Ferrari 348 Reviews from North America

1993 Ferrari 348 TS

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFerrari 348

Faults:

Engine slow down light appeared.

General Comments:

The car is a show stopper, mine is British Racing Green with ivory brown and black interior. No surface scratches, and definitely not a daily driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2011

1991 Ferrari 348 TS 3.48 litre

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.48 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carFerrari 348

Faults:

Alternator went at 12,550 miles!

Catalytic converters went at 13,000 miles!

Dash and console had to be re-painted; got sticky!

Doors tinny and handle cables slip off pulleys!

New leather at 13,500 miles!

Lower front-end spoiler cut back 1" to avoid constant cracking of fiberglass.

General Comments:

White from factory. A red one painted over!

Grabs the road, but engine torque is so great the rear end slips out off the line.

A real man's car. Last of the street/racers! Now with power steering as standard for those lady folk !Better know how to drive it, or a tree or pole will wrap itself around you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th February, 2004

5th Jul 2012, 06:05

Buy a Porsche 996TT and never look back.

1992 Ferrari 348 TS 3.4 liter V8

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 liter V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Surprisingly bad design from such a premier manufacturer

Faults:

Poor design on the seals around the top of the windows... they leak furiously... always carry towels in the rainy season. The Ferrari mechanic tells me that all Targa-top 348's leak this way. The Berlinetta is a better design and does not do this.

The rubberized coating used on the dash/center console/door handles deteriorates and gets sticky after five or eight years. It comes off on your hands and clothes.

General Comments:

This is a beautiful car, and is a lot of fun to drive. It will not accelerate as fast as any of the later Vettes, and is not as comfortable inside. If you are over 5' 10", you will have to recline the seat to have headroom.

Mileage is better than you think... about 22 MPG on the highway. This is hardly enough to make up for the ridiculous maintenance costs.

You cannot drive this car without scraping the front valence on the pavement. Anytime you encounter a swale you must turn at an angle to avoid destroying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

8th Apr 2003, 23:06

This guy put 3,000 miles on his 348 in 4 years? I am thinking he is a 'poser'. I've only put 15,000 on mine in the past 2 years, and if was home more, I would drive it more. Yeah, the parts are a pain to get, and the interior plastic is crap (soak in hot water and sand the coating off for a smooth, nice finish), but it handles way better than my Porsche on the track (this guy has probably never seen a track) and it's easier to work on. I wonder how much his Corvette has depreciated? My 348 is holding firm.

1990 Ferrari 348 TS 3.4L V8

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carInfiniti I30

Summary:

This car is the most fun you can have with your clothes on!

Faults:

I had to replace the brake rotors and pads, cost $1000.

I had to replace the rear tires, $300 a piece.

I broke a shift fork in the transmission which cost $2500 to repair.

I had to replace the rubber seals for the doors and Targa top to stop the water leaks, cost $1000.

I had a very difficult time getting the car to pass an emissions inspection.

General Comments:

This is without a doubt the most unbelievable car I have ever owned. The cars performance is the stuff legends are made of.

I have personally driven the car at 160 MPH without it even skipping a beat. At that speed the car handles the road better than my I30 did at 70 MPH.

It goes around a turn like it is glued to the pavement. The steering and suspension are so tight you can feel the car hit a pebble in the road.

The cars acceleration from a standing stop is amazing. Its acceleration on the highway is even more amazing.

Most people would probably hate this car. There is nothing soft or smooth about this car. It is not a luxury car like most people think, it is a performance car. Everything about it is hard and tight. It has very few options or accessories, and is not particularly comfortable on a long drive. The car does not even have cruise control. It is hard to get in and out of because it sits so low to the ground. The clutch is heavy and not easy to let out smoothly. Steering is manual as are the brakes and transmission.

Anyone who can appreciate the performance of this car will fall instantly in love with it as I did. There is nothing like a Ferrari. The looks you get at a stop light are pretty nice to. This car is my daily driver and I cannot imagine driving anything else!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

9th Apr 2004, 20:33

You allege this is a daily driver. May I ask how many miles you have put on this machine? I am curious as to what amount of mileage is required for the maintenance you've performed on the vehicle.

12th Nov 2004, 06:29

I've owned a 348 for about 5 years. It's a blast to drive, but:

1. It leaks like a cheap sieve.

2. Rubber-like coating on many interior parts turns to a consistency of melted asphalt after some exposure to a warm climate. I had to remove a dozen or more cockpit parts (i.e., door release handles, ash tray, many console parts, sunscreen brackets, etc.) They cleaned up OK with alcohol, and then had them repainted. Not what you would expect with an expensive car.

1990 Ferrari 348 TS 3.4 V8

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carHonda S2000

Summary:

It's like a dream, but you wake up

Faults:

The seats tend to wear as a result of the tight entry into the cockpit.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive and the other people on the road really appreciate the opportunity to view the car.

I first test drove this model car at Luxtrans Rentals in the Bay Area California. They rent Ferrari's and other Exotic cars so you can experience what it is like to drive such a machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

11th Aug 2001, 23:03

Excellent handling car! With AVS sport tires it can and will outrun most exotics in the hills. Nice exhaust notes with a Tubi muffler.. with my custom intake system is has even better accelaration!

17th Dec 2001, 05:43

I like mine too, on sunny days, it's a bit nervous at 160, I got a tubi style too, sounds great, would like to get more power, just for the hell of it...

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews