Ford Taurus X Reviews from North America

1989 Ford Taurus X GL 3.0

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles

Summary:

When you press the gas pedal, Ford's pride comes out of the 3.0 V6 engine

Faults:

Gas gauge, at 200000 miles.

General Comments:

It's a great car, it's probably the best looking car made in 1989.

It has a big strong engine. However, it's kind of heavy, so is not as powerful as it should be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2011

2008 Ford Taurus X SES V6

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I love this car!

Faults:

None - it's been great.

General Comments:

It's a very quiet and comfortable car. Mileage is mid 20's. I love the way the backseats fold flat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2008

2007 Ford Taurus X Limited AWD 3.5L V6

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19 kilometres
Most recent distance19800 kilometres
Previous carFord Freestyle

Summary:

Highly recommended - high level of safety protection

Faults:

There was some minor paint delamination on the driver and passenger exterior door moldings. The dealer replaced the parts promptly under warranty.

No other issues during the first 20,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

This 2008 car is Ford's best kept secret. The car is quiet, very safe, very comfortable and drives very well, especially in snow.

The seating is flexible and my wife prefers this vehicle much more than a minivan.

The quality of fit and finish is high and the controls are well laid out. Ford have hit a home run with this car.

Our previous car was a Ford Freestyle Limited, which unfortunately was rear ended and totaled on the highway. The five of us all walked away unhurt. We were sold on Ford's safety claims.

The new Taurus X is very similar in terms of safety and protection with a few more refinements. I highly recommend this car for those looking for a safe family car with great performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2008

18th Mar 2009, 18:56

I've been wanting a Taurus X Limited. They seem to be the perfect blend of comfort, safety, power and reliability. I think 2009 is the last year for them, though. I should have bought a used '08 a couple months ago, because now they're harder to find and have jumped up about 3 grand in price.

Congratulations on yours and thanks for reviewing it. I will keep looking!

2008 Ford Taurus X SEL 3.5L Duratec 35 V6

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5L Duratec 35 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Magnificent vehicle for the price

Faults:

Nothing, although I have only had the car for 2 weeks. But I believe this one is solid.

General Comments:

Ford has been the brunt of jokes on their quality and reliability (ex. "F.O.R.D. stands for Fixed or Repaired Daily) but I strongly disagree. I previously owned a 2002 Explorer XLT (although since it had a sunroof and 3rd row seat, it didn't have XLT badge on it) which was superb.

After 5 years of ownership I decided I wanted a new car. I recently heard that Ford brought back the Taurus (and similar Mercury Sable). I didn't want a higher priced Sable, which is a dressed-up Taurus. But, I also didn't want a Taurus sedan, so I bought the Taurus X.

My Taurus X has almost all the options a limited model does (leather, sunroof, 3rd row seat, 2nd row captains chair, heated/cooled front seats) for $7,000 less! I had owned a 1988 Taurus wagon, and a 1990 Taurus sedan (both new). They treated me so well, and I loved the looks of the Taurus X.

Performance is excellent, the car has great pick-up, and the brakes are phenomenal. The only thing I wish my Taurus-X had was a backup sensor system, but the SEL doesn't offer that option.

In conclusion, the Taurus X has really been designed to show the public that Ford is not a bad car company, and they actually CAN make good, reliable and stylish cars that hold up against time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2007

11th Sep 2007, 11:03

Congrats on the Taurus X. It is an extremely stylish and very well built car. If my wife ever tires of her GMC Envoy, it will be one of our choices as a possible replacement. We have owned Ford, GM and Chrysler products, as well as a few imports over the years. Our Fords have always been incredibly reliable. One went 325,000 miles with nothing beyond routine maintenance, a muffler and a starter. As we are seriously considering a Taurus X in the next year to 18 months, I'd love to see updates on how you like the car and any problems you might encounter (which, if our experience is typical, will be none). Thank you for your review.

24th Jan 2011, 14:27

I was looking at one last month. It only had 60,000 kms as a lease return. I agree it was a nice vehicle, but wish it had the AWD.

I requested a service record to see what kind of work was done to it. I was floored. Constant oil and coolant leaks, noises from the dash, an ABS issue and a replaced cylinder head.

Not a good start, and needless to say I canceled the "deal". That must have been the reason for the vehicle going straight to auction. :^/

22nd May 2012, 14:50

I would not condemn a vehicle just because of service history. It also is certainly not the reason it "went straight to auction". All lease returns from all companies go to auctions to be sold off if not bought out by the original leaser.

And if it had that stuff repaired, then really you have nothing to lose; just get it checked by a reputable 3rd party mechanic to make sure nothing else is still wrong.

With brand new cars, some people are just VERY picky and bring it in for every little tiny thing that would not concern you or I, but they think that it should be completely perfect since it has warranty.

It's good info to have, but if it had a long list of things done, then I think that's a good thing rather than bad.

Average review marks: 9.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews