2001 Daewoo Lanos Reviews from North America

2001 Daewoo Lanos

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

Very unreliable

Faults:

The radiator and timing belt blew within a week of each other. The catalytic converter failed the week before that.

General Comments:

This car was the worst driving experience of my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2011

16th Jun 2011, 17:59

You bought a cheap car that was nine years old and had 100K miles, and it broke down?

Unbelievable.

5th Aug 2012, 00:08

The only cars to buy at that mileage and age are:

Lincoln Town Car

Honda Accord/Civic

Toyota Corolla/Camry

2001 Daewoo Lanos Hatchback 4 cylinder DOHC

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance487018 miles

Summary:

This car is EPIC!!!

Faults:

Radiator replaced (accident).

O ring replaced (same accident).

General Comments:

This car is my baby and I love it to death.

Aside from the radiator and O ring due to an accident, this car has not busted after 400,000 miles, holy crap right?

The interior is a bit uninteresting, but it's got good acceleration and handles like a dream.

Brakes are a bit "eh", but good enough. It doesn't like wet roads or snow, and it's a bit bumpier than most, but all those things aside, this car is small nimble and packs more of a punch than what you would expect.

This car will definitely be my first project car. If you're short on cash and need a car, find one of these, BUY ONE!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2010

2nd Jan 2011, 14:47

Amazing with such kms reading on the odo... I have seen a few Lanos in the Brampton area... They looked awesome... wanted to buy one... wish I could own it... all the best with your Daewoo Lanos.

30th Nov 2011, 09:07

I'm sorry, but I don't believe any Daewoo car got 400,000 miles. They were junk, all three of them.

30th Dec 2013, 18:23

Daewooo has imported more than three models to the US, just under different names. Early-90's Pontiac LeMans, Ford Aspire, Chevy Aveo, Suzuki Reno, etc. Sure, none of these are luxury models or as well-built as a Honda, but I'm sure there's plenty out there with hundreds of thousands of miles; you just need to take care of your car, no matter who made it.

31st Dec 2013, 16:33

The Ford Aspire was not a Daewoo, but a Kia.

1st Jan 2014, 16:55

"all three of them" is referring to the 3 models Daewoo sold during their brief (1999-2002) US market presence: Lanos, Nubira and Leganza. I once owned a Daewoo Lanos, and while it was an alright car, I don't see one making it to 400K miles, either.

2001 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6L

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance40170 miles

Summary:

Most reliable car ever made, never getting rid of it!

Faults:

Brakes needed replacing in October 2001.

Brakes needed replacing in October 2002.

Brakes needed replacing in October 2003.

Brakes needed replacing in September 2009.

New front tyres in 2004 due to picking up nails in the tyres.

Replaced ventilation control cable in September 2009.

New battery in August 2008.

General Comments:

Car has perfect handling.

Decent speed for everyday stop-and-go traffic.

Doesn't handle well in snow, but is able to maintain control.

Seats are uncomfortable when driving and sitting in it for long periods of time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2010

2001 Daewoo Lanos 16v E-Tech

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 16v E-Tech Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I love my Daewoo even though it isn't working right now. HAHA!

Faults:

Some kind of 90 degree 3 or 4 inch hose attached to my engine melted wide open, and when I turned the car off, I could hear my radiator boiling.

Cheap quality seats.

Interior pieces break off, A/C heater vents, passenger sun visor.

Speakers blow quickly.

General Comments:

Cute little car with great gas mileage. Good basic transportation.

Great gas mileage, 35mpg+. Drove 400 miles in a day and only used a little under half a tank.

Doesn't shudder or shake at high speeds, even at 85 mph.

Takes turns really well and quick. Quick little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th October, 2009

2001 Daewoo Lanos

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Surprised me.. and worth each cent I paid

Faults:

Everything is running fine, as of date.

General Comments:

Car is so good to me, I am starting to worry what might go wrong in future.

I am thinking of look for changing timing belt when it crosses 50k.. though it looks based on my past driving, that it might take 2 more years.

It is a really surprise for $2500 I paid. I am not worried about look and glamour as long as I get 25 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2009

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews