1983 Datsun 200SX 2.2L

Summary:

Fun to drive!

Faults:

I had wheel bearings replaced, brakes done after 50K, and 4 brand new 60K Firestones put on it.

It was an awesome car and never required any major work.

The A/C was replaced right before I got it, so it was very cold and worked great.

The head gasket finally went and I traded it in.

If I could have gone back in time, I would have kept that car. It was my favorite car that I owned.

My only complaint is the cheap plastic cracked really bad on the interior. I would have had to put new seats in and replace a lot of panels if I had kept the car. The original paint was far superior than on any car made today.

I had a maroon hatchback with black louvers on the back window.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd September, 2013

3rd Sep 2013, 23:06

How does a head gasket count as "never needing any major work"???

1983 Datsun 200SX 2.2L Z22-E

Summary:

Best sporty/economical car ever

Faults:

Transmission bearings failed every 300,000kms.

Power antenna prone to failure.

Tri-ignition module under distributor cap failed at 450,000kms.

General Comments:

Very very solid car.

Engine will go forever.

Tore apart the engine for inspection at 500,000kms. Still had original hone marks and cross-hatching in the cylinder walls.

Never has let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2009

5th Apr 2010, 20:47

I bought my '83 new off the lot, and can only attest to the power antenna being stubborn some times. But then she has only 145km after 27 years. By your standards, still wet behind the ears.

AC failed about 7 years and had it repaired. Still blows cold, the cruise control solenoid failed 4 years ago, but found one in Texas and had the dealer install it.

Only sad thing is the sunburned upholstery and door panels. Anyone know where I can find a blue interior? Have some new, but need more.

1981 Datsun 200SX 2.0

Summary:

Can't seem to part with it

Faults:

Battery, tires, brakes.

General Comments:

We have had this car since day one. All bolts are still plated like new. The paint on the bottom of the car is still there.

We are replacing belts all filters, spark plugs, wires etc, struts, brake pads, rear springs, radiator, and will also do the steering joints.

This is a hatchback with power windows, in medium gray metallic/matching interior.

We lost one of the little wheel caps that goes to the aluminum spoke wheels.

The engine runs excellent. We drive it approx. 5 to 6k per year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2008

5th Jan 2008, 15:54

I would definitely hang onto your 200SX, not many of them are around and these cars have bulletproof reliability along with them being fun to drive and they get really good gas mileage, those cars sure can take a beating.

8th Jan 2008, 20:15

Well last weekend we replaced the rear springs. what a difference this makes. my next project is to change the ball joints. after that I will try and get a kit to replace the rubber fittings on the steering and tension rod system.

I am looking for a set of the plastic hubs that fit on the spoke aluminum wheels. one fell off.

12th Jan 2008, 20:28

Finished doing all the ball joints. tyrod joints. next is alignment. I search the net and can't find any of my model and style. Do I have a rare hatchback? my next project is to flush the clutch system. I recently replaced the master clutch cylinder and slave.

I am also looking for a replacement for my electric antenna.

Maybe next week I will post a photo.

1980 Datsun 200SX 2.0 I4 NAPZ motor

Summary:

The reason why imports are taking over

Faults:

I bought the car with an idler arm that needs replacement, but was able to find the part at my local auto parts store (a rebuild kit) for 15 dollars. Just had to order it because they don't stock it. I replaced a battery that was about 7 years old in it. Normal maintenance. The car has a short or something in it, because if the car isn't driven for a week, the battery gets drained and the car won't start unless jumped.

General Comments:

The best $950 that I've ever spent on a car. Runs great, I just have to take a tester to the battery, and pull out individual fuses to figure out where the power drain is coming from. That should make it easier to figure out which system is causing the drain. Other than a new battery and idler arm repair kit, I haven't had to stick much money into the car. The body on the car was somewhat rusty when I bought it, but compared to other Japanese cars of the era, the rust was very repairable and wasn't bad. The motor runs great, trans shifts smoothly, and the car has good acceleration, especially given the year, the size of the motor (only 100 horsepower from the 2 liter 4 cylinder). Very surprised that the car has electronic fuel injection, 4 wheel disc brakes, and an electronic system monitor; very advanced stuff for the time the car was made. It's light, and rear wheel drive. A great combination.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2007