2003 Honda Civic Reviews from North America - Page 5 of 8

2003 Honda Civic LX 1.6 NON-VTEC

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 NON-VTEC Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Reliable, spartan, and economic

Faults:

Mechanically, nothing has gone wrong in the first year of ownership.

General Comments:

I purchased this car for economy and reliability a little over a year ago, thanks to the 167,000 miles on the vehicle I had at the time (a '96 Pontiac Grand Am), and the 1.9% financing they were offering on the new '03 Civics. I picked it over a new Toyota Corolla for the sole reason that the local Toyota dealerships didn't have any stick shifts with the right options available.

After driving my shiny new Honda for a week, and being almost scared of the handling of the car, I happened to check the tire pressure, and found that all four tires were at 42psi from the dealership. I dropped them all to the recommended 30psi and received a pretty radical improvement in handling. CHECK YOUR TIRE PRESSURE OFTEN.

Compared to the 1996 4-cylinder Grand Am I traded in, this car is a total DOG, performance wise. It'll get you around and do what you need to do, but it won't excite you, either.

Little details: The driver's floor mat is intended to be held in place by little hooks that screw into the floor. They came loose within weeks of purchase, and have at this point become ridiculous. They don't stay in place, and your floor mat rides up to your clutch pedal in no time flat. Be prepared to constantly tuck it down where it belongs.

Little details #2: This car is the most badly-sealed vehicle I've ever owned... last winter I scraped the INSIDE of the windows as much as I did the outside. If it fogs up on the outside, it'll fog up on the inside.

With all that said, the car now has 25,500 miles on it, and the only repair of any kind that I've had to do was to patch the right rear tire when it picked up a screw and started leaking.

It has lived up to expectations, but at the same time has me missing the Grand Am. We'll talk again after I've had it FOUR years. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

2003 Honda Civic LX 1.7L

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance17983 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Wagon

Summary:

Just drive and forget your car worries

Faults:

My alternator started producing to much voltage. Almost ruined the electrical systems.

General Comments:

My Honda is getting so so gas mileage for some reason yet I drive very carefully.

The interior is noisy, just watch what tires you put on, really makes a difference.

Engine seems underpowered when acceleration is needed, not enough torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2004

2003 Honda Civic EX 1.8 VTEC

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance10780 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

A no-brainer if you want good wheels and economy!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

My wife and I are both 70 and retired.

We downsized our cars from Acura and Honda Accord EX to the Civic 2003 we now share.

We are very happy. The Civic has plenty of pep (thanks to the VTEC, I am sure), it is reasonably comfortable (ample space inside fore and aft, and in the trunk), and the high mileage is a God-send these days.

The a/c and the sound system are the only areas where we have had to compromise a bit, but no big deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2004

5th Dec 2006, 16:50

Oh wow, the gas mileage is AWESOME!! I do all city driving and get about 29 mpg!! Nice little 13 gallon tank.

2003 Honda Civic DX-G 1.7L 4 Cylinder

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7L 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Excellent economy car with good gas mileage, but weak engine

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Everything you need to know about a Civic.

Pros:

Average priced economy car with well thought out equipment options. My model DX-G is the base model, with the G option package. AC, CD player, body coloured door handles.

Excellent gas mileage, but only if you don't drive at more that 110 km/h. At around 120 km/h the mileage goes way down.

In my opinion, it is tied with the Mazda Protege for Second in terms of interior looks and quality. I think the Corolla has unmatched interior quality.

Has many nice security features that you don't find in other models.

Somehow the engineers eliminated that large hump in the middle of the floor in front of the back seat. Nice touch for your passengers.

Has a good mix of tight suspension for corning and loosness for bumps and potholes. I've notice some people complaining about the rough suspension over bumps. But they've all owned gigantic cars in the past, I noticed one guy complain how terrible the suspension was, but then in the next breath say his last 5 cars were Cadillacs, Olds and big Fords... It's a small economy car, the suspension is fine.

Transmission is by far the smoothest and smartest in its class. Absolutely brilliant feat of engineering if you ask me.

Has a nice punch from 0 - 40Km/h, fun to drive around town.

Cons:

Nice punch from 0 - 40 but after that the engine really shows its tiny size.

Engine is very very noisy under hard acceleration and you'll notice it a lot because you need to floor it just to get decent speed. Noise is still better than other small cars.

Service department is well run... but you pay through the nose to own a civic. Recommended maintenance is very pricey at Honda dealerships and I hear parts are expensive too.

Car is much lighter than other models, which helps the small engine and gas mileage, but causes the car to swerve a lot in high winds.

Big complaint: Tires. The wheel covers and the tires themselves are surprisingly cheap looking. The tires also have poor traction I find. This car does not handle well under icy conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

21st Mar 2004, 14:30

You are right!

It is a small econobox, priced like a mid-size car!

2nd Sep 2004, 11:20

You are making a mistake here. A car is not comfortable or uncomfortable based on what cars you drove in the past. This is car salesman's logic, they always ask me "what cars did you drive before" (it is so annoying!). A car is uncomfortable when after driving it for an hour or so you feel achy and stiff all over your muscles, when you dread the long trips or when you cannot find a position that lets you drive somehow relaxed. I think Hondas are not comfortable cars at all based on the quality of their ride and not on what type of cars I had in the past!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews