2006 GMC Canyon Reviews from North America

2006 GMC Canyon

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 kilometres
Most recent distance215000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Inexpensive tough truck

Faults:

2 oxygen sensors.

Wiper motor.

1 ignition coil pack.

2 broken spark plugs.

General Comments:

I bought this truck as a second vehicle for winter use.

It starts easily in -30C. I purchased high quality winter tires, and it has good stability and traction, even in deep snow.

The heater works very well and keeps the interior warm, and the windows clear of ice and fog in a few minutes after morning start-up.

Brakes are very good, and so is the suspension; it handles rough roads with ease.

The engine gets good fuel economy, yet is surprisingly powerful. I recommend iridium spark plugs, as the high compression of these engines can crack regular plugs. I know this because it happened to me.

I also recommend synthetic motor oil; it greatly reduces cold start-up engine noise.

I am amazed at how free of squeaks and rattles this truck is, and how strong the drivetrain is.

I look forward to driving this high quality GMC truck every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2013

2006 GMC Canyon 2.8L

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carChevrolet K1500

Summary:

It's a solid, cheap little truck, and you get what you pay for

Faults:

Head was replaced at 99,900 miles, under additional manufacturer's warranty.

Transmission went out at 131,000 miles.

Problem with ignition switch that triggers the Passlock anti theft system. Prevents starting the engine for 10 minutes.

Brake light issues. Brake light switch replaced under warranty. Bulbs seem to lose contact over time, and have to be "reseated"

General Comments:

Nice looking, stylish truck, and in spite of the problems, I like it quite a bit. Interior is very functional, and everything works like it's supposed to.

It has enough power, can haul small things while still being cheap to operate. It gets 23-26 mpg, which is as good as you can get in a pickup with an automatic transmission.

The big ticket problems like cylinder head and transmission are killers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2011

17th Dec 2011, 14:04

My 2006 GMC Canyon 4 cylinder, has been the worst vehicle I have ever owned. Over the years, the engine light has come on 60 or more times. Took it to the dealer, and they changed a part once, $400+ labor/material. The part cost $30.

I would never buy a GMC product again. Never got any help from dealer. Can't keep tires on it, and it breaks down about twice a month.

2006 GMC Canyon SLE 3.5L

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord F250 Super Duty

Summary:

Recall in order to correct wear on tires

Faults:

Excessive wear on the front tires that started at 12,000 miles.

After 5 sets of tires and multiple alignments made to the frontend, no parts worn, just weak front end.

It was suggested per the auto mechanics that worked on my Canyon, that a recall should be issued and is definitely warranted.

Engine problems, with the service engine light on: after examination, it was concluded that it was multiple sensor problems.

Rough idling, with rattling noises in engine, and at times with complete loss of power to the engine with no warning.

General Comments:

Nice body style.

Comfortable interior.

Impressed with the sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th February, 2011

2006 GMC Canyon SLT 3.5

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance49777 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Z-71 (off road) I5

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I've own an 06 SLT Canyon with the I5 engine since day one.

I've drained all the fluids and used Amsoil products. I have had no trouble.

I have some aftermarket parts and ordered the truck with 4:10 gears in the front and rear axles.

I get 26mpg and am running 18" rims. It looks great and runs great.

I read all these remarks, and it seams like the dealers are screwing people. All cars break down if you allow the dealer to tell you that's the way it is, then you're getting ripped off.

GMC makes great products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2009

2006 GMC Canyon 3.5 5 cylinder

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance19465 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Happy with my new Tacoma

Faults:

O2 sensors --- lots.

Computer twice.

Vibration from drive train never fixed.

Front and rear bumpers rusted.

Caliper replaced.

Step tubes replaced.

Catalytic converter.

Outer tie rod ends.

General Comments:

This is the worst truck I have every owned. What happened to GM? It has been in the shop 27 times since I've bought it new.

I just purchased a new Tacoma 2 days ago, and will not go back to another GM ever. My last Toyota was a 1992 Tacoma that I ran to 336,000 miles and still had the original clutch - that's true quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2008

12th Sep 2008, 11:26

Having lots of experience with GM, and currently owning a 2003 GMC with 70,000 miles on it and never a single issue, I really have trouble believing this review. Even our current 8-year-old GM car has never had a single problem.

28th Feb 2012, 21:12

I have to agree with you. This is the worst truck, let alone vehicle I have ever owned.

I had trouble with the front brake slides getting dirt in them, and the caliper not engaging the pads against the rotors.

I have had a noise in the front end when turning and hitting bumps since day one, but two different dealers never could find this problem.

Now I am experiencing rough idle and poor fuel economy before and after I put fuel line cleaner thru the system.

Interior climate fan speed control parts had to be replaced, that cost close to $80, which were recall parts on the GMC Sierra and Chevrolet Silverado.

So I can sympathize with you when it comes to poor quality..

29th Feb 2012, 12:15

I not only believe this review... I have lived it!

7th Apr 2013, 01:32

My 2006 GMC Canyon will be running for years, after your Tacoma has been sent to a crusher with a rusted out frame.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews