1997 Chrysler Neon Reviews from North America

1997 Chrysler Neon Expresso 2.0L DOHC

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired97 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres

Summary:

Do not buy 95-98 used Neons

Faults:

Misfires in cylinder 4 at 18,000 miles, dealer mechanic could not explain.

Breaks needed replacing at 25,000 miles (75% hi-way driving)

Break system failed while driving at 35,000 miles, reason never found.

Ignition coils worn at 40,000 miles.

Engine runs very rough after start sometimes for 10 minutes, any weather conditions.

Cam gasket failure at 55,000 miles.

PCV valve failure at 55,000 miles.

Tape player does not work 60,000 miles.

Costly cylinder head gasket failure at 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

Chrysler has been no help at all to fixing these problems. They refused to determine any problems when the car was under warranty.

The car is nice to drive, which is the only good thing about it.

A scary moment in this car came when the disc brakes would not engage in city driving, forcing me to use the emergency brake to come to stops.

$1,000.00 CDN to fix defective head gasket. Chrysler refuses to cover any costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

14th Jan 2003, 17:56

Yup...100,000 KM and just today forked out $1,000 Canadian for a gasket job on a 97 Neon... this is definitely a problem for Chrysler.

29th Mar 2003, 17:28

1997 Neon is a piece of garbage. Cam seals, head gaskets, I even had a faulty radiator cap, this car is only 6 years old! Unfortunately, it is NOT Chrysler's problem, they should have recalled all of these cars because of the head gasket problem... but did not, so..it's the owner's problem. I will never buy another Chrysler product as long as I live. At every single opportunity I will let others know what a piece of garbage Chrysler's are.

4th Feb 2006, 21:41

It was love at first sight with my Neon, I basically bought it for its looks. What a BIG mistake. 1996 model and I've had nothing, but expensive, unsolvable, problems since. All power related - say cruising at 85-100kph & revs will suddenly drop to 500; often wants to stall on mild acceleration in city traffic also incipient stalling at take off - making like the Kangaroo at traffic lights! This occurs more frequently in the heat, if ambient temp greater than 25C I know to watch out. All potentially very hazardous and definitely embarrassing. Must have had every sensor replaced in the 5 years of my ownership, spent thousands of dollars!!!

It is so bad I cannot get any dealer even to make an offer for a trade-in. My mates call it the "Neo-Nazi"!

1997 Chrysler Neon SE

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

HUGE disappointment, not worth the trouble

Faults:

The second day I had the car the air went out, which they fixed at no cost.

I have replaced tires at least once each year, all four a year.

Interior is falling apart.

Presently I have an electrical problem that three different mechanics can not find.

I have replaced three new batteries just within the past two months. There is a draw somewhere, but they can't find it, therefore there is no problem?

This car is a joke!

General Comments:

I will never ever make the mistake of owning a Chrysler product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

26th Aug 2001, 05:18

Why don't you buy a car battery charger instead and recharge your battery? It costs less than a new one every time.

19th Sep 2002, 16:32

Let me see. You have done nearly 90,000 miles in 3 years & you complain about having to replace tyres once a year? I think 30,000 miles out of a set of tyres is pretty good.

3rd May 2008, 03:23

Don't judge Chrysler on one vehicle. Chrysler has built many other very reliable, hardworking and classic styled vehicles!

8th Sep 2010, 11:34

To the above comment: They may have built some good cars 30 years ago but not recently. All that they build nowadays are gas guzzling, unreliable pieces of crap!

Average review marks: 3.5 / 10, based on 2 reviews