2008 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3

Summary:

Mediocre at best, and ours smells like a lemon

Faults:

Front brakes replaced 3x in 65000 km, rear brakes done at 40000 km, including new calipers.

Interior squeaks and rattles are the worst of any vehicle I've ever had. Every bump, every time the body flexes or twists even slightly, there is a squeak.

Plastic seat backs on rear seats have all broken off from sliding cargo into the back when the rear seats are stowed.

Stow and go middle and rear seats are not comfortable for anyone except small children.

General Comments:

The ride is very nice and smooth.

Lots of cargo room.

Decent fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2012

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT 6

Summary:

Piece of garbage!

Faults:

Struts replaced.

Both sliding door electronics replaced twice.

Brakes.

Air conditioner failed.

CV seals.

Airbag sensor.

General Comments:

Very disappointed with this car.

Stow and Go is great, but I have had it in the shop too many times for a car with only 14,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th April, 2009

5th May 2009, 14:03

Sounds funny to me,are you driving off road? Caravan's have always been the best. It would be a shame if they were that bad now. By the way, the struts are not Chrysler, they are made for Chrysler by Munroe, Gabriel or another contract.

24th Dec 2009, 22:13

The USA makes great trucks, and the F150 matches the Japanese on reliability. All are heavier duty than their Japanese counterparts. But as for minivans, Ford and GM pulled out, as they wisely decided on completely new concepts. But Chrysler is seriously lagging the competition. Chrysler (voyager/caravan) should have led the way, but kept on building suspect transmissions, such as the 41te/ a604, and not improving on their design weaknesses. They did not listen to the consumer. Hence Chrysler is all but washed up.

The best minivan ever was the Toyota Previa, it was quirky but well engineered. Above all it is super reliable, and has a very robust trans/ engine combination. Modern Siennas and Odysseys are good, but the Odyssey had serious transmission flaws too.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT 3.8-Liter V6 OHV Engine

Summary:

Nice big, comfortable ride!

Faults:

Nothing! I don't like where the spare is located. Underneath the middle of the van, like up in between the driver and passenger. Kinda awkward.

General Comments:

Nice van for my family. Rides great. @$2 a gal expect to pay about 410 every 100 miles for gas. Not too bad considering how big this van is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2009

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan SE, Sto & Go 3.3

Summary:

Great van for the money!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This is our 2nd Grand Caravan. Got good service out of the first one (a 2000). Over 350k and still going strong. Wife put her foot down and said it was time for a new one.

I had tried 2008 Toyota Van for 2 weeks last winter when we went to California on vacation. Great van, a real rocket sled. About the only thing I didn't like about it was the shiny plastic on the interior.

I guess the main reason I went with Dodge again was price. The new (to me) van has been great so far. The layout of the interior is nice with lots of storage bins. It is comfortable and drives very smooth and quiet on the highway. The 3.3 engine carries the van loaded (2 adults,4 kids)&2 large dogs at highway speeds no problem and is good on fuel. Van is loaded except for the power sliding doors/lift-gate.

Bought this van for $19,500 taxes in. For a Toyota, Honda or Nissan with the same options would have been well over $30,000.

This has been a great van so far, no complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2009

7th Feb 2010, 00:03

Update from about a year ago... Van has been great, no problems whatsoever, oil changes and gas... just get in er and go!!

27th Oct 2010, 16:56

I too enjoy having my Grand Caravan! It's been great, hope all keeps going well with your van! The sliding doors are a life-saver, especially with a baby!

I'm glad you enjoy your GC!