1994 Dodge Caravan Reviews from North America - Page 5 of 5

1994 Dodge Caravan 3.0 Litre

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Dependable, basic

Faults:

Had to replace head gasket due to neglect on my part (over heated).

Knocking noise on start in front right end. No one knows what it is.

Transmission starting to slip. (200K)

Air conditioning not working well.

General Comments:

Very reliable. Great in snow compared to my Toyota. NO RUST. (9 yrs old).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

1994 Dodge Caravan Base 2.4 4 cylinder.

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45500 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A really good strong mini-van.

Faults:

My 1994 Dodge Caravan Base has had only a few problems which were minor such as my rear windshield wiper motor went at 105,000 miles, and one head gasket went at 135,000.

General Comments:

My Caravan has not had any transmition problems since it was new. I am the 2nd owner and my mom was the first and the only reason, I have it is because she wanted a new one. The 4 cylinder is a little under powered, but its still strong at 195,000. The seats are very comfortable especially during long trips. It has went to Georgia 6 times, from N.Y. without any problems at 85 MPH packed full of cargo, I have no complaints about this wonderful mini-van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2002

1994 Dodge Caravan ES 3.3L gas

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3L gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired160 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

I'd rather drive my Eagle Talon

Faults:

Recall on the driver's side airbag.

Recall on the third seat latch.

Brakes shot every 6-8 months.

Transmission slippage just starting to happen now.

General Comments:

The van has been a great ride.

Lots of room to cart around all the people who call me to transport something for them.

We got our van in fire-engine red, so it really stands out.

This vehicle looks a lot better than the new Caravans, as the new Caravans look like they are one large jumbled up mess of plastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

1994 Dodge Caravan 3.0

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

So far the car has been worth the money I paid for it

Faults:

I had to replace the rear windshield wiper motor. This was covered by the warranty from the dealer I bought the car from.

Replaced exhaust gas recirculating valve solenoid and connector, the terminals corroded and fell off causing a vacuum leak that stalled the car when stopping.

Replaced leaking valve cover gasket.

General Comments:

The only concern I now have is that the plastic headlight casings are turning yellow causing reduced light output. The plastic lens is deteriating due to the ultra-violet rays from the sun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

21st Feb 2004, 12:15

I have heard that the old minivans are built better than the new ones. Is that true by your standards?

1994 Dodge Caravan

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

I'm told it's bad, bad, bad vehicle

Faults:

I was just about to buy a one.

General Comments:

Thank you all so much for saving me the heartbreak of buying a Dodge Caravan! Although I knew that the older models had transmission problems (a friend told me firsthand), I was under the impression that the the problems had been corrected on the models from 1994 - present. Boy was I wrong, after doing a lot of research online I now know that buying a Caravan, or Voyager would be a major mistake! Thank you all and God Bless the Internet!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

23rd Apr 2001, 21:37

I have 144,000 miles and the trany has not missed a beat.

7th May 2001, 22:39

Indeed. Mine is also a 1994 Grand Caravan and we haven't had any problems with the tranny. Thank God! I have a challenged daughter and we need everything we have.

Sorry to those who have had problems...

14th May 2001, 10:28

I purchased my 95 Grand Caravan in 99. four months after my purchase I spent over 400.00 in brake work. The following month I spent over 2,000.00 to install a new transmission, then not even one month later my drums and cylinders went out costing me another 400.00,six months later $200.00 on tie rods, lug studs broke$100.00.The car went for almost a year with no problems then, the biggie $987.00 on an a/c compressor, now $500.00 on fuel pump.

1994 Dodge Caravan SE 3.0 V-6 gas

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V-6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance91420 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

I wish it didn't have the transmission problem!

Faults:

Had to replace a left front wheel bearing and inner CV boot.

Replaced an oxgyen sensor.

Water pump replaced (maintenance).

Timing adjusted (also maintenance).

Air conditioner fixed.

Overhauled transmission (the famous caravan transmission ordeal :( )

Replaced sway bar bushings.

Needed a purge solenoid replaced, but we declined.

And finally the gas pump was replaced.

All of these repairs were done by the Dodge dealer of Independence.

General Comments:

I love this van (we still have it). The only reason I am posting this is to hopefully let some people know about the REAL defect in the Caravan transmissions! My transmission started to down shift when taking off, this just began happening one week ago. And instead of fighting with the Dodge dealership, my husband and I have decided to go with a Honda. I LOVE this van and find it very depressing to learn that even the new Caravans have this tranny problem. If the dealership would actually fix my tranny (as in we don't have to get it replaced every 9 months) I would do it! I LOVE MY CARAVAN, but unfortunately I don't love the defect! :(

I would also like to mention that this little green van has spoiled me, all I want now is another Caravan, and I know this is not possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th November, 2000

20th Jan 2002, 16:19

I agree 100% with the reviewer.

We also have a 1994 Dodge Grand Caravan AWD. We love the car, it drives perfectly, it is so comfortable, the ergonomics and features are fantastic. HOWEVER, the (in) famous transmission problem will never get me to purchase another. Ours simply died at 95,000 miles, there was no talk of repair, just a flat-out replacement, at $3300!!! Yes, can you believe that? So the reviewer is correct, you get a taste of perfection with this car, but the sting of these endless transmission problems (which you can read about all over the Internet) will make this my one and only Caravan.

1994 Dodge Caravan ES 3.3 V6

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10

Faults:

Rear quarter power windows will not work in hot weather.

Broken intake manifold bolt. Fixed under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

2nd Apr 2001, 19:52

I am Venezuelan too... we had a 1994 Voyager mini van (the Plymouth version of the Caravan).. It was a nightmare. Only 2 months after having bought it brand new from an US dealer, it began to give us a lot of engine problems. It use to shut off unexpectedly in the freeway. Dealer never could solve the problem. We also had water-pump problems by the 8th month and had to be replaced. In less than a year the A/C stopped. Had to replace brakes every 6 months... It was my wife's car. She only use it to take /pick the children up from the school... When we sold this junk, it was 25.000 miles only. I highly recommend you to take the change and get rid off of it ASAP.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 20 reviews