2010 Ford Ranger Supercab 4.0L

Summary:

Great little truck

Faults:

Nothing - really! Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle so far.

General Comments:

It has been a great vehicle. Gas mileage is poor for the size of the truck, but the 4.0L engine really hauls! No trouble moving into heavy traffic.

The 2 wheel drive is a bit challenging on icy roads in Canada, but the traction control, anti skid and stability control really help.

The cab is small and the rear seat is a joke. Only a small child or a very small adult could sit in the jump seats. There is not a lot of headroom, but leg room with the seat extended is good.

Sound system is awesome.

Handling is good. The suspension is very stiff, and will washboard over rough roads, but I would rather it be stiff than soft.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2012

17th Dec 2014, 23:34

I have a 2010 Ford Ranger; a great truck until 40,000 km. Then the front brakes were shot and the transmission is acting up (not going into gear for about 3 minutes or so). Pissed off would be an understatement after talking to the Ford dealership service manager. This is my 3rd new Ford, but never again!!! You would expect a truck to last longer than 40,000 km before major repairs.

2010 Ford Ranger Base 4 cylinder

Summary:

Great gas mpg

Faults:

Nothing - brand new.

General Comments:

So far it is great. There is a lot of road noise, but I bought this truck for the gas mileage, which is 28 mpg. It does everything I need it to do. My Dodge Ram was terrible; it got 14 mpg.

I bought the regular cab, and I am 6 foot 4. I am kinda cramped, but it is fine.

I do like the truck; I am in it a lot. I drive 30 miles to work.

The truck has the 4 cylinder engine, but does fine in the highway. I will update this review at every oil change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2010

24th Sep 2010, 14:03

Took a 500 mile road trip; got 29MPG. What a great product.

25th Sep 2010, 10:46

I really hated to see that Ford will be dropping the Ranger. I've owned 4 and all were really awesome. Now we have no small trucks at all available in the U.S. that can match the Ranger's rugged reliability. Our family company has used Rangers as service vehicles for years. Now I guess the only option will be the Ford Transit Connect vans or the V-6 F-150.

3rd Nov 2010, 23:47

Knowing that Ford will discontinue the Ranger almost makes me cry. :(

Always had Rangers, and before the Rangers had a 1979 Courier. And all of them were 4cyl, manual. The 1979 was the most reliable. :) That's because there was nothing there to break. Didn't even have power steering.

The Ranger was the best domestic small pickup. Period.

28th Dec 2010, 09:14

There will be a replacement for the Ranger, and it looks like a cross between a Tacoma and an Explorer Sport, although as of now (Dec. 2010) it's not certain North America will get it. Ford is developing an F-100 truck based off the F-150 which will be significantly larger than the Ranger Europe would get. Ford doesn't believe Americans want small compact trucks anymore (or if our fat arses can fit in them either), so we have to deal with giant gas hogs, or pay up the nose for new technology like Ecoboost, which saves us only about 5-10% in fuel, but costs $5000 more than the base V8. Pretty stupid economics isn't it.

I think I'll keep my 98 S-10 4.3 and look for a gently used Ranger 4 banger with a manual.

9th Mar 2011, 03:26

In the cold weather it is hard to shift gears until it warms up. I have a manuel transmission. I am the original poster.

The truck has 8000 miles on it now.

14th Sep 2011, 23:11

Sounds like it could be too thick of an oil for the temperatures you drive in. When it comes time to change the transmission oil in the Ranger, choose a lower viscosity. You will have easier shifts.

27th Sep 2011, 03:35

I have 2010 2.5 ltr 4 cyl Ranger. 1 owner now with 60000km and still goes strong. On the original tyres. Be-ute.