Honda Insight Reviews from North America

2010 Honda Insight EX

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired138 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

It does everything well

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, but it is brand new, so I really don't expect anything to go wrong.

General Comments:

I bought the car for the gas mileage, and so far it is either at the miles per gallon listed on the sticker or better. The first tank was around 40 mpg. Since I started paying attention to my driving, I have been averaging about 45 mpg on my drive to work. I also increased the tire pressure to 35 psi. This is supposed to help the MPG.

I like the styling of the car, the seats feel good. It is a little noisy on the highway. Maybe just the highway or the tires.

It is a very light car, and you can feel the wind moving the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2011

13th Feb 2011, 14:43

Why didn't Honda do something original with the styling of this car? It looks so much like a Prius that I'm surprised Toyota doesn't sue. I thought Honda was known for well designed cars, but they're getting uglier.

18th Feb 2011, 11:37

I like the styling of the new Insight much better than the new Prius. I have owned both of them.

And one other comment, the gas mileage on my drive to work has gone up to 48-50 MPG.

2000 Honda Insight

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

The Insight is a great eco-friendly car

Faults:

I have had no problems with this auto. It is trouble free.

General Comments:

As the price of gas goes up, my mileage gets better because it takes a little bit of effort to reliable get over 60 mpg. when the gas got to over $2.50 (SF Bay area) my mileage improved to 68 mpg for the last tank. My driving is 75-25 city-highway. A little care to not press hard on the gas pedal has beneficial effects on efficiency. The instantaneous fuel efficiency gage along with the easy to reset trip meter makes it easy to keep track of my current driving habits and how well I'm doing for milage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2005

30th Apr 2006, 17:02

Honda Insights save the environment. I'd like to have one, but they're a bit too expensive.

1st May 2006, 09:09

Actually, they are quite cheap as used cars.

The model is a failure since people want four seats like the Prius.

I have seen $20K+ plus Insights for sale for $15K a year later.

Nothing wrong with the car, just marketplace whims.

2000 Honda Insight 1.0 liter 3 cylinder

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 liter 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired190 miles
Most recent distance42900 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz Mercedes-Benz 300D T

Summary:

The car of the future!

Faults:

Nothing except for check engine light that turned out to be faulty oxygen sensor on one occasion and loose gas cap on another.

Auto stop is neat, but if clutch is not pushed down hard, it won't start when put back in gear.

Poor visibility out rear window. Be careful backing up!

General Comments:

This is the perfect little commuting car for anyone who wants to be a part of the solution to fuel consumption and pollution. At 70 or 75 mph on the highway, the fuel consumption indicator sits at 75 miles per gallon! Overall, it gets 56 to 66 miles per gallon depending on how I drive.

In many juristictions, it is allowed in HOV lanes even with only one person in it.

I recently had a car pull out in front of me and I hit him at about 30 mph. The car doesn't look nearly as damaged as I would expect. Just scuffs, a slightly buckled hood and broken lights! This is a tough little car!

Its also very peppy and comfortable, can park in 3/4 of a space and is fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

2000 Honda Insight 1 liter gas/electric hybrid

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1 liter gas/electric hybrid Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

High tech car that'll save you money

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This car is a hybrid vehicle that uses both gas and electric. The electric motor kicks in when you need that extra boost sort of like a turbo. Batteries need no recharging and I always get great compliments on how this car looks. Very high tech. I especially love the digital dash and the great gas mileage. Over hilly terrain and relatively short commute, I'm getting 56 MPG. For longer distances and flatter terrain this number can easily go up above 70.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

15th Jul 2001, 13:22

This thing (Honda Insight) isn't exactly what I'd want in a car. For one, If the electrical engine battery goes dead on a long trip, your only left with a 3-cylinder 1 litre gas engine which to say the least, is gutless. second, this car has hardly any room for cargo on the inside. Personally, I wouldn't drive a car less powerful than a Civic (which has a back seat and a trunk). I'm not saying this car is bad, you just have to know what you need in a car and how much room and power it has to fill those demands. If you're just looking for a commuter, this would do the trick, but if you're looking for something with plenty of room for vacation luggage, you'll be disappointed. Not to mention, are there any mechanics who can work on a gas electric hybrid in your area? Not every Honda dealer would know how to fix it. Even a few of the ones that sell it won't know how to fix it. I'm not saying this car is bad, but before you buy it make sure it meets every requirement you have and that the dealer can fix it. Otherwise you'll be disappointed and have a car that no one in your area knows how to fix.

Average review marks: 9.0 / 10, based on 4 reviews