1996 Eagle Vision Reviews from North America

1996 Eagle Vision 3.5

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance184565 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Best ever, more should be built like it

Faults:

The bolts holding the transmission are worn out. I have to get that fixed, and estimates range from $650-900. Water pump went out.

Other than that, this car is the best I've had. All it's needed is minor work. I've had a variety of different cars and vans. I have to say, this is the best. Does anybody know the most miles you can or should put on it?

General Comments:

Seats are comfy.

The car is very pretty & sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2012

1996 Eagle Vision TS 3.3

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance348000 kilometres
Previous carGMC 1/2 Ton

Summary:

Best Chrysler I've had, and I will be back!!!

Faults:

Only thing gone wrong is the starter at 250000.

This is one bullet proof car.

Also one battery and a little rust on the rear trunk.

General Comments:

Can t believe this thing goes on and on. All I do is change the oil every 5000kms.

The A/C still works, and with no service!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2007

1996 Eagle Vision TSi 3.5L V6

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles
Previous carAMC Eagle

Summary:

Excellent vehicle if properly maintained!

Faults:

The only major problem with this car occurred at 62,000 miles. There was a malfunction with the transmission control module, causing the car to get stuck in first gear. The entire transmission was replaced under the extended Chrysler warranty. Maintenance has peen performed according to the owners manual.

General Comments:

This has been an excellent automobile. It handles very well and has excellent acceleration. It has returned a consistent 28-29 MPG highway on a regular diet of 91+ octane fuel. The traction control system is almost as effective as the 4-wheel drive on my previous vehicle. The interior and exterior fit and finish have been much better than any other vehicle I have owned. This car has been a pleasure to own and drive for the past 9 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2005

1996 Eagle Vision ESi 3.3L V6

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance100700 miles
Previous carN/A N/A

Summary:

An overall dependable, and enjoyable car to drive and own

Faults:

Ozone sensor went bad, and needed replaced.

Corrosion on power steering pump caused the pump to go bad, as well as the battery, both were replaced.

Required two new front tires after flat.

Needed aligned, so I purchased a liftime alignment to have this remedied throughout my ownership of the car.

When I purchased it, the dealership had replaced the Air Conditioner compressor.

Oil Dipstick is broken, and needs replaced, but I keep track of my miles to determine when the oil needs changed.

The hood shocks do not hold the hood up anymore. The price quote for this is approximately $185, I opted to use a stick to hold up the hood when I need to.

General Comments:

Though it may seem like there are many things wrong with the car, it really is a wonderful car to drive. It rides very quiet and smooth, like new. The seats are very comfortable, and there is an abundance of leg room (I am 6'1" so I need it). It also has a large amount of cargo space, almost as much as some smaller to mid-sized sport utility vehicles. This is not for someone who has trouble with maneuverability, as it is a large car. The gas mileage is fairly good considering its size. Also, this car retailed for around $20,000 new, I purchased it used for a mere $3200. I believe this to be quite a bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2004

25th May 2004, 17:35

If you buy new hood shocks at the Chrysler dealer's parts department and put them in yourself it is cheaper than $185. They just snap in. I know because I just replaced mine.

1996 Eagle Vision TSi 3.5L Engine

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5L Engine Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles

Summary:

A high performance driving machine!

Faults:

The only fault, we lent the car out to some friends and they allowed the transmission fluid to get so low the car wouldn't run. But we filled it back up and its runs as smooth as ever.

The front leather seats are pretty beat up, but they can be replaced :)

General Comments:

The car is a great performance car, it runs smooth turns on a dime! It is a great car to own.

I personally think it is a great car for a new driver.

Safe, reliable, fast, sporty, luxurious, over all a great car!

And the stereo, Oh My Golly, it is the best, AM, FM, Cass. CD, equalizer, and speaker usage control, it has to be one hell of a great system for someone who loves music, but can't afford to put in one of those high cost mega systems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2002

6th Sep 2002, 16:25

I own an Eagle Vision TSi and they are great to have. Mine only excludes ONE feature: traction control. Even without it, when it is loaded, I can feel its power on the highway. It sure gives a lot of it!

21st Mar 2004, 18:09

Accepted delivery of my 96 Eagle Vision Tsi Jan 96. Just turned 50K. Has been a great trouble free car. Just routine stuff to keep it going. Love the Auto-Stick is super.

John Prokovich

Saint Charles, MO.

15th May 2007, 00:28

If you think this car can "turn on a dime" then you obviously haven't driven many other cars. I am always frustrated that my '93 TSI cannot make very sharp turns. It's horrible compared to my '91 honda accord. Great car otherwise, 230,000 kms and still going strong without having replaced much of the mechanics.

1996 Eagle Vision TSi 3.5

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A tiger by the tail

Faults:

$800 A/C repair at 30,000 miles - not covered under warranty and, most recently (Summer 2001 at 45,000 miles).

A $1,200 A/C repair with $700 covered under warranty.

General Comments:

This car is both a true pleasure to drive and a ticking time bomb. It has a reliability record that is inescapable. I know it will catch up with me yet the sheer enjoyment of the driving experience, its power and handling characteristics, are at least temporarily clouding my better judgement. It's very fast; faster than most fellow motorists realize yet it's comfortable and refined. I enjoy the throaty sounding muffler noises as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2001

1996 Eagle Vision TSi 3.5 liter V-6

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter V-6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Nice performer, but watch out for overheating problems

Faults:

This car lost it's first water pump at 15,000 miles and the second water pump at 46,000 miles. The last time, it warped the heads, blew the intake manifold and head gaskets, and caused other heat damage.

General Comments:

There seems to be no warning concerning the water pump failures. One minute you're traveling down the road with the gauges reading just fine, and the next, the water temperature gauge is pegged on overheat. No drips or signs that the water pump is leaking, and the overflow tank remains in the normal range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews