1993 Honda del Sol Reviews from North America

1993 Honda del Sol Si 1.6

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance231000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cordoba

Summary:

Looking for another one that's been taken care of, to have a matching pair

Faults:

Removable roof has slight leak when raining, dripping on my left hand while driving.

Driver's electric window drive & track had to be replaced at 160,000.

Front & rear disc pads have been replaced three times, and front & rear rotors once.

Shock/struts front & rear have been replaced once.

The Honda 2000 AM/FM Cassette radio smoked around 80,000. Replaced it with an Accord unit.

The drivers seat belt was frayed and wouldn't retract. Honda dealer replaced it for safety issues around 170,000.

Motor/Automatic transmission had oil leaks around 150,000 miles.

Ignition switch & drivers door lock replaced around 180,000.

General Comments:

My wife & I wanted a convertible car with automatic transmission, that had style and was economical. Instead of rebuilding the USDM D16Z (120hp) & auto trans, my option was to install a JDM B16 (170hp) with auto. A few modifications before being installed, now has 220hp with 28 MPG. A rebuilt engine, new paint job, windshield, & headlights, and it's a new-old car for approx $6,000.

During the past 19 years, I've had to replace things, just as all cars will need to do. It's cheaper than new car payments.

The car does 130 mph in the 1/4 mile.

Wide track & low C/G makes this car turn on a dime.

Great warm weather ride with the AC, or take the top off.

Tilt pass/seat & lower rear window to carry a stepladder.

Big trunk for luggage or tools.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2012

1993 Honda del Sol Base Model 1.5 liter

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance203000 miles
Previous carToyota T100

Summary:

As good as a hybrid vehicles, but a lot less money

Faults:

Clutch slave cylinder went out.

Replace the timing belt at 150,000 when acquired.

Did minor tune up; new plugs, plug wire, cap and rotor.

Battery died.

Roof leak when it rains; looks like a manufacturing defect.

General Comments:

Strong for a 1.5 liter engine.

Handles corners very well, like it's on rails.

Not very comfortable if you are like over 200lbs.

Gets about 40 mpg on the freeway. Don't spend 20k-30k dollars on a hybrid car, get one of these for under 5k dollars. It's worth every penny. This was my commuter car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2011

1993 Honda del Sol S

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance147587 miles
Previous carHonda Escort

Summary:

I love this car, good gas mileage, reasonable repair history

Faults:

Wheel bearings - 1994, Driver's window leaks during rain, mild noise in roof (not bad for 15 years), igniter failure after 14 years.

General Comments:

The car gets great gas mileage, not the best comfort for long trips. The mechanical problems are acceptable for the length of time I have had the vehicle. The exhaust system just failed 9/5/08. Considering that I only had 97,000 miles on it until 5 years ago. I'm very happy with it and my daughter is looking forward to it being passed on to her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2008

1993 Honda del Sol S

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance127132 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great sporty car

Faults:

It makes a loud rattling sound when I'm in D4.

The rubber comes off and wears out easily.

The power window on the drivers side needs to be pushed up.

The engine heats up very fast.

One of the fog lights fell out.

Very slow going up hills.

Not much grip on the road.

General Comments:

Very fast and sporty good car for the outgoing person, and very good on gas.

Great for going to the beach.

I don't like that the automatic does not have v-tech.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2008

1993 Honda del Sol S D15b7 1.5L 4 cylinder SOHC

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission D15b7 1.5L 4 cylinder SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles

Summary:

My Favorite car of all time is a Del Sol not a Ferrari

Faults:

It USED to not start on hot days, or when the motor had been running for a while, but I did some research on other Honda's that may have had the same problem. It turnes out the Prelude did the same thing. The fix was the main relay. Replaced, and Fixed. Works Perfectly.

A few issues with the interior, but anyone with a nack for tools and a level head and patience can fix them. I did so, and now interior is in better shape than factory in my opinion.

The engine is starting to leak oil out of the head gasket, but this is to be expected. It's an original seal. In fact the engine has never been opened up. I just recently started to paint difrent engine components, and did the valve cover, and I replaced the seal in between the valve cover and the head for good measure and happy dreams.

It's started losing compression in the cylinders, but it is an old motor, and as said above, stock seals and have a oil leak inbetween the head and block. Easy fix for me though.

It has the trademark Del Sol rust on the rear wheel wells. That's the only thing that has me worried. I can't afford to have it fixed. And it will spread and is spreading. To all Del Sol owners, remove the rubber Crap on the ledge of the wheel well. It just collects salt and water.

General Comments:

I LOVE this car. I am 17 years old, and this is the car my parents bought for me to drive. They payed $2300 for a near perfect condition Del Sol. It runs GREAT and looks good. It has real potential. I have wanted a Del Sol since I saw one at a car show 7 years ago.

If you like effective sun visors and convienent cup holders, don't buy a Del Sol. HAHA.

I have big plans for the car. I am talking bigger motor, lighter body parts, racing seats, small roll cage, coil over suspension, and bigger brakes. If only I had the money.

The Del Sol is a great starter car, and perfect platform for speed and handling, Good winter car, Great for cruising, nice for dates and such, prolly not for the family of 4, but small enough you can stash it in the garage for safe keeping until a sunny day. It's a very good car for gas mileage, and in town traffic. The only thing that consirnes me is the thought of being in a wreck, not only because it would more likely than not be a death trap, but because I almost cry over door dings, and have panic attacks about my car sitting in the parking lot of Wal-mart.

One other thing that is an issue is I am a bit taller than the driver of a Del Sol should be. But I plan on getting some bucket seats, and I can drop the seat down a bit, enough to give me head room for the rollcage once I get around to it, and figure out how to put it in around the roof latches. :)

Timing belt has never been changed, and the odometer is at 175000 miles, it makes me have ulsers because I can't afford a new motor, but it's a good sign that the motor is still in one peice. I am GOING to get that fixed before colledge.

The Del Sol is a very easy car to drive and understand. I don't have anti-lock brakes or traction control, but have had no problems on snow rain, or dry conditions. Results may vary from driver to driver, but overall, I found its hard to get the back end to come out from behind you, it will shove the front if you push it too hard. But that's why they put airbags in the front right? HEHE.

The Del Sol is a bit slow for my taste, but speed is relative... And if I wanted to Go fast I would have bought a Ferrari. If I wanted to be quick, comfortable, avoid speeding tickets, save gas, not fix my car all the time, park at walmart without having armed guards, pay lower insurance rates, and enjoy the sun on more than just my left arm hanging out the window I would buy a Del Sol. And that's what I did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2008

12th Sep 2009, 23:06

I'm 21 & I've had my 1993 del Sol Si 1.5L SOHC since 2002. It's my baby, but I have to disagree with you, it's very easy to spin out in. I know a few people that have. Granted they were doing around 40 mph. Also when it was stock I got it up to 130mph, you should have seen the look on my boy friend's face when I did, he never thought it would go that fast, it eats his 1999 Eclipse.

I come from a family of mechanics, and my boy friend is one, so I love going to the shop & working on my car, nothing else compares to it. Never the less it's a great car.

18th Sep 2009, 21:18

I had a del Dol! I'm almost 18, it was a 1993, my first car! I loved it! But someone pulled out in front of me, & it's all messed up.. totaled. :( I got hurt badly..

The only thing about it is the fact that it's small and very dangerous.. but overall it was a wonderful car. cute, sporty, & fun. I now have a 05 Civic EX special ed, coupe. I loooovvvee Honda. :)

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 39 reviews