1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8

Summary:

I have a new Cadillac, GMC, a Pontiac and the old Thunderbird. The T-Bird is my favorite.

Faults:

Intake manifold.

Struts.

Radiator.

Coil packs.

Brake calipers.

Throttle position sensor.

Alternator.

Power steering pump.

Oxygen sensors.

Power antenna.

Headlights.

General Comments:

This has got to be one of the best used cars I have ever owned. Purchased it 8 years ago with 93000 miles on it.

All of the items I have replaced are normal replacement items for a vehicle with this many miles.

I purchased the car to park at the airport, but fell in love with the comfort and handling, and started to use it as a daily driver.

The 4.6 V8 gives me 26 MPG on the highway, and the interior is comfortable and quiet.

I drive the car between cities, and still put over 3000 miles on it each month.

Ford made a mistake when they discontinued this line. With an independent rear suspension and rear wheel drive, it's a joy to handle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2013

12th Feb 2013, 16:25

How much did you have to pay to pick this one up? These can be astoundingly cheap sometimes, given how much car it is.

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6

Summary:

Wish I could find another as nice!

Faults:

Intake manifold replaced 3 times before 50K (2009). Twice by Ford dealer; last time by local mechanic with after market parts.

Sway bar links replaced at 40K, front and back.

Paint on hood and trunk starred and dulled in three years. Car kept out of elements and had 20K. Two local Ford dealers refused to help. Lincoln dealership had recently consolidated, and was the only one to offer help and repaint the car for $250. The car is starting to dull again 12 years later.

No other problems with the car.

General Comments:

My fourth MN12 Thunderbird. Other 3 are Super Coupes.

Great handling. Good ride. Fairly durable over time. Drive it on a 300 mile trip at least once a month. Seats are still very comfortable for its age.

It has enough horsepower to merge, pass and outrun: econo boxes, minivans and pseudo sports cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2012

12th Jan 2013, 19:16

160 thousand on it, and just now I get the misfire on 2 and 3.

Consumes oil.

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX

Summary:

A classic American muscle car!

Faults:

Bought the car used with broken brake system (had to replace all 4 units).

Water pump at about 147,000 miles.

General Comments:

It's the most reliable car I have ever had, even though it had its issues when I bought it.

I bought the car used. It came with a bad transmission (won't go into reverse when it's cold) and had some smaller issues with the brake system. I had to replace rotor discs and brake pads on all four wheels. Other than that, it's been excellent!

This car drives like it has gorilla glue on the wheels when driving curves. It can take hwy curves at 60+ mph without problems. If I have a "tail chaser", a curve is all that I need to put some distance.

Installed a cold air filter to improve performance and gas savings. The motor thunders if I press the gas hard, this is a V6 engine BTW.

I normally get about 24/26mpg on hwy at 60/70mph.

I have no complaints about the car, I am very satisfied and content with it, and would definitely buy another T-Bird.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2010

7th Nov 2010, 05:40

Sorry, but even with the 4.6L V8, the T-bird cannot be called a "muscle" car, classic or otherwise.

11th Nov 2010, 23:48

Friend, technically you are right. :)

No, the car is not a muscle car, yet I was not lying either, but maybe I caused some confusion, sorry about that.

It has enough muscle power to take me from point A to B, pass other cars when I need to, and give me enough "muscle" when it is required, that´s all the muscle power that I need. I am not trying to be funny by the way.

To me it is just a car. And I am thankful for it. :)