Dodge Caliber Reviews from North America - Page 8 of 10

2007 Dodge Caliber SXT 2.0

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired241 miles
Most recent distance3800 miles
Previous carSaturn L200

Summary:

It is a terrific car

Faults:

Nothing, knock on wood.

General Comments:

This is a very good car, I love to drive it. For a first year car it is very nice to own as well as to ride and look at. It handles very well and the smoothness of the CVTII is awsome. I would buy another one for sure if I ever had, or needed to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2007

2007 Dodge Caliber R/T FWD 2.4

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance5300 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

I would buy another one tomorrow if something happen to it today

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

I have driven this vehicle approximately 5300 miles in the 3 months I have owned it. I am averaging about 27 to 28 mpg on the highway and about 22 mpg city.

I have the CVT and very pleased with it.

I have had no problems with the vehicle. I would buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2007

2007 Dodge Caliber SXT

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carToyota Solara

Summary:

I wish Dodge would take it back!

Faults:

Engine ticks like a bomb when I turn the car off.

The windows make loud scratching noises when I put them up or down.

The headlights sometimes come on and sometimes don't when I lock the car.

The fridge broke the first week I got the car.

It gets horrible gas mileage.

General Comments:

This car has bad pick up and you have to keep your foot on the gas because it slows down quick if you don't.

The seats are uncomfortable and it is a really bad car to travel in.

It is really not a good car for people who travel and the gas mileage is a joke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2007

19th Feb 2007, 13:38

I smell a Toyota-fan rat in this review. I've driven 3 Calibers. All were great cars, drive well, and reviews tend to indicate GREAT fuel mileage for most. The engine "ticking" after shut down is the exhaust system cooling. ALL cars do that. It's normal. The headlights don't go on when you lock the car with the remote if it is dark and they haven't reset. That is normal too. I've owned 3 Dodges. My last Dodge car went 240,000 miles with a total of 2 brake jobs, 2 timing belts and 1 heater hose. Chrysler builds incredibly good cars. Besides, ALL of the above mentioned complaints are blatantly obvious in a brief test drive. Why did the reviewer buy it???

2007 Dodge Caliber SXT 2.0L

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

Excellent Winter car

Faults:

Dealer corrected previous issues:

- wind noise attributed to vent visor.

- Disfomed cushion -driver seat.

(Dealership is outstanding -Davidson)

General Comments:

Car is an excellent winter car. We had a snow storm in Toronto, Ontario recently. The car plowed through the snow with ease and comfort. The car does not fish tail too much and feels safe in icy conditions. Caliber is an entry level car, but seems to hold its own in adverse conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2007

31st Aug 2007, 07:28

Hey, I live in Toronto to!

My dads planning on trading in his 04 Chevrolet impala for a caliber. and from your comments I can see very positive things, especially with here in Toronto being a very cold place with long winters.

31st Jul 2010, 21:30

Kingston ON. Caliber is a good car, especially for the small amount of money. I don't know how they made it so solid on the highway. Have not driven in snow yet, but it is just great in the rain.

Looking forward too many long years of service. Used to swear by Honda for 25 years, but this car is too much of a bargain to pass up. And, Honda is a trifle too much.

29th Dec 2010, 14:53

The Caliber is plagued with far too many problems. I've done research on this car, and found that it's overwhelmingly hated by most people. I live in Edmonton, Alberta. It gets bitterly cold here, and we get lots of snow here, too. I couldn't get my Toyota Echo off of our street for six days after a recent heavy snowfall.

I don't see how the Caliber could be better in extreme winter conditions, unless it has all wheel drive. That option was dropped over a year ago. Practically all cars got stuck. The only vehicles that plowed through were large pickups. I'm sure they had four wheel drive.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 28 reviews