1994 Ford F350 Reviews from North America

1994 Ford F350 XLT Super Cab Dually 7.5L Gasoline

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 7.5L Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

I have the POWER!

Faults:

Starter solenoid went out, repaired by dealer.

Heater control broke, repaired by dealer.

Running lights (not including head lights) went out when part of light switch burned out.

General Comments:

We bought this truck to carry a slide-in camper. When I first saw it sitting in the dealer lot, I thought it was a brand new truck. This size truck usually does not sit in the used section for very long as they are very desirable for hauling. This truck has an undesirable option - the 7.5 L engine with a manual transmission. So what's wrong with a stick? The clutch is so stiff, I can hardly walk after driving in traffic, although because it has a "granny" low, I can let the clutch out and the truck will proceed at a walking speed, which is great when in bumper to bumper traffic.

There are other drawbacks to having the 7.5 L engine - it does not get very good mileage. EPA does not rate this vehicle because of it's size, but it is generally understood to get 8 - 10 mpg. Because this truck has a stick, I get 10 mpg city - 13 mpg highway. This truck is a real highway cruiser - just set the cruise and go! The XLT package consists of 2 excellent captains chairs with folding armrests and very good lumbar support. The cloth looks great and great in all seasons. The fit and finish of the body is superb.

Parking can be a problem because of the width of the rear wheels, but because of the dually rear wheels, it turns better than single wheel trucks the same length.

The engine is very smooth over its range, I usually shift between 3000 and 4000 rpm. The tach is a necessity to prevent over revving the engine. At 70 mph the engine is turning 2500.

This is everything anyone could want in a luxury hauling vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

31st Mar 2004, 00:11

The truck is made for pulling, so the clutch will be stiff, if it were not it would not last. If you are looking for a good ride, buy a beemer. Second, if you are going to pull, go diesel. You get better fuel mileage, and more pulling power. Keep in mind, if you are not going to use it for what it was designed to do, don't bother.

3rd Sep 2006, 23:19

I'm picking up my "new to me" 1994 F-350 turbo diesel 7.3L 4x4 crew cab long bed truck in two days.

It has a new Powerstroke in it, as well as a new Alison Transmission (still under warranty) and I have all the paperwork on both. I'm building a house so need to save my $$ by buying used & hauling everything myself--or I hope I'm saving money anyway... Any Problems anyone would like to let me in on? I'm hoping to *one day* burn P100 in it, but for now biodiesel will do.

Thanks for your input!

11th Nov 2013, 15:15

Considering the initial cost of a diesel, the fuel costs and the repairs when it fails, which it will, you're money ahead with a gasser. That goes for either the F series of Ram trucks; been there, done that, more than thrice now.

1994 Ford F350 XLT turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Faults:

I am wondering if anybody else gets only 8-10 miles to the gallon when towing. I just bought the truck and the water pump went out luckily it was the indirect injection model so it only cost $150 instead of $550. Then I had to replace the front brakes because it was pulling to the left. It still pulls to the left, I think it still has a bad caliper. Also I get lousy gas mileage I think I only get 8-10 when towing about 3500 pounds, so I put it in the shop at Ford. They said the injection pump wasn't putting out enough pressure so they replaced it at a cost of $1100. They said it would definitely help the gas mileage, it didn't.

General Comments:

The ford dealer said they couldn't find a single thing wrong with the truck, guess its supposed to get 8-10 miles to the gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

9th Jun 2003, 07:53

Traditionally, these trucks give 8 - 10 mpg, no matter what. I have a manual transmission in mine, so I get better mileage - 10 to 13+.

31st Jul 2003, 13:04

This past month I pulled the Boy Scout Troop trailer, a 6 x 10 Wells Cargo, from N. Wisconsin to N.E. Illinois and got almost 12 mpg @ 70 mph. One reason for the "good" mileage was the fuel I used was not "reformulated". While the brand of gasoline does not make a difference, the area of the country does. On the trip up to N. Wisconsin, I did not tow the trailer and got almost 11 mpg, using "reformulated" gasoline from the Chicago Metro area.

23rd Nov 2003, 09:32

I have a 1994 F-350 7.5/460 "dually", and it is probably the best running vehicle I have owned. With a load, (a 13 foot 1968 cab-over camper, towing a 22' 1978 day cruiser "barge"), I averaged 9.1 mpg. In town I get an average of 8.6 mpg. This is with a Hyper-tech module, Stainless Gibson exhaust, K&N air intake, and driving "grandpa" style. So, I would say that no, the mileage isn't good, but it kind of makes up for it with it's working abilities. Overall it's a pretty good truck. And considering my old F150 got 10 mpg city with an in-line 300ci 6 cylinder, I can live with it.

7th Oct 2011, 19:15

I have a 1994 Ford F-350 four door 7.3 turbo diesel that is my every day driver. No matter what I'm using this truck for, pulling or just driving, I'm getting 15 to 18mpg. I thought that was bad until I read the current review about someone getting 8 to 10mpg. I feel better about my truck now. Thanks.

16th Jan 2012, 15:48

I have a 1994 7.3 turbo diesel. I get 15-18 mpg. I have 166000 with no trouble with it. Oh yes, it is a 5 speed.

6th Nov 2012, 08:55

Absolutely love my truck; very reliable. I used this truck frequently to haul loads up to 19K, and this baby doesn't miss a beat. With that kind of load, it tends to have to wok hard on hills and getting on the highway, but once up to speed, it does well.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews