1991 Daihatsu Rocky 1.6 16v

Summary:

An unheard Japanese Surprise.

Faults:

When I first got this Rocky it wasn't working I had to open the engine and see what was wrong with it. The head gasket was blown and the pistons were gone. I had to look for any used engine because a new one was impossible to find. I paid $200 dollars for this jeep and the used engine was $400. There was no service installing the used engine since me and my friend did the work ourselves. If you have a car garage get it inside because rust is a common problem. Asides that nothing serious or expensive has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This jeep is serious fun and very comfortable despite its size. The engine is a bit slow, but the thanks to its 5 speed transmission it doesn't seems that way. Considering that I only used around 600-700 dollars for it, this jeep is the best car I have ever own. Parts are quite difficult to find due to the fact that Daihatsu only sold around 18,000 back in 91' and the following year they stopped sales. I wish Daihatsu was still here in America. This jeep turns a lot of heads and it's actually a good 4x4. I have driven this jeep for around 35,000 miles on a used engine and nothing serious has gone wrong. I definitely recommend this vehicle for anyone who is a do it yourself guy/girl.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

10th Jan 2005, 20:57

First of all it is not a Jeep it is a Daihatsu, Jeep is a registered trademark of Daimler-Chrysler. Second, 18000 Daihatsu Rockies were sold in the United States ever, not just in 1991. In fact, only 295 were sold in 1991 and Daihatsu USA was forced to shut its doors.

26th Dec 2006, 18:22

Jeep is not an adjective it is a pronoun and a registered trademark of the Daimler-Chrysler company.

26th Oct 2007, 23:12

Big deal if they used the word "Jeep" to describe this car. It helped me to understand what the car is like. Haven't you ever asked for a Kleenex, or do you say "tissue" because Kleenex is a registered trademark? Gimme a break!

13th Mar 2010, 14:52

I'm Irish, and we refer to all 4x4 vehicles as Jeeps, so, whatever floats your boat I guess. Probably due to the fact that they all stem from the WW2 Willys Jeep.

20th Jan 2011, 22:16

I have owned CJs, YJs, XJs, a ZJ and a couple TJs (one of which I still have).

I just purchased a Rocky and refer to it as a "Little Jeep". Who cares that it is a trademark name?

Jeep is an easy way to describe any 4x4 that has a convertible top and short wheelbase.

1990 Daihatsu Rocky SE 1.6

Summary:

Worth the price!!!

Faults:

Air cleaner removed by the previous owner.

General Comments:

Small, but handles good.

No rustthrough, which was surprising.

Replaced front brake pads, which were cheap.

No radio or AC that works.

Got it cheap and it starts easy.

I like it and I wish there were more to choose from in the States.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

1990 Daihatsu Rocky SX 1.6 liter 4-cylinder

Summary:

Great running summer truck

Faults:

My aunt had the car before me. She had it from 100,000 miles in 1996 and she sold it to me in March of 2001. As far as I know, the only thing my aunt has had to fix was the water pump. When I first got it, I had to put in a new radiator. It leaked and overheated easily. Ever since I got the radiator in, it hasn't overheated and I've been on trips with it.

Another thing that broke was my clutch cable. It just busted when I was in my friends driveway. It didn't cost a lot to fix though.

The only other bad thing about my car is that the carpet by the pedals on the drivers side is torn and messed up. I've heard about this from other Rocky owners also. Some of the carpet in the back passenger side is messed up too.

General Comments:

Even though Daihatsu is kind of unknown, I think it's an overall great truck. I've had trailers and boats and all sorts of things hitched behind it and it does well.

It's very slow and the gears are small, but it definitely does the job.

The 4 wheel drive does OK in the mud, but it's mainly made to get out of trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

24th Feb 2010, 11:35

I have a '91 Daihatsu Rocky. People ask me about it a lot. I simply tell them it is a Suzuki Samurai on steroids. I love my little Rocky, but she needs a new transmission. Does anyone know where I can find a cheap five speed tranny for my baby?