Ferrari 360 Modena Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 4

2000 Ferrari 360 Modena F1 3.6 litre V8

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.6 litre V8 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carFerrari F355

Summary:

One of the great sportscars currently being manufactured

Faults:

Nothing so far, just normal yet costly dealer service, including a very expensive clutch change which wasn't needed, but had to be done according to the service papers.

General Comments:

She costs a small fortune to own, but it's a Ferrari so she's worth it. I'm very pleased with the car, she can be driven on a daily basis and my wife even finds her easy to drive. The F1 gearbox is good, although not as quick as similar systems and I still argue whether I should have gone for a manual instead as I prefer having more control. Put her in automatic mode and a kid could drive this car. Needless to say, the performance and handling is impeccable. I dislike the front end though, looks stripped and too aerodynamic, still a stunning car and a Ferrari is always a Ferrari and will generate admiration and positive comments wherever you go. A true headturner for those who like that. I personally consider selling the car, which is my fourth Ferrari since 1984, and going for something else for once. Not because it's a bad car, but because I want to own another sportscar of another marque for once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

7th Jun 2005, 23:11

Ha ha ha! That is great! I absolutely believe you own the car, but you don't even know what engine is in it? HA!

2nd Dec 2006, 08:08

See ya, have fun. I feel sorry for anyone who gets tired of owning a Ferrari. It's an honor, privilege, and the greatest car maker of all time. Everyone dreams of owning the machine. Even more fun to drive it!!

As for repairs, you should only be so lucky to have one to repair. I'd rather fix my Ferrari than a Ford.

17th Apr 2012, 04:25

Actually I don't own the car any more, but traded her in for a 2003 456 MGTA, which turned out to be the worst money pit of a car I've owned so far. I sold that at a great loss, and now I only drive my Mercedes. I've got a contract on a MP4-12C, but people say the early ones are rubbish with constant problems, so we'll see.

As for the "don't know" by the engine-spec, I have no idea how that ended up there. Have fun in your Hyundai.

2002 Ferrari 360 Modena F1 3.6L V8 DOHC 40V

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.6L V8 DOHC 40V Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance2428 miles
Previous carCadillac Escalade

Summary:

A little pricey, but worth it

Faults:

The glove compartment door, opens up on its own when going over speed bump at 10+ MPH.

The car is not that comfortable.

For being 6'3 and 250 LBS, it's not that roomy.

General Comments:

All in all this car screams, very quick and responsive. Eats corvettes and vipers on the 1/4 mile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2004

27th Jul 2004, 08:18

You bought a Ferrari to race 'Vettes and Vipers in a straight line?

Tsk, Americans.

20th Mar 2006, 05:34

For just acceleration alone such as in the quarter mile, you're much better off having a cheaper sports car like that Corvette or Viper, and just spending a little extra on souping up the engine, if you don't wanna spend too much on a car with real good performance, if you're not rich.

Extremely expensive cars like Ferraris and Lamborghinis, are better off the assembly line with performance than less expensive sports cars off the assembly line, but souping any car up can go a long way. Take the movie "The Fast and The Furious" for example.

2nd Dec 2006, 08:05

Corvette, Viper, Porsche are not in the same league as a Ferrari, and should not be mentioned in the same sentence or paragraph.

Please, go buy a vette then.

27th Nov 2008, 14:43

I am enjoying my ride.. its cool and giving me feel of speed on highways.. try it..

7th Jun 2013, 21:37

I think there is no need to comment on the owner comparison with Corvettes and Co. I don't think the owner intended to put down Corvettes. Ferrari is anyway in another league, and not just on the speed level.

8th Jun 2013, 12:24

You are correct. The Ferrari in this review should not be compared. The Corvette ZL1 and even the mid point Grand Sport are faster 0-60 and have a higher top speed. The 2013 shares Ferrari suspension technology on many models as well. My car is rarely ever in the shop and my sons Viper likewise. The Viper is low production (under 5000 annually) with a race inspired frame at 750 HP supercharged, with the Vette at 638 HP. All are super cars in this day and age, not sports cars.

In Europe the Corvette is extremely popular as they are really bulletproof. It is not uncommon to have 2 Vipers or current Vettes residing in the same garage by owners. At any rate, this model will be left viewing the rear ends of our cars without mods required. We are obviously extremely proud of ours.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews