1993 Dodge Stealth Reviews from North America

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired181000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Computer chip was bad when purchased, cylinder misfire. Previous owner replaced plugs, wires, ignition coil, trying to find misfire. Dealer found it in about 10 minutes.

Replaced front valve cover gasket; leaking bad.

Lost power steering when I was storing the car for winter. Typical rack line leak. My next project.

General Comments:

Love this car. Fun to drive, and it's seriously quick.

I'm tall, but the car is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2014

8th May 2014, 21:08

Of course I have a power steering leak; I just bought 93 Stealth ES. I ordered a power steering pressure hose; now there's only 4 left in the U.S. listed. I now need O-rings for the fitting that screws into the power steering pump. These are specialty O-rings. Where do I get these from? No place in Michigan or the U.S. has, or makes them, none at the dealerships. Help? tjay442@yahoo.com

1993 Dodge Stealth Base 3.0L SOHC

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.0L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired218000 miles
Most recent distance238000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good car. Many reliable and fun miles!

Faults:

Window regulators break (common problem).

Engine blew up and warped heads.

Rear wiper issues (switch).

Peeling clearcoat (probably lousy prior body work).

General Comments:

Got the car used in good condition, well maintained with good documentation. The engine overheated and had to be replaced shortly after we got it. Replaced with a Jasper. Still runs well, developing a leak in the power steering rack (expected with over 200k). No tranny problems ever.

Only complaint is that some parts are hard to find or overly expensive for what they are (window regulators are getting to be hard to find everywhere). Some exhaust pieces seemed overpriced as well.

Even the SOHC engine torque steers pretty hard, can't imagine what the DOHC is like.

I find the driver's space uncomfortable, not sure what it is about it, but I have never liked it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2012

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0L V6

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles

Summary:

Fast, fun, reliable

Faults:

Minor problems such as power windows and rear wipers have started slipping.

I also had to get a fix on the idle speed control motor last year.

General Comments:

The car still runs great, and was a steal for me.

Would highly recommend getting one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2010

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 DOHC

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Sporty, quick, comfortable and fun to drive

Faults:

Transmission replaced under warranty 1,500 miles

Front struts, ball joints and lower arms replaced 5,000 miles under warranty.

Clutch master cylinder replaced at 32,000 miles

Steering unit went out at 79,000 miles.

Radiator and upper and lower hoses at 89,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car is very quick but too much power for very quick acceleration.

Original Gatorback tires were for dry pavement only.

Add 10 - 15 feet when stopping on wet pavement.

On dry pavement almost stops on a dime

The front seats are very comfortable but the back seats are of not much use for passengers.

Gas mileage is pretty good when driving normal. 16 - 20 MPG

Has hydrolic steering like Mercedes-Benz. Very quick but if you loose the fluid you loose your steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2008

1993 Dodge Stealth RT V6 Non turbo

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Non turbo Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Even with the new car bug, I can't give her up! A joy to drive and turns heads -- even just stock!

Faults:

Blew one fuel injector when brand-spanking new, and lost 4th gear and the OD override button at about 130000 miles. Both were easily fixed (one under warranty and the other about $400 just a few months ago). Other than that, nothing MAJOR. Little fussy things like switches getting loose or coming off, but nothing to do with actual performance.

General Comments:

I get random offers to buy it all the time. People can't believe how old it is and how good it looks. I don't even keep it in a garage (carport yes, but only covered on top). She's a real princess of a car -- ages well!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2005

1993 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 Non-turbo

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44011 miles
Most recent distance45550 miles
Previous carSubaru GL

Summary:

Sweet body styling inside and out

Faults:

Automatic transmission recently shift erratically when coming to a stop and sluggish when starting off from a stop.

Driver side power window intermittently stops about two inches short of going all the way down.

Hoping the transmission is having a relay or electronic problem. Any and all thoughts concerning these problem would be greatly appreciated.

I also noticed the metal to metal sound when applying brakes from time to time.

Upon initial start up, I can hear a quite ticking noise from inside the driver door. It lasts for about 40 seconds and stops until you start up the engine again.

General Comments:

The car is quick considering it weight and handles very well particularly in tight turns.

Interior and exterior are in show-room condition due to being garaged all of it's life. Never even driven on a wet road.

Vehicle assembled in Japan so I believe it will be a reliable car. The transmission problems are probably due to sitting up for two years following the passing of previous owner.

Beautifully designed body. Real head turner.

Outstanding acceleration from 60 mph to 100 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th November, 2005

21st Aug 2006, 12:10

You might try doing a transmission filter and fluid change, if its not been done. not terribly complex or expensive.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews