1987 Ford F150 F-Series 300 I-6 EFI

Summary:

Good Basic Truck!

Faults:

Typical Ford truck front brakes, Heater core.

General Comments:

Overall, a damn good workhorse. I needed an 8 ft bed, and the Tacoma I had (which I loved by the way, just too small) had a 6 ft bed. I know the current Ford engines are not as reliable as this old 6 is, so the next truck will probably be a Tundra regular cab 8ft bed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

1987 Ford F150 Custom 5.8 unleaded

Summary:

A half decent truck

Faults:

The carburetor has been rebuilt twice.

Transmission is going bad at 40,000 miles.

Engine is weak for the size.

Suspension system is very weak.

AM stereo hasn't worked since the truck was bought.

General Comments:

This truck runs like a boat, and is a pain to start up.

The engine has been maintained all its life and yet it is still unreliable.

The cabin is not roomy at all. Taller people will find themselves feeling restricted when driving.

If you want something that can tow, this truck is the way to go.

If you want something to just drive, this trucks gas mileage takes one heck of a dive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 21:06

Huuh? the carburetor? umm those trucks have EFI... your review must be for a different truck or different brand, no carburators for this year.

29th Jan 2005, 12:20

EFI 302 engines were introduced in 1985.

EFI 300 engines were introduced in 1987.

EFI 351 and 460 engines were introduced around October 1987, but wern't standard until 1988.

Once EFI was there, carbs were no longer available.

I own an 1987 F250 with the 4bbl 351 and let me tell you that it is by no means weak for its engine size. That 351 actually has a lot more power than the EFI 302 in my 88' Bronco!

I think that the interior is huge compared to most cars today, I'm 6'2" an that is the only thing I drive (aside form the Bronco) that feels roomy.

4th Dec 2009, 17:45

The truck is junk. Everything in my 87 F150 is being replaced including the whole engine, and that costs big $$$$. The truck's in and out overall appearance is trash. The only thing good about the truck is tranny, but without the motor you won't go anywhere. The warm up time is about 15 minutes. The A/C is trash and so is the heat.

10th Feb 2010, 22:21

My dad owns the same thing. Bought it for 1000 in a silent auction from the county. It has 185000 on the same motor. Carburetor is a REAL problem; someday I want to buy him a brand new Edelbrock, so I will agree with you there.

But problems with ROOMINESS... are you kidding me, that truck has the most room I've seen in a truck that age!!!

1987 Ford F150 XLT

Summary:

A dependable work truck

Faults:

The alternator caught on fire around 238,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck does not have a lot of acceleration, but it is reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

1987 Ford F150 Lariat 302 gas

Summary:

Watch the complex emissions, they could kill it.

Faults:

The emissions are probably the main fault with this model year. This was the first year for fuel injection and the related emission parts are very complex and integrated, meaning they cost a bunch to fix because many areas overlap. Emissions may cause rich mixture and a hot engine.

Cracked manifolds. Could be attributed to hot running, but a known common problem. Love those fumes at stoplights.

Came with cracked flywheel, another known common problem. Watch the mid-year change in the flywheel. The mechanic dropped the trans three times before getting the right one. At least I didn't have to pay for all that extra time.

Presently slated for retirement on the farm due to a leaking head gasket. It's slowly tearing up the bearings. Let's blame this problem on a rich hot engine too for lack of better idea.

General Comments:

Afraid that Ford was beginning to get cheap with this model. Maybe it was a lemon. The super complex emissions were worked out later, maybe.

The 302 should run 200,000+ if taken care of without the emissions. But the emissions were designed for 50,000 miles maybe at peak performance and once they go bad, many problems can result.

Nonetheless, it has never failed to start and maybe yours would do better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

28th Jul 2007, 01:24

With all do respect, Fuel Injection was first used in late '85.

6th Apr 2008, 11:43

Fuel injection was actually used in late 1984.

22nd Jun 2009, 20:09

This was the first year it was standard on the I6. Maybe that's what he means.

19th Jun 2010, 13:22

My truck has been good other than the many parts replaced to keep it going.

The electrical parts and vacuum hoses are a joke; just pull all that off and put a plain intake and carb on.

My truck has well over 450,000 miles on it now. The problem with the trans and fly wheel was fixed, and after one motor change, it is a great truck now, I will drive it anywhere.

The fuel pumps are a pain as well; just go with an external pump, you won't have to pull tank off every time you have trash in the pump.

2nd Nov 2012, 10:43

The reviewer's truck has/had a 302 V8, not the I6.