1998 Ford Windstar Reviews from North America - Page 27 of 27

1998 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 V6

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good used car value

Faults:

Tie-rods were replaced under warranty.

Fuel gauge was inaccurate.

General Comments:

Very comfortable highway cruiser and people hauler. Does not have the latest bells and whistles, like a 2nd sliding door and disappearing rear seat, but good value so far.

This was one of the last 98's made and I think that they got most of the bugs out.

So I'm completely satisfied thus far. Only question mark is long term reliability/durability. Time will tell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carToyota Previa

Summary:

Solid and reliable people mover

Faults:

Cracks in the vinyl driver's side arm-rest.

Driver's side floor-mat carpet has the telltale bare heel spot.

Replaced a cracked front windshield at about 50,000 miles.

Replaced the tires at about 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

I read all of the reviews for the '98 Windstar and was shocked at the bad luck people have had. I've had nothing but the opposite. My Windstar has been every bit as reliable as my old Previa was, but has much more power and acceleration. I have yet to have a problem with it.

The ride and quietness are adequate making it a comfortable vehicle for long trips with the family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

26th Feb 2002, 21:15

Just wait until you have done more miles matey!

9th Jun 2003, 19:19

I now have 93,500 miles on my 1998 Windstar. Ergonomically, we really like it.

Aside from not having a 25 gallon gas tank per the window sticker and some other rather minor problems, it has been relatively trouble free up to just past the 75,000 mile mark. Both tie-rods apparently had to be replaced during the warranty period. New brakes around 65,000 miles.

At around 82,000 miles the transmission had to be replaced at a cost to us of close to $3,000. The factory rebuilt is good for 36,000 miles or 3 years.

Now the Ford garage is telling me that the tie-rods are bad and the CV joints are bad causing a slight clunking sound at times when coming to a stop.

I have serviced this vehicle more closely than any other I have ever owned. Oil changes every 5K miles; same with the tire rotation. Air filters, etc.

My wife and I are considering trading it on a Toyota Corolla since we don't want to spend a lot of money on repairs to make it long trip safe/reliable.

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

It's a good all around vehicle

Faults:

Since I bought the van I didn't experience anything beside changing a tie rod end.

General Comments:

There is a noise in the back, I need to change the shocks so I'm told.

Yes the transmission shifts abruptly from 1st to second gear when you drive slow.

I do get good mileage per gallon, it's comfy but too much road noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 Liter

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carChevrolet impala

Summary:

98 Windstar follows in line with past mistakes

Faults:

Tie rods gone, 30,000.

Idle arm assembly gone.

IAC valve replaced.

Brake problems.

Cv joints replaced.

Seat belt assembly broke.

Seat trim warped.

Complete transmission failure, $3,400.00.

General Comments:

The 98 Windstar has many problems. Ford knows the problems exist, but won't do anything about it. I will never buy a Ford product again. I will spread the word to others, never to buy this product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

20th Sep 2002, 09:19

Our 98 windstar is just starting to cause some problems- we need to get it in, but I'm thinking it's the power steering. A lot of squeaking noises when coasting or slow speed. Anyone experience this problem with the same year? We have 92,000 miles on it- no real other problems so far.

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 3.8
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Let's see.. It started with a rattle in the rear. The shocks were changed, and at first it was better. After a couple of months the rattle was back. The shocks were changed again.

The radio has had an electrical whine that varied with engine RPM; they replaced the antenna cable.

The tie-rod end ball joints failed at 15K miles.

The valve covers have a slight oil leak that you smell in hot weather. They retorqued the fasteners, but it still leaks.

The power door locks went nuts one day, going up and down at random. The only way in or out of the vehicle was to use the key and open the door before it locked you in/out. They never found a problem.

The engine emits a whistling noise when hot, they say it's normal, although I have found that only half of the 3.8L vans have a whistling noise, mine is the worst.

The transmission will shift harshly from first to second gear at slow vehicle speeds.

It is difficult to shift from PARK with a very mild incline.

If the climate controls are set for heat in the vent (upper) position for about 10 minutes you cannot turn-off the vent position. If you go to the defrost only position the vent also stays on. If you go to the floor only position the vent also stays on. If you turn the heat off for about 3 minutes, there will be a thump noise and the vent position will not be stuck on.

It has a intermittent engine miss when the transmission shifts into overdrive.

General Comments:

Best gas mileage I've ever gotten was 20.5 mpg with straight highway, no A/C, 65-70 mph speeds. The front door handles have a cheap feel and sound.

I hate being a critical part of Ford's R&D team.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 1999

24th May 2001, 10:00

Does anyone know of a problem with the Ford Windstar and an electrical problem in which the battery dies?

I would appreciate anything!

Crafterdi@aol.com

26th May 2001, 12:06

Our 98 Windstar GL had tie-rod ends replaced at 22,000km. At 44,000km a clunking noise appeared when accelerating from a stop. This turned out to be broken sub-frame inserts. They were re-welded & have now broken again at 62,000km. These are parts that shouldn't break or wear out! The windshield wipers, when set on any of the intermittent speeds operate inconsistently, speeding up & slowing down at will. Although it is a comfortable ride we wouldn't buy a Ford again because of these structural defects.

1998 Ford Windstar LX 3.8

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 3.8
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Basically none. We have had it for over a year. It has 31,000 miles. This minivan is extremely well-built, however, the radio buttons are fading after too much kid's use.

General Comments:

I think is the best minivan, up to this point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 1998

1998 Ford Windstar LX V6

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong to date, but I have had only one year. My only complaint is that it seems a little soft in the curves and recovery from a tight turn. Other than that, we love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 109 reviews