2004 Ford F250 Super Duty Reviews from North America

2004 Ford F250 Super Duty XLT 6.0 turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 6.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

It is the best work truck I have ever owned!

Faults:

It gets about 17-18 mpg.

It has blown a power steering pump to pieces and lost brakes at the same time, due to the hydra-boost system.

Rides like a Sherman tank.

General Comments:

I got the truck in 2009, and I left it pretty much stock until February 2011, when I added a K&N FIPK air filter and deleted the DPF filter.

I added a Bullydog PMT (performance Management Tool) 115 horse power programmer in June 2011, and a Diamond Eye turbo back 4" exhaust system. It runs very strong, and has more than enough power to get work done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2011

2004 Ford F250 Super Duty XLT 6.8L

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 6.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carFord F250 Super Duty

Summary:

Nam nam nam... mmmm gas

Faults:

IT EATS GAS... not very roomy.

It consumes oil during the winter, and is VERY stiff when cold, and had a 1995 F-250, and that one was weak compared to the V10.

General Comments:

Never had any problems... engine or transmission ext... the gas pedal is oh so touchy. The thing can haul ANYTHING it desires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2010

2004 Ford F250 Super Duty XLT 5.4

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

If you can afford it, it's a great, reliable truck!

Faults:

Knock on wood, nothing but a coil that needed replacing, $40.00 fix.

General Comments:

Very comfy on long trips.

I have 1600 lbs in the bed of mine 24/7, and still maintain 14 mpg average.

Push button 4x4 will get through any snow... not the greatest in mud, but it's a heavy truck.

Brakes are affordable on this large truck. I believe it cost me around 250 for front rotors/pads/hardware and rear pads/hardware.

I have a filthy job, I might detail my interior every 3 months, and it still looks like new when I get done.

Four cup holders is the greatest idea ever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2010

2004 Ford F250 Super Duty Lariat

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

Don't like it

Faults:

In the town we live in we has a Ford repair and sales place, and they do not have a diesel mechanic, and it takes 2 to 3 weeks to get an appointment to get your vehicle checked out. Then they can't service the vehicle, you have to try to take it to the city, which is 90 miles away.

We have had nothing but trouble with this vehicle. It is a 2004 Ford F250 Power Stroke. With all the recalls, they should just reimburse every one for all the trouble.

We have a 1996 Chevy Suburban with 179,000 miles and no major repairs. We had a 1993 Ford F350 with 350,000 miles before we had to put in a new motor (they are both gasoline). I believe we will seriously think about our next vehicle that we purchase. I will definitely push for a gasoline model, rather than diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2009

2004 Ford F250 Super Duty Lariat 4WD 5.4L V8

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.4L V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A Real Workhorse

Faults:

Previous owner had replaced normal wear-related items - brakes, u-joints, and assorted bushings.

Clutch would emit an odd metallic rattle if the revs dropped too low during takeoff. Not really a problem for me once I got the hang of driving stick.

Developed a nasty interior rattle from the rear passenger-side door. Probably easy to fix, but we ended up selling the truck for other reasons.

General Comments:

A workhorse if there ever was one – every component of this truck feels massively over-engineered, from the huge frame rails to the beefy interior grab handles. If you need a truck for heavy hauling, towing, or offroad abuse, look no further.

The 5.4L V8's power is no more than adequate, but it still probably represents the best choice for most people, since the 6.0L Powerstroke has a reputation for unreliability and the 6.8L V10 swills gas to the tune of 9 mpg. If you must have a diesel, consider an older truck with the 7.3L engine. The six-speed is easy to shift and allows a judicious driver to eke out a few extra mpgs (We averaged 14-15 mpg with this truck – better than our F-150!)

This truck rides like an unladen Conestoga on all, but the smoothest surfaces - it is by far the roughest-riding vehicle I've ever driven. To be fair, our truck's spec probably represents a worst-case scenario for ride quality: short wheelbase, 4WD, and the FX4 off-road suspension package. If you value your kidneys, avoid this combination. On the other hand, the truck was very quiet, with remarkably little road or wind noise.

The interior design is remarkably simple, especially compared to the hideously over-wrought cabin of the ’08 Super Duty. Small-item storage is ample, and controls are easy to use. Build quality is first-rate; except for the rattle mentioned above, our truck was rock-solid, and the leather seats still looked like new after 122k miles. Go for the crew cab if you want to actually use the back seat.

Here in South Texas, Super Duty pickups seem to outnumber F-150s by about two to one. The fact amazes me; these trucks represent massive overkill for probably about 80% of truck buyers (Including us – we ended up trading the F-250 in for a Tundra). Unless you really need to tow 10k+ pounds, or haul loads of boulders in your bed, just stick with a half-ton truck. You will save fuel, you will save your kidneys, and you will save the headache of wiggling the thing into a hopelessly undersized parking spot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

2004 Ford F250 Super Duty XLT 6.0 turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Tough truck when it doesn't have a problem

Faults:

Rear seal leak within three months of purchase... covered under warranty.

Caught fire while attempting to start in my driveway (at 50,000 miles)...had to claim on insurance... Ford would not accept responsibility for problem (negative battery cable vibrated loose from engine block and caused a short). Repair fixed all fire damage and welded the cable to the block.

General Comments:

Strong truck that pulls a lot of weight with no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2007

2004 Ford F250 Super Duty XLT 5.4 Triton Gasoline

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.4 Triton Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance80200 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

BIG for the money

Faults:

I needed new tires at 45,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is reliably. This is not a race car or performance vehicle, it is for work. The front seats are more comfortable than the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2007

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 7 reviews