1977 Dodge Van Reviews from North America

1977 Dodge Van Tradesman 200 gas

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

This van is excellent

Faults:

Tie rods, needed front end alignment.

Carb needed to be rebuilt, then added manual choke 30k.. and Trever seat is worn out..

Went thru 4 starters.

Transmission always needs fluid.

Changed alternator 4 times.

Blinker arm broke 3 times.

General Comments:

This van is a definite cruiser... worker, it does it all. Went up and down Hoover Dam hills towing a car no problems. Plenty of room for customizing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2009

1977 Dodge Van Tradesman 200 318

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired800000 miles
Most recent distance3500000 miles
Previous carToyota Van

Summary:

Built like a tank

Faults:

A/C went out after I bought it.

Seats and arm rests have worn out, but were replaced at the salvage yards.

1st engine = wore out the cam = junked it and rebuilt.

2nd engine = lasted 13 years. I supposedly paid for a fancy engine with a R/V cam to help pull my Concession Trailer that I use for work. It was just a good 318 after all. I figure I put 250000 miles on that engine before it threw the crank rod.

Seals on the doors have gone.

Replaced U-Joints.

Replaced front end.

Replaced transmission w/fact.

727 brake booster replaced and master cylinder.

Rear end axle replaced.

General Comments:

Strong and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2009

1977 Dodge Van B-200 Tradesman 318

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

It gives me so many memories

Faults:

It has been in the family since my father bought it in 1977, where he remodeled the whole thing. But since taking ownership it seems that my tranny fluid keeps disappearing. I've looked and there are no leaks, Why does this happen?

General Comments:

I love this van it reminds me of the mystery machine. I call it the shaggin waggon because of the wall to wall shag carpeting, leather seats and doors, plus a bed in the back. I took out the sink and fridge because I have become a mom now and need the space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2007

25th Mar 2009, 11:48

Your van is old and so is mine...that's what they do with age. If it starts to leak at a rate that it causes it to move sluggish, it may need service. Advance Auto sells a 727 trans, for vans about 350.00. That's cheaper than a repair. I say if it ain't broke add more fluid, and party on in the Shaggin Wagon, dude-et, fer sher.

1977 Dodge Van B200 Dodge 360

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Dodge 360 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

GREAT van, perfect for every step of life

Faults:

Seats badly worn.

Power steering assist unit is leaking badly from the lower seal.

Front skylight leaks slightly.

Rear side windows leak real bad.

General Comments:

Great driver, suspension a little soft. A lot of body roll, but she stays on the ground. Whips around corners real nice! The 360 makes it real easy to lay down rubber, even in this beast.

The steering has a lot of play in it, and needs to be aligned often.

The 3 speed Automatic transmission is good quality, sucks up fuel on the highway. I wish it had overdrive, or, even better, it was a manual 4 speed.

The previous owner installed a manual choke, since the dodge engines hate cold weather. This makes it enjoyable to drive anytime of the year.

I wish it had a better heater and air conditioner, but I will fix that soon enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

2nd Mar 2005, 12:24

I am picking up a second car to run to school (5 minute drive, 10 minutes to warm van up) But make no mistake, Ol' Blue will always be with me. Sure it may cost me a few bucks to fix her up, but that's all worth it to have a real American classic, plus I just smoked a Ford Econoline!!! A 93 I think. Ol' Blue may have her Quirks, but what good car (or Girl!) doesn't? I recently hit 85 on 880 North in San jose, and she loved it. I gotta stretch her legs more often. That's all, and remember, DO IT IN A VAN!!!

1977 Dodge Van sportman 200 318

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1977
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carDodge Van

Summary:

27 yrs old love machine - she been very to me!

Faults:

Plug.

Wires.

Starter.

Alt.

Battery.

Headlamps.

1157 lights.

Gas sending unit 36 gal. tank 3.

1 brain box.

4 sets of brake pads.

Large rubber bushing front end (e-line)

AC removed (gas miles and R-2)

New radio (AM just didn't get it I was 21 wish kept it I like AM now)

Trans clean and tune 7 times (no rebuilds)

Tries 4 or 5 sets.

General Comments:

I would like to replace all of rubber on the windows because of sun dry out.

Seats cozy car put them in not factory duct tape in place's.

I did put a new paint job on it (green DuPont air craft paint with gold fake $1200 I pay that - I don't pay for work I do my self)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

5th Oct 2004, 11:24

You paid $1200 just for the paint?

But WHY?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews