1964 Dodge Dart Reviews from North America

1964 Dodge Dart GT 225 cu. in. slant six

Model year1964
Year of manufacture1964
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 225 cu. in. slant six Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carDodge Magnum

Summary:

Rock solid and dependable even after 47 years!

Faults:

Very little. I had the carburetor rebuilt, ignition upgraded to electronic. Only needed routine maintenance and new brake pads.

General Comments:

I was fortunate to find a spotless Dart GT from Wyoming. The underside was as clean as a whistle, as was the body. The interior was original and worn, but comfortable. And who wouldn't love the push-button Torque-Flite transmission?

The previous owner had put headers, dual exhaust and some American Outlaw II rims. It was a great looking and sounding car. The slant six performed without fail, and still pulled down 18 MPG in almost 90 percent city driving.

If you get one, you will want to make sure you do a disk brake conversion (AAJ Brakes and Scarebird offer reasonably priced kits) and add a dual-circuit master cylinder. The stock drums simply weren't adequate for daily driving.

I loved the grille -- it looked like an electric razor head! While I wouldn't drive a car of this vintage without the brake upgrades, good radials and a three-point seat belt retrofit, it was a remarkably strong and solid car for 47 years of age!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2013

28th Mar 2013, 07:52

Makes one wonder why you only kept it for a year?

29th Mar 2013, 06:59

I use to get notes under my windshields wanting to buy many of my cars at a big profit. I kept quite a few less than a year. We are talking 60-70s Chevrolets prior to 73 models. It's called flipping!

17th Jun 2013, 12:09

Had a 64 Dart GT... loved it. 273 with 4 speed, bucket seats.

1964 Dodge Dart GT 273 V8

Model year1964
Year of manufacture1964
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 273 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

It's Mopar or no car!!

Faults:

No problems since I have owned it.

General Comments:

The car was untouched when I bought it. All the parts were there, so it made an easy car to restore.

We drove it for 1 year to make sure it was in decent mechanical shape. Put 3,000 miles on it, and the car seemed to run better each time we took it out.

Spent 1 year restoring; minor body work, new interior, new paint, and tires. Motor is still untouched and runs strong. 2 barrel 273 -- 180 HP, push button auto.

Can't say enough about this car. Very reliable... A definite head turner at the cruise-ins, and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2013

1964 Dodge Dart 440 225 2-V

Year of manufacture1964
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1988
Engine and transmission 225 2-V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Dependability and simplicity

Faults:

The catch for the driver's seat failed, so the seat would flop into the back seat.

The shift linkage or gears in the manual transmission became worn, so would stay stuck in gear.

The Slant 6 engine threw a rod.

General Comments:

This car was great right up until the time the oil seal failed and the engine threw a rod.

There had been no mechanical problems, and no repairs required.

The simple design was great, leaving nothing to go wrong.

The car was extremely easy to start, and always started on the first turn regardless of weather.

I wish that I still had this car. It looked cool, was fun to drive, and easy to work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

27th Nov 2003, 23:59

I never heard of a 1964 440 dart. They made 170, 270, wagon, and GT models.

10th Dec 2003, 13:19

The 440 was not a Dart, it was the middle model of the medium sized Dodge line, above the 330 and below the Polara. The big Dodge was the 880/Custom 880. Perhaps the review writer was unaware that Dodge did make something besides Darts in 1964.

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews