062 miles
Most recent distance139072 miles
Previous carChevrolet Citation

Summary:

Was probably a good idea at one time...

Faults:

It started to rust from the day I got it.

It got 3 new engines put into it, and blew them all.

General Comments:

Didn't need many small new parts.

Interior looks real nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2001

10th Jan 2008, 12:17

I have a 1985 non-turbo Laser, and I love it. It's a tough little car, and beautiful.

To the person who made this post, did you push the car too hard, or have bad driving habits? It is a shame that you had to put three engines in it, but it is an old car.

18th Jan 2008, 06:08

I too love this car and it has treated me well. I`m having some mall problems with it, but wouldn`t give it up. I`m atatched to it. You should take better care of it, and maybe it would function well for you. One word to describe it IT ROCKS...

1985 Chrysler Laser EX 2.2 turbo

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carFord Escort GT

Summary:

Fun!!

Faults:

Computer problems.

General Comments:

Very nice sporty car.

Very cramped in the back seats. Otherwise a very nice car. Would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2000

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 26 reviews