Dodge SX 2.0 Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 6

2005 Dodge SX 2.0 Sport 2.0

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance25500 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

Great value compared to non-domestic models

Faults:

There have been no faults with this car. Not terribly good on ice and snow compared to the T&C AWD, but better than the Sunfire.

General Comments:

The car operates well; good handling, acceleration and braking. I've had no complaints with the car mechanically and I've very happy with the operating costs of the car. It routinely achieves 5.5litres/100km on the highway and about 6.5 litres/100km in the city. The savings in fuel over the T&C Van represents about 60% of the monthly payment costs! I have no problems with merging into traffic; it is quick, safe and responsive. The interior quality is high and with 25K on the car, I've not experienced any indication of impending doom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2006

28th Mar 2008, 16:58

Probaly because whom ever owned it prior drove the heck out of it.

2005 Dodge SX 2.0 Base 2.0L 16v SOHC

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres

Summary:

The best compact car for the money, hands down

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car as of yet!

General Comments:

I have been very satisfied with this vehicle. It runs and drives excellent.

The car gets great gas mileage and is still very peppy.

The interior is very well manufactured with tight fits and is easy to maintain.

The car has a great look and I am constantly getting approving looks and words from others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2005

30th Apr 2010, 17:18

Good review. I've owned my SX for almost 2 years now (bought mine in 2009 used) and it's been the best car I've ever driven.

2004 Dodge SX 2.0

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42 kilometres
Most recent distance700 kilometres
Previous carNissan Serena

Summary:

A good small car worth of any of your cent

Faults:

Nothing happens yet.

General Comments:

The small yellow car is very comfortable having every handle/spot conveniently located within your reach and equipped with power-everything.

Looks very nice from any direction. The front view is even fabulous!

The light is bright.

A good gas saver! It runs 8.4L per hundred KM (mostly local), and seemingly it's dropping down (saving more).

The air-conditioner is icy! My son loves it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

2003 Dodge SX 2.0 2.0L

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Distance when acquired70000 miles

Faults:

We just bought a 2003 Dodge SX 2.0 it has 70000 km on her. The problem where having is the engine light. It keeps coming on between 2-3 weeks. The only way I can get rid of the light is to disconnect the battery. Other than the beats squealing in the mornings the car runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

1st Oct 2006, 14:17

That squealing beast is probably just a small belt that needs replacing soon.

31st Oct 2006, 19:16

I had the same problem with the engine light coming on. It had a recall on the cam sensor valve, after that I have had no problem at all, It's a great car and runs great!!

15th Dec 2006, 14:44

Hi, you know the engine light coming on, well, I have a Neon and its because you have to click the gas cap 3-4 times because they are very touchy. It's a sensor that knows if you didn't click it 3-4 times, it will put the engine light on.

Russ.

3rd Mar 2009, 20:14

My belt (s) squealed as well, especially when I used the rear-defrost. I had them changed after 100,000 kilometers, but they still squealed. It turned out that the bolt (for the pulley) on my alternator was just a tiny bit loose - a 1/4 turn with the wrench and the belts haven't squealed since!

17th Jun 2010, 18:28

My belt squeals when I turn my heater on for defrosting the front windows, and I also have problems with my brakes squealing when I brake. I was told this was normal for these cars. Yeah right.

2004 Dodge SX 2.0 2.0L

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance19500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Good gas mileage not worth the engine trouble

Faults:

Rough idling and stalling or car wouldn't start.

Spark plugs and plug wires replaced at 5000 kms (1st oil change)

Plug wires replaced again at 10000 kms (2nd oil change)

Computer was re-programmed in response to my complaints and a Technical Service Bulletin from the dealer.

General Comments:

Interior is OK.

Controls are within reach of driver and gages easy to read.

Headlights are nice and bright.

Handling is good even with standard 14" tires.

The standard shifter has a long throw and you really have to get the movements right on the tree, especially going into 3rd.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

2003 Dodge SX 2.0 Sport 2l

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2l Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Most recent distance24371 kilometres

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car. Only my own fault of hitting a pole. Its expensive to replace the side mirrors.

Seats have managed to keep clean despite all the dog transporting. The seats are easily wiped down if dirty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2003

2004 Dodge SX 2.0 Base 2.0L

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55 kilometres
Most recent distance325 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Economical, sporty, won't break the bank!

Faults:

Nothing as of yet.

General Comments:

I love this car. It has the handling of an early model Neon with the comfort and luxury of a higher end Chrysler. It's a sporty, affordable little car. It includes such standard features as:

-Fog lights

-Air Conditioning

-AM/FM CD Player

-Low-back bucket seats (VERY comfortable!)

-White gauge faces with a standard tachometer

-Much more!

The cabin is ergonomically designed and everything is easily within reach.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2003

28th Jul 2004, 19:45

I just purchased my 2004 SX yesterday after a long and exhaustive search... This little car is so comfortable! In fact, that was the deciding factor in my purchase. There are definitely cheaper, more well equiped cars out there... for example the Chevy Optra, but the SX is by far the more comfortable, well put together of the herd.

I wish I could say I enjoyed the purchasing experience as much as I enjoy my new car however. I will leave it at this... I thought the days of the snake oil salesman, and sleazy tactics we're long gone... apparently Dodge hasn't heard the news. I am livid over my buying experience!

That being said... even though I am extremely unimpressed with my Dodge dealer, I am very happy with my SX and can't wait to have fun hot rodding her a little bit.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 23 reviews