Dodge Monaco Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 3

1965 Dodge Monaco limited 2dr. hard top 383

Model year1965
Year of manufacture1964
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 383 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance160050 miles

Summary:

Very good, rare classic car

Faults:

The battery keeps dying, must be an open circuit somewhere, but I haven't found it yet.

The restoration of this car will start in the summer of 2005.

General Comments:

Drives great and has lots of low end torque. The car does very well on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

11th Jan 2005, 12:08

If it's a '64, it's rare, all right, because Dodge did not introduce the Monaco until 1965, as a luxury coupe model of the Polara.

5th Dec 2011, 21:41

It was manufactured in '64 as a '65 model. The '12s are selling right now, and it's only 2011.

6th Dec 2011, 18:22

Yes, and those new cars being built now in 2011 are considered to be 2012's, just like, oh a Dodge Monaco, even one that was BUILT in 1964, would still be considered to be a 1965 model, not a 1964.

But hey, thanks for proving my point!

1977 Dodge Monaco Brougham 318

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99855 miles
Most recent distance105295 miles
Previous carChevrolet Metro

Summary:

For a buck, who could ask for anything more?

Faults:

I bought the car for a buck, so I have no room to complain, but here goes:

Starter went out.

Gas gague is broken.

Speedometer buzzes and jumps.

General Comments:

This car has a ton of room, both in the cabin and the trunk. The cabin is all original and exceedingly comfy; beware of falling asleep.

The engine has great pickup once it gets warm, and is well worth the few minutes wait.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2004

3rd Mar 2005, 09:02

I have the same car and the same comments except my speedometer doesn't make that sound I need a new gas gage myself, but it's hard to find so I use a rope I'm a bit upset that I spent a bit more than a dollar on it, but I'm not disappointed. it is a gas sucking beast, but it is beautiful. I think I might name it Elizabeth Taylor or Anna Nicole, maybe Anna because it's so big or Monica. -oh does anyone have the cobrahead with the read eyes on their door lock?

25th Jan 2006, 05:19

Was my first car, loved it a lot looking to buy. Anyone want to sell??

21st May 2006, 19:37

Also want to buy a 440 special if anybody has..

Muebermuth@yahoo.com.

18th Oct 2006, 12:39

I have a 1977 dodge monaco that I may sell. has a 360 police intercepter so they say, but I just bought it so I haven't had a chance to check into it. 55,000 original miles, original paint, original wheels, interior mint, one ding in the front left fender. make an offer.

1976 Dodge Monaco Police special 400 4 barrel P-code

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 400 4 barrel P-code Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance226000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

A big, gas-sucking beast that's an interesting, head-turning cruiser

Faults:

Over the ten years I've had it, just about everything (probably because it was badly neglected by the previous owners).

Most frustrating was maintaining the 4-barrel Carter Thermo-Quad carburetor (now replaced with a new Carter AFB).

Typical Dodge B-body rust (cowl below windshield, fenders/panels behind front and rear wheels).

General Comments:

It's built like a tank, especially since it was a police car.

Despite its age, the paint and interior have held up pretty well (up until the last couple of years that is; the Texas sun is just too brutal).

I still get "blues mobile" shouts from other drivers, which gives me a warm fuzzy. Then I step on the gas, light up the tires (highway gear ratio means it's easier if they're wet), and watch my gas guage plummet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

21st May 2006, 19:35

Hi I like this police 1974 dodge, if you ever sell her let me know

Kind regards.

Martin.

Muebermuth@yahoo.com.

1978 Dodge Monaco Brougham 318

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 miles
Most recent distance301500 miles
Previous carDodge Monaco

Summary:

A chromed-out boat

Faults:

The turn signal lever has broken off.

The brake lights don't work.

The car smokes badly when first started.

The water pump recently broke.

The alternator was replaced a few years ago by my parents.

The vinyl top ripped and tore off.

The drivers side outer door handle broke off.

The muffler cracked and had to be replaced.

The suspension is badly worn and thusly the tires wear very quickly.

The outer sheet metal is more dented than straight.

The dash is cracked badly cracked.

The yellow paint faded to a pale, banana color.

General Comments:

Despite all of the above listed problems, I am actually very fond of this car.

The only reason why this car has been deteriorating lately is that my family has been the owner of this car since the eighties in which time it has been driven daily without annual maintenance.

Like many big Dodges this car has very comfortable seats.

The car does not have very good gas mileage, however, due to the cars age.

The car has exceptionally good pick-up.

The brakes work well, but that is because I just replaced the pads.

The car starts right up every day, it starts actually better (when nothing is broken) than many of my friends brand new cars.

This is my first car, if I buy another car it will be a Dodge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 9 reviews