2007 Honda Element EX 2.4

Summary:

Honda has a winner on its hands

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

In my humble opinion, it could quite possibly be the most perfect small SUV ever made.

The 2.4 litre V-TEC engine has been around for 25 years, and is stone reliable. Interior space is cavernous. Sound system is very good, bordering on great. Manual transmission shift is smooth and predictable, even if it does not like to be shifted fast, (hey, its not a Corvette). AWD has been unstoppable in the snow. Gas mileage is exactly the claimed 22-23 MPG.

Water-resistant upholstery and rubber floor are nearly maintenance-free and tough. With the suicide doors open, one can almost "walk" into the back seat.

Ride is where I like it; not too harsh, not too floaty. The Element also has all the equipment one needs, and no costly luxury extras that add weight and maintenance.

First car I have ever owned that I feel I can drive around the world in total confidence.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2010

2007 Honda Element SC 2.4 DOHC

Summary:

So far I love it!

Faults:

Nothing wrong as of yet - the car is new.

General Comments:

I really like this car, and think it was a great replacement to my Montero LTD - much better mileage.

Very roomy, nice seats. Manual provides plenty of power. In general very functional and fun to drive.

The car is brand new, so I will post 15k-30k interval updates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

25th Oct 2009, 22:23

I am the original poster. I now have 20k on the car. No problems at all. I do have to bring it in to the dealer for a recall notice - supposed issues with the hands of the tach/speedo can fall off in cold weather (something like that)... so I do have to have that fixed.

The stock tires are not very long lasting. I just had them rotated again and was told I have about 10k left on them - they do seem to have very little tread depth left.

22nd Mar 2010, 20:35

Where the updates? Would like to hear how ownership has been, because I'm considering buying a used one.

20th Jun 2010, 01:17

Original Post Update: 27k and no problems. I did bring it in recently for 2 recall notices - dial hands on gauges can fall off in cold weather, and a brake system recall.

I really like this car a lot. The only things that think could be better (but not complaining) would be:

Make the interior less prone to scratching. The rubber door handle parts scratch so easily.

A way to have better mileage/lower RPM cruise capability. I would recommend a 6 speed manual.

It's super fun to drive and I don't regret getting it.

15th Jan 2012, 23:11

I now have 42k on this car. Still love it. No problems. Replaced the original battery last year. Brake pads and rotors at about 34k.

24th Jul 2012, 10:51

Another update. 50k on the car, and still not an issue.

25th Dec 2013, 22:52

73k on the car now. No issues. Just oil changes. Will need a new serpentine belt soon. Did a coolant flush at about 50k and PS flush.

Need new tires soon (on second set). I just bought a set of winter tires on steel rims to get through until Spring... The SC does not do all that well in snow, even with good all-season tires. The wheels are too wide for such a light car, so I opted for a set of narrow winter tires for the snowy months... we shall see.

I love my Element! It's a great people and stuff hauler.

2007 Honda Element Real Time AWD 2.4L

Summary:

Think and play with the BOX...it's waiting for you.

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car in the little time that I've owned it (2mos.)

General Comments:

This car is everything that I expected it to be...It's not the most powerful SUV/Truck in the market, but you will get PLENTY for your money if you take the time to look at what the box…has inside.

Passenger and cargo room are GREAT. I still own a Full Size K5-Chevy Blazer 4X4 lifted six inches…but I can honestly say I find I’m quick to pick my AWD ELEMENT for my camping or longer road trips.

A+ for it’s TAILGATE: Ball Park games, beach side, parked long side a curb at a friend’s home…the tailgate is A VERY NICE TOUCH. I’ve been complemented time and time again. It’s a seat for two anywhere you decide…and rain cover while sitting on the inside tail gate area is GREAT. Its rain gutters will run the water to the sides so you can chill in the back of your Element and kick out your feet out the back. A factory accessory tent is on my list.

Convenience of accessing any cargo you transport: Camping-Hiking gear, furniture, dogs, my bike…etc. A “Boxy” look is expectable once you realize what you’ve gained in the versatility of this auto; I know you find it’s WELL worth it.

The 166hp 2.4 liter 4cyc, is plenty for city and mild trails. Weather proof seats and flooring are pluses that have already saved headaches and trips to car washes.

SUBWOFER is nice!! Stock stereo plays MPS CDs, XM Radio and have a Aux headphone input for an Ipod or laptop.

12Volt power source in the back is plus for camping trips or active sports activities...

Accessories: Don’t get the factory rack. Buy a Yakima roof rack. Cheaper and you’ll find be able to buy much more accessories for it to carry just about everything you’ll need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2006