1989 Dodge Omni Reviews from North America

1989 Dodge Omni

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

A beast of a car!

Faults:

The roof fabric was tore off when I got it.

Had to replace the timing belt, only time it broke down.

Had to flush out the heater, still does not work too well.

Transmission could use some work, a little quirky.

General Comments:

Can take a hit!

Gets you from A to B.

Smoother ride if you don't slow down over speed bumps.

Can turn on a dime, no three point turns for me.

Almost old enough for Historic tags!

Drives well in the snow.

Doors get stuck some times, have to lift them up to get out of the car.

Great on gas!

Lots of room and seats last for ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2007

4th Mar 2007, 17:34

I had a Horizon which is the twin to the Omni and it too was a beast I put that car through hell and it just kept going and going. I think it had around 268,000 miles on it when I blew the head gasket.

27th Aug 2007, 23:53

I had an Omni in high school, and agree with the beast assessment.

The only thing good about the car was the brakes. It was so small that it could stop at a moment's notice.

1989 Dodge Omni 2.2 liter

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance318221 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

A wonderful bargain

Faults:

I have never had problems with this car. Just regular maintenance. i.e. tune up, oil change, etc.

General Comments:

This car is the second Dodge Omni I have owned.

The car handles exceptionally well in the snow.

Excellent fuel mileage.

I still can't get over how many people have asked how many miles this car has on it. The usually mention Dodge Omni's run forever.

I cannot understand why Dodge stopped making these cars. They are a hybrid between a tank and a rabbit.

Built to last, yet, quick response.

They are the ideal vehicle for people who do not like to spend money on repairs and don't like to work on vehicles themselves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2003

23rd Nov 2004, 10:36

I owned a 1989 Omni America, dk grey on grey, fuel injection & 5 speed. I loved it; it was my 1st car, and I got it with 158k on it. Had to put some $ into it as it had sat for a few years not running, but it was quick, reliable, and got great mileage. I owned it for 3 years, and sold it for $500 with a little over 200k. Only reason I got rid of it was the engine was losing compression, and I just couldn't fix it at the time. I still wish I had that car after owning some of the crap I have since...

31st Aug 2005, 14:26

I loved my '89 Omni! I got it with 68,000 miles or so in 1994 and I more than doubled the mileage in about 5 years. It was great in the snow and only had a few rather silly problems. The only somewhat major item was the paint began to disappear. (I've seen lots of Omni's with this problem). I eventually gave it away to a girl visiting the country for a few months. When she was done with it, a family member of hers used it go off-roading and the front axle broke. I'm not sure what has happen to it since. Great car! I still see them on the roads now and then.

18th Oct 2005, 19:57

I own a 1989 dodge omni and I have to agree. It is a very nice car. I've had it for about 5 years now and its still going strong. It actually has 240K miles on it now.

1989 Dodge Omni 2.2 gasoline

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired370000 miles
Most recent distance378000 miles

Summary:

Excellent low-cost 1st or 2nd car

Faults:

The shift linkage has come loose at least three times, resulting in loss of drive in all but one gear, and finally simply broke.

Power steering leaks and requires filling at least once a week.

Horn button sticks.

Manually operated front windows are very hard to raise and lower; driver's side window linkage has broken and will not operate glass correctly.

General Comments:

Drives extremely well, power steering and brakes offer enough resistance to give driver a sense of control over vehicle.

Fairly good gas mileage; approx. 320 miles to 15 gallons.

Front seats are awkward to adjust.

Interior heating and air controls, located under and to the left of the steering column, are awkward to access during driving.

Surprisingly roomy inside, comfortable to drive--I'm 6'3.

Interior lacks good lighting; the model I have has one interior light mounted over the rear view mirror. Gloomy at night!

It's, well, kind of homely. But it performs excellently and does its job reliably; I commuted 40+ miles in it almost every day for half a semester with no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews