1982 Datsun 280ZX Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 5

1982 Datsun 280ZX 2.8 inline 6

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles

Summary:

A classic car with a lot of maintenance

Faults:

Radiator had to be replaced.

Entire A/C system had to be rebuilt.

New fuel injectors.

New alternator.

New brakes, rotors, calipers, and brake sensors.

New distributor.

Recently had the transmission completely rebuilt.

General Comments:

The car looked good once I got done reupholstering it and getting it repainted.

However, the car was always in the shop and it was not cheap to work on. I had to do new rotors, calipers, brake sensors, and pads. I had the car out of the shop a week and the transmission let go. $2000 just for the transmission.

Including all the cosmetic work and the initial purchase cost, I am into this car for about $13,000. It's probably only worth about $4,000, maybe more.

The car wasn't very fast off the line, but it handled wonderfully in the corners.

I have owned other Nissan's though without problems, so I would buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

14th Aug 2005, 04:59

I was just wondering if you felt any slack in the drive train before your tranny blew it. Sometimes I can feel what seems to be the tranny slipping or picking up the slack in the system when I go from a complete stop. I can also hear a loud clunk from the tranny sometimes when I shift (automatic). Have you experienced either of these on your car?

1982 Datsun 280ZX 2.6 Non turbo

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 Non turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired287553 miles
Most recent distance287982 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Speed demon Gas Saver!

Faults:

The ignition Control Mod cuts out when the engine reaches normal operating tempurature.

Rust damage to the under body.

General Comments:

Very powerful light vehicle with stylish body.

Has all-out potential to be a show car.

Wouldn't trade it for anything!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2004

1982 Datsun 280ZX Turbo 2.8 I-6 turbo

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 I-6 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

AWESOME if taken care of

Faults:

Before you read anything on this review you must know that I drove this thing like it was a bat out of hell!

The body sucks. If the car wasn't very well maintained you can count on rust being your major issue.

Airflow Meter had to be replaced.

Motor had to be replaced, due to my own stupidity of racing it at full throttle at 130mph for three minutes straight.

Fuel injectors had to be replaced.

Exhaust was upgraded, but was still working fine before.

Electronic Computer Unit needed replacing ($500).

General Comments:

This car, with the original turbocharged inline six cylinder engine, was a beast.

Stock with 180hp at the rear wheels pushing little weight is pretty decent.

Never get one that's not turbocharged, you will wish you had the turbo model for hundreds of reasons.

This car runs 15's in the quarter mile stock. 0-60 in 7.2 seconds.

Inline 6 is a beast and can easily be upgraded. Very nice engine can handle about 250hp before it needs some work done to handle more. It can handle more, but the life of the motor will decrease tremendously.

Good handling.

Once again if you get one that is WELL MAINTAINED IS WORTH MORE THAN THE EXTRA MONEY, keep saving. If not you could blow thousands on fixing up all the 20 yr. old parts, rust, and maintenance, just to end up with major head aches and you will have wished you didn't buy it.

I loved this car looked very original.

I got historic tags, because it is more than 20 years old and isn't made anymore. Those tags saved my ass. NO WAY in hell all that rust on the bottom of the panels would have passed inspection.

Very fast, especially if you get the 5 speed.

Interior looks pretty cool, and is pretty roomy and comfortable.

Just remember its 20 yrs. old and so are the parts. GET ONE THAT IS WELL MAINTAINED and you'll be a very happy camper.

If you get one that has been abused and treated like crap, poorly maintained, your just going to be sorry after you get all those mechanic bills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

17th Sep 2005, 16:52

Well, car expert. Your notice that the in-line 6 used in the turbo model is the EXACT same as with the Turbo. So, basically the same takeoff, except (due to turbo lag) at around 3000rpm you get a huge boost of power. So, don't be jealous of us turbo fanatics. Just get a turbo yourself and you can get more used to looking at the side of our cars instead of the tail lights.

7th Mar 2007, 09:12

Check Black Dragon automotive, they have TONS of stuff for all datsun sport cars!

26th Mar 2007, 16:39

OK, I recently got a 1983 Datsun 280ZX 5 speed manual. But I'm not impressed with the speed, and I read in some history that the reason why it doesn't have a good acceleration, was because at the time when they made it, Nissan wanted it to be fuel efficient. How can I make it fast?

5th May 2011, 17:22

Buy a turbo 280ZX, you will love it more. I had many 280ZXs; I love my 82 280zx turbo with 10lbs boost, which is moderate...

Good luck.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews