2001 Daewoo Lanos Reviews from North America

2001 Daewoo Lanos

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

Very unreliable

Faults:

The radiator and timing belt blew within a week of each other. The catalytic converter failed the week before that.

General Comments:

This car was the worst driving experience of my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2011

16th Jun 2011, 17:59

You bought a cheap car that was nine years old and had 100K miles, and it broke down?

Unbelievable.

5th Aug 2012, 00:08

The only cars to buy at that mileage and age are:

Lincoln Town Car

Honda Accord/Civic

Toyota Corolla/Camry

30th May 2014, 05:54

Any Japanese, German or Swedish car would be in excellent condition at that age, as long as it had been serviced.

I've driven Volvo 240s with over 300,000 miles that had no problems.

8th Jul 2014, 09:46

A car should still work perfectly with 100,000Km on the clock.

One of my friends had a 1990 Toyota Celica GT4 for 21 years. It was still like new when she sold it with over 300,000Km on the odometer.

8th Jul 2014, 15:08

MILES not kilometers, & these days ANY decent vehicle that has been serviced & cared for reasonably well should easily reach 100,000 miles & beyond.

I sold my 1995 Jeep Wrangler Sport with over 140,000 miles on the clock three years ago, and it looked & ran like new, didn't leak or burn any oil. Of course it was equipped with the bulletproof 4.0 liter inline six. However having been in the car business for nearly 40 years, we saw many cars with well over 100,000 miles come in that looked & ran flawlessly.

With advances in technology, 100,000 miles isn't the benchmark anymore, it's more like 40,000 or 50,000 miles in the old days when I started driving.

8th Jul 2014, 19:59

"A car should still work perfectly with 100,000Km on the clock."

Well, one should hope so -- that's barely more than 62,000 MILES.

2001 Daewoo Lanos Hatchback 4 cylinder DOHC

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance487018 miles

Summary:

This car is EPIC!!!

Faults:

Radiator replaced (accident).

O ring replaced (same accident).

General Comments:

This car is my baby and I love it to death.

Aside from the radiator and O ring due to an accident, this car has not busted after 400,000 miles, holy crap right?

The interior is a bit uninteresting, but it's got good acceleration and handles like a dream.

Brakes are a bit "eh", but good enough. It doesn't like wet roads or snow, and it's a bit bumpier than most, but all those things aside, this car is small nimble and packs more of a punch than what you would expect.

This car will definitely be my first project car. If you're short on cash and need a car, find one of these, BUY ONE!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2010

2nd Jan 2011, 14:47

Amazing with such kms reading on the odo... I have seen a few Lanos in the Brampton area... They looked awesome... wanted to buy one... wish I could own it... all the best with your Daewoo Lanos.

30th Nov 2011, 09:07

I'm sorry, but I don't believe any Daewoo car got 400,000 miles. They were junk, all three of them.

30th Dec 2013, 18:23

Daewooo has imported more than three models to the US, just under different names. Early-90's Pontiac LeMans, Ford Aspire, Chevy Aveo, Suzuki Reno, etc. Sure, none of these are luxury models or as well-built as a Honda, but I'm sure there's plenty out there with hundreds of thousands of miles; you just need to take care of your car, no matter who made it.

31st Dec 2013, 16:33

The Ford Aspire was not a Daewoo, but a Kia.

1st Jan 2014, 16:55

"all three of them" is referring to the 3 models Daewoo sold during their brief (1999-2002) US market presence: Lanos, Nubira and Leganza. I once owned a Daewoo Lanos, and while it was an alright car, I don't see one making it to 400K miles, either.

2001 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6L

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance40170 miles

Summary:

Most reliable car ever made, never getting rid of it!

Faults:

Brakes needed replacing in October 2001.

Brakes needed replacing in October 2002.

Brakes needed replacing in October 2003.

Brakes needed replacing in September 2009.

New front tyres in 2004 due to picking up nails in the tyres.

Replaced ventilation control cable in September 2009.

New battery in August 2008.

General Comments:

Car has perfect handling.

Decent speed for everyday stop-and-go traffic.

Doesn't handle well in snow, but is able to maintain control.

Seats are uncomfortable when driving and sitting in it for long periods of time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2010

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews